What Cereal Can Vegans Eat

What Cereal Can Vegans Eat?

Answer: Yes, Cereals are a big part of a vegan’s diet because most of them are vegan-friendly.

Yes

You need to watch out for some as not all cereals are vegan. We get to the details in the following paragraphs.

More on What Cereal Can Vegans Eat

The crunchy, delicious, and nutritious cereals can help you kick off the day with a great start.

For most people, breakfast isn’t complete without cereals. No matter how long you’ve been eating cereals, it’s amazing how you are never tired of it. But what can we say? They are deliciously beneficial.

Cereals are also very versatile food items. It can also be great for those people who have a habit of running late in the mornings. You can also find several benefits from eating cereal for breakfast daily.

Health Benefits of Cereals

There are so many nutritional ingredients, including minerals, vitamins, and phytochemicals in cereal. This makes it one of the most wholesome foods with several benefits.

  • It contains low saturated fat but high polyunsaturated fat.
  • It has zero cholesterol.
  • Cereal is rich in fiber and resistant starch.
  • It has high carbs and protein profiles.
  • It contains essential B vitamins and folate.
  • There are many minerals in cereals, including iron and zinc.
  • It is rich in antioxidants and phytochemicals and may reduce blood cholesterol levels.

Best Vegan Cereals

Wondering what the best cereals for a vegan are? Find out below from the list of the best cereals vegans can eat.

Post Grape-Nuts Cereal

Nutrition value

Calories210 kcal
Protein6 g
Carbs47 g
Fat1 g

Not only is this cereal vegan, but it also makes a tasty and filling option with rich nutritional values.

This cereal comes from whole grain barley and wheat with an enticing flavor. It is GMO-free and does not contain soy. It also has high protein content, which is especially beneficial for vegans.

Although the carb content might be high for some diets, it is still a worthy option for a vegan.

Ezekiel 4:9 Sprouted Whole Grain Cereal

Nutrition value

Calories200 kcal
Protein8 g
Carbs38 g
Fats3 g

Cereals can’t get more organic and vegan than this one. The rich nutrients in this cereal can help you start your day with good energy.

It contains almond, which is a source of high protein and is appealing, especially to vegans. You might also find yourself with a better digestive system because of the rich fiber content of 6 g per serving.

Although it has no fortified minerals, this cereal is still healthy and tastes great. After all, even the Bible recommends it!

Cascadian Farm Organic Granola

Nutrition value

Calories140 kcal
Protein4 g
Carbs29 g
Fats1.5 g

A product of organic whole grain barley and oats, this granola cereal is deliciously wholesome food. It is vegan, as it is purely natural and organic.

This cereal is also rich in fiber and contains no cholesterol. So it is a healthy choice for vegans.

Non-Vegan Cereals

While cereals appear organic and vegan, don’t be fooled by the seemingly harmless ingredients some cereals contain.

Not all cereals are vegan. Some cereals contain dairy-based products such as milk. Cereals such as Rice Krispies and Cheerios comprise vitamin D, making it unsuitable for vegans to eat.

Make sure you check out the ingredients list to see if it is vegan-friendly before you buy it. The common non-vegan ingredients that are found in some cereals and should be avoided are as follows.

  • Animal-based ingredients
  • Artificial flavors
  • Chemical sweeteners
  • Dried fruit
  • Vitamin D

Here are some of the cereal brands to avoid if you are a vegan.

1. Cheerios

It contains Vitamin D3, which has its source from sheep.

2. Frosted Mini-Wheats

It contains gelatin for the frosting, which comes from collagen.

3. Rice Krispies

It contains both Vitamin D3 and gelatin.

Alternatives

It can be disappointing finding out that your favorite cereal is not vegan. However, there are many alternatives you can employ to make it more tasty and delicious.

You can substitute dairy-based milk with almond, soy, or coconut oil to make it more flavorful. Cereals are always a healthy option, and vegans can get the best out of vegan cereals.

Similar Posts