Are Otter Pops Vegan

Are Otter Pops Vegan? Can Vegans Eat Otter Pops?

Answer: Some Salt Water Taffy flavors are vegan, while most aren’t.

Depends

Otter Pops has been making popsicles since 1970 and offers several flavors such as strawberry, grape, lime, raspberry, and many more.

Popsicles are refreshing and contain flavors from several fruits and vegetables. We need to discuss the following:

  • Are popsicles vegan?
  • Benefits of popsicles
  • Alternatives for Otter Pops

Popsicles come in several flavors; however, sometimes, it is tough to distinguish between vegan and non-vegan products. Therefore, once you’ve read this article, you will have some much-needed clarity. 

Are Popsicles Vegan?

This question is tough to answer. While there are varieties of popsicles that can be considered vegan, it is essential to know their ingredients before making them part of the vegan diet.

Most popsicles are made from fruit and vegetable flavors. As long as those flavors are vegan, natural, and healthy, you are good to go.

Benefits Of Consuming Popsicles

Many brands manufacture popsicles; however, commercially produced popsicles are unhealthy and full of artificial elements. Homemade popsicles are the better option, and here are their benefits:

They Are Eco-Friendly

Homemade ice popsicles are easier to make and create far less of a waste than commercial varieties. All the wrappers, sticks, and boxes need to be disposed of.

Healthy

You can use leftovers to make your popsicles at home. You can also use organic ingredients to make popsicles. Commercially produced organic popsicles are good, but they are expensive. 

Homemade popsicles are also free of:

  • Chemicals
  • Artificial Flavors
  • Additives
  • Preservatives

Leftovers Are Not Wasted

Using leftover over food as an ingredient for popsicles is environmentally friendly. Ingredients such as carrots, yogurt, chocolate milk, and berries that might be just lying in the refrigerator can help you make delicious popsicles.

Homemade Popsicles Are Cheap

Commercial varieties of popsicles are expensive. Homemade popsicles cost far less to make. If you use leftovers to make your popsicles, then the popsicle molds are probably the only thing you’ll spend money on.

Vegan Varieties Of Popsicles

Below is a list of vegan-friendly popsicles you can consume:

Chloe’s Soft Serve Popsicle Bar

These popsicles will keep you fresh and energetic during summers. This sweet treat is perfect for your dessert cravings and is non-GMO verified and gluten-free. The ingredients of Chloe’s Popsicle Bar are:

  • Strawberry puree (lemon juice and strawberries)
  • Organic sugar cane
  • Water

However, keep in mind that the ingredients vary depending on the flavor. 

Whole Fruit Organic Frozen Juice

The Whole Fruit Organic Frozen Juice is available in almost all supermarkets and grocery stores. This popsicle is made from natural fruit concentrates and juices. For food coloring, Whole Fruit uses natural vegetables and fruit juices.

The ingredients of this product are as follows:

Apple Grape

  • Organic apple juice (from concentrate)
  • Organic concord juice (from concentrate)
  • Grape juice concentrator (for coloring)
  • Organic sugar
  • Natural flavor
  • Locust bean gums
  • Citric acid
  • Xanthan
  • Guar

Apple Strawberry

  • Organic apple juice (from concentrate)
  • Organic strawberry juice (from concentrate)
  • Organic natural flavor
  • Organic beet juice (for coloring)
  • Locust bean gums
  • Xanthan
  • Citrus acid
  • Gaur

Ruby’s Rocket Veggie And Fruit Pops

These popsicles offer you a great way to cool down in the summer heat. These popsicles have a strong presence of vegetables and fruits in them and also come in several flavors. In addition, these popsicles have fruit and vegetable coloring.

Ingredients

  • Water
  • White grape juice (concentrate)
  • Sweet potato puree
  • Purple sweet potato juice (concentrate)
  • Dried acai
  • Dried acerola
  • Monk fruit extract

Minute Maid Soft Frozen

Do you like Minute Maid Juice? If you do, then you will undoubtedly enjoy these frozen treats. These popsicles taste just like the Minute Maid juice, and you can store as many as you want in the freezer.

The ingredients of this product are as follows:

Cherry Limeade

  • Water
  • Fructose corn syrup
  • Corn syrup
  • Concentrated lime juice
  • Cherry juice (1% of concentrated juice)
  • Guar gum
  • Pectin
  • Citric acid
  • Maltodextrin

Lemonade

  • Water
  • Maltodextrin
  • Corn syrup
  • Sugar
  • Lemon juice (concentrated)
  • Pectin
  • Citric acid
  • Guar gum
  • Turmeric
  • Natural flavors

Strawberry Lemonade

  • Corn syrup
  • Sugar
  • Water
  • Maltodextrin
  • Lemon juice (concentrated)
  • Natural flavors
  • Citrus acid
  • Guar gum
  • Strawberry puree

Edy’s Fruit Bars

Edy’s is a popular brand and is not known for vegan-friendly products. However, they have introduced these fruit bars that are made from natural ingredients. These popsicles come in several flavors and consist of the following ingredients:

  • Beet juice extract
  • Turmeric color
  • Carob bean gum
  • Water
  • Natural flavors
  • Strawberries
  • Sugar
  • Ascorbic acid

The ingredients of this product change from flavor to flavor.

Luigi’s Real Italian Ice

Luigi is a fan favorite and makes some of the best vegan popsicles. These popsicles have a tangy flavor and come in a small cup. The ingredients of this product are:

Lemon

  • Water (micron filtered)
  • Corn syrup
  • Sugar
  • Citric acid
  • Lemon juice (concentrated)
  • Guar gum
  • Xanthan gum
  • Natural flavors

Strawberry

  • Water (micron filtered)
  • Corn syrup
  • Sugar
  • Guar gum
  • Xanthan gum
  • Strawberry juice (concentrated)
  • Caramel (for coloring)
  • Beet juice (concentrated)

Outshine Lemon Fruit Bars

These popsicles are made of lemon, and you can get them from your local supermarket. The ingredients of this product are:

  • Lemon juice (concentrated)
  • Water
  • Cane sugar
  • Carob bean gum
  • Guar gum
  • Ascorbic acid

Popsicle Orange Cherry Grace Ice Pops

This brand is popular, and in supermarkets, there is usually a whole section for these popsicles. These popsicles come in several flavors: saccharine cherry, juicy grape, and sweet, tangy citrus.

Orange

  • Fructose corn syrup (high)
  • Corn syrup
  • Sugar
  • Water
  • Citric acid (1% or less)
  • Malic acid (1% or less)
  • Natural flavor (1% or less)
  • Guar gum (1% or less)
  • Locust bean gum (1% or less)
  • Annatto (for coloring 1% or less)

Cherry

  • Fructose corn syrup 
  • Corn syrup
  • Citric acid (1% or less)
  • Malic acid (1% or less)
  • Natural flavor (1% or less)
  • Guar gum (1% or less)
  • Locust bean gum (1% or less)
  • Annatto (for coloring 1% or less)

Grape Pop

  • Fructose corn syrup
  • Corn syrup
  • Sugar
  • Water
  • Citric acid (1% or less)
  • Malic acid (1% or less)
  • Natural flavor (1% or less)
  • Guar gum (1% or less)
  • Locust bean gum (1% or less)
  • Annatto (for coloring 1% or less)

Motts Freezer Bars

Mott’s freezer bars are a favorite among kids and are made with apple juice. This Popsicle uses stevia, a natural sweetener, to cut down the calorie and sugar content. The ingredients of this product are:

  • Natural flavors
  • Stevia extract
  • Water
  • Citric acid
  • Sodium benzoate
  • Maltodextrin (2% or less)
  • Apple juice
  • Potassium sorbate

GoodPop Organic Freezer Pops

These popsicles, as their name suggests, are indeed good. While these popsicles are difficult to find online, they are readily available in supermarkets and grocery stores. GoodPop also offers a home delivery service, so call them and get your popsicles.

These are the ingredients:

Concord Grape

  • Organic fruit juice (100%)
  • Organic guar gum
  • Malic acid
  • Natural flavor
  • Vegetable juice (for coloring)

Fruit Punch

  • Organic fruit juice (100%)
  • Organic strawberry puree (100%)
  • Organic guar gum
  • Organic cherry juice (concentrate)
  • Vegetable and fruit juice (coloring)
  • Organic strawberry puree (concentrated)
  • Natural flavors

Strawberry Lemonade

  • Organic fruit juice (100%)
  • Organic strawberry puree
  • Organic apple juice (concentrate)
  • Malic acid
  • Natural flavors
  • Vegetable and fruit juice (coloring)
  • Organic lemon juice (concentrate)

Vegan Desserts

You do not need ingredients such as milk, butter, and eggs to make delicious desserts. All you need to do is get your hands on some vegan-friendly ingredients such as flaxseed, coconut oil, and maple syrup (pure), and you can make tasty desserts at home.

Below are some desserts you can try at home:

Conclusion

The common misconception is that vegan dieters cannot have desserts, which is valid to an extent. Unfortunately, most dessert dishes contain several animal products ingredients; therefore, they cannot be part of the vegan diet.

However, as this article proves, hope is not lost. There are several, literally, hundreds of dessert varieties that you can eat on the vegan diet. This article addressed this question: are Otter Pops vegan? And the answer was no.

However, that answer did not end the discussion, as several vegan-friendly popsicles were discussed later in the article.

The vegan diet doesn’t need to be boring; you can make exciting and delicious vegan dishes if you know your ingredients. 

Similar Posts