Wishbone Italian Dressing (Wish-Bone) is a delicious blend of vinegar, oil, herbs, and spices. Two of its key ingredients are Xantham Gum and Natural Flavor, which are sometimes controversial for their unknown sources. This brand has made its way as one of the known vegan-friendly dressings.
Splenda, although most of its products are derived from natural sources, is not animal-friendly. This is because the production of Splenda involves animal testing, which puts many animals’ lives at risk. Its key ingredients are sucralose, maltodextrin, and dextrose.
Yardley Soap, owned and manufactured by Yardley London, has five scents; one is not vegan and is cruelty-free. Yardley Original English Lavender Luxury Soap contains Sodium Tallowate, typically sourced from animal fat. Tallow is another term for beef.
Wonder Bread has ten different varieties that are all considerably not vegan-friendly. The white bread variety, for instance, is made with Monoglycerides and/or Diglycerides, enzymes, and many other non-vegan-looking ingredients. Plus, it also contains milk, as shown on the packaging.
One of Valentina’s key ingredients is natural vegan vinegar, as it’s only sourced from coconuts, apples, and other plants. Its chili peppers are known as guajillo puya, which are native to the Mexican state of Jalisco. Valentina has been Mexico’s go-to hot sauce, especially in street fares.
Also known as Vitamin B1, Thiamine Mononitrate is naturally found in many plants and vegetables, particularly in legumes and whole grains. Those that are found in some fish and meats are called Thiamine Triphosphate, which is different from Mononitrate. Synthetically created Thiamine Mononitrate is found in medications and food supplements.
Synthetic Leather has been the go-to option for many vegans who want to own real leather-like stuff, such as shoes and bags. One of its key ingredients is polyester, which is given a leather texture and finish using dye, wax, polyurethane, or polyvinyl chloride (PVC). But it’s been a subject of debate for some environmentalists, especially about waste disposal.
Starbucks Cold Foam made its first blush in the market in 2014 and has gained popularity among Starbucks fans. It’s simply made with vanilla syrup and non-fat milk. While the former is vegan-friendly, the non-fat milk is an animal by-product.
Snickers is among the most popular chocolate brands in the world that’s readily available in almost every store. Two of its key ingredients are milk chocolate and egg whites, which are all sourced from animals. It has different variants available in the U.S., all of which are non-vegan.
Smirnoff, the leading vodka brand in the world, has a few different flavors, but the company itself isn’t certified vegan. Fermented potatoes and water are among the main ingredients in making vodka. But for Smirnoff, it’s made with corn, which makes it gluten-free.