Skip to Content

What Are The Vegan Options At Taco John’s? (Updated Guide)

What Are The Vegan Options At Taco John’s? (Updated Guide)

Taco John’s is an American fast-food chain specializing in Mexican fast food. The food chain is headquartered in Cheyenne, Wyoming, and has more than 380 restaurants in 22 states. 

Unfortunately, Taco John’s is not a vegan-friendly restaurant. 

Since Taco John’s is a non-vegan chain, vegans will need to customize their order. Before we go any further, let’s discuss the story of Taco John’s. 

Taco John’s – The Story

Taco John’s started as a taco stand in Cheyenne, Wyoming, in 1968. The taste and flavor of the tacos quickly became a hit, and two businessmen wanted to share the unique tacos with the rest of the world.

These businessmen purchased the rights of the franchise in 1969 and named after the man who started the taco stand: John. Taco John is all about introducing bold and new flavors to the world. From freshly made shells, signature potato Oles, classic crispy tacos, and handmade salsas.

Soon, Taco John’s restaurants started popping in several locations in the Midwest. These restaurants included interior seating and drive-thrus. The food chain menu has also evolved and has added several items such as the holiday specialty: Nachos Navidad and meat and potato burritos.

Taco John’s also started ‘Taco Tuesday’ and trademarked it. Taco John’s has almost 400 outlets in 23 states and is one of America’s biggest Mexican quick-service food chains. 

What’s Vegan At Taco John’s?

Tacos (No Meat And Dairy)

Fried Chicken Tacos

  • Chicken Tenders
  • Flour Tortilla
  • Shredded Lettuce
  • All-Natural Cheddar Cheese
  • Spicy Jalapeno Ranch Sauce or Zesty Chipotle Lime

Crispy Tacos

  • Crispy Shell
  • Mild Sauce
  • Lettuce
  • 100 % American Beef
  • Cheese

Softshell Taco

  • 100 % American Beef or Chicken
  • Soft and Warm Flour Tortilla
  • Lettuce
  • Mild Sauce
  • Cheese

Taco Bravo 

  • Refried Beans
  • Warm Tortilla

Note: Not enough information about the ingredients, so inquire before ordering the item.

Street Tacos Trio

  • Crumbled Mexican Cheese
  • Grilled Chicken or Sirloin Steak
  • Garlic Lime Sauce

Burritos (No Meat And Dairy)

Meat And Potato Burrito

  • Crunchy Chicken
  • 100 % American Beef or Crunchy Chicken
  • Tomatoes
  • Nacho Cheese
  • Sour Cream
  • Lettuce

Bean Burrito

  • Signature Mild Sauce
  • Onions
  • Refried Beans
  • Cheddar Cheese

The Boss Burrito

  • Black Beans
  • Cilantro Lime Rice
  • Steak or Chicken

Salads (No Meat And Dairy)

Taco Salad

  • Sour Cream
  • Tomatoes
  • Lettuce
  • Salsa
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Tortilla Bowl
  • Crispy or Grilled Chicken

Side Salad

  • Shredded Cheese
  • Ripe Tomatoes
  • Crisp Lettuce

Potato Oles (No Meat And Dairy)

Super Potato Oles

  • Guacamole
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Sour Cream
  • Tomatoes
  • American Beef
  • Nacho Cheese
  • Refried Beans

Should Taco John’s Offer Vegan Items?

Once you go through the menu at Taco John’s, you will realize that there are no vegan-friendly items on the menu. However, you can order items, but you will need to customize them by removing several ingredients.

Taco John’s should consider introducing a vegan menu, but since it is a non-vegan restaurant, it is unlikely that it will happen any time soon.

However, we can still want to give the food chain a few suggestions that, hopefully, it will consider in the future:

Go Green

Going green doesn’t mean the restaurant needs to change its entire menu; it can just introduce a few items that vegans can eat. While it would be nice if Taco John’s introduced a vegan menu, they must take this step-by-step.

Accommodate Vegans

If a vegan dieter ends up at Taco John’s, the restaurant needs to accommodate him. However, this is not easy; he is still a customer, so you need to ensure that he eats.

Also, vegan dieters ask many questions regarding the food, so the restaurant management must answer all the queries and ensure that the vegan is as comfortable as possible.

Learn About Veganism

Restaurants need to know about veganism since it is growing rapidly worldwide. The sooner the restaurant acquires knowledge about veganism, the better.

The world is changing rapidly, and vegan numbers are growing rapidly, so eventually, it will become necessary for restaurants, even non-vegan ones, to come up with items that vegans can eat.


If Taco John’s ever plans to introduce a vegan-friendly menu, they need to talk to vegans about it. The restaurant needs to make vegans part of the transition. The restaurant should talk to vegans; this will help the management understand the requirements of vegans and how they can fulfill them.

The restaurant management should regularly share their ideas with vegan dieters so that they get more clarity and, in the future, they can expand their vegan offerings.