Are Welch's Fruit Snacks Vegan

Are Welch’s Fruit Snacks Vegan? Can Vegans Eat Welch’s Fruit Snacks?

Answer: It depends. While Welch’s products are considered healthier snacks, they have a limited range of vegan products. You have to stick to their Fruit Rolls.

Depends

What Is Welch’s?

Welch’s is an American snack distributor that manufactures yummy products such as grape juices, jellies, and jams. But aside from the canned goods and jarred jams, they also manufacture fruit snacks.

Fruit snacks are a popular treat or road trip snack. It’s easily accessible, and it’s an excellent alternative to unhealthy food or junk foods. Usually, junk foods contain an alarming amount of additives and preservatives; however, they do not always disclose the exact amount. Most consumers are now more aware and educated about how to track and look at the nutritional values.

For more information on each of Welch’s products, you can have a look at their website.

Are Fruit Snacks Better Alternatives To Junk Food?

It depends on how well you take care of your health. Now that being said, most foods and drinks can be consumed in moderation without causing long-term repercussions. It also depends on what you enjoy daily. Nobody knows your body better than you. 

Fruit snacks do serve as a healthier option. Fruit snacks contain a bit more nutritional value and contain organic ingredients.

Fruit snacks contain additives for preservation purposes; however, the point of the fruit snacks is to be fresh and an alternative to unhealthier options that may have too much sugar or additives.

According to Vegan Foundry, Welch’s does have vegan products; however, they are limited to Fruit Rolls.

Fruit Snacks Vs Sugary Snacks

Sugary snacks are delicious, of course. However, not many people can consume sugar in large quantities. Unfortunately, many people who suffer from long-term illnesses such as diabetes cannot consume sugar almost at all. However, companies such as Welch’s offer alternative and healthier snacks. These healthier snacks contain no artificial sugars and can be consumed in moderation to cater to the natural body’s needs.

Are There Vegan Welch’s Fruit Snacks?

Welch’s has accommodated the market’s needs and has since created a vegan line of products. The most notable vegan product that they manufacture is Welch’s Fruit Rolls.

Welch’s snacks can be purchased at most popular retailers such as Amazon, Target, or Walmart. Welch’s also has an online store.

Now, while not many of Welch’s products are vegan, they are considered the healthier alternative. If we dig a little deeper into the ingredient list, most of its ingredients are made from fruits.

Ingredients To Note In Welch’s Products

The main ingredient that Welch’s boasts are fruits. Their products often contain fruit puree made from grapes, strawberries, and peaches.

Although Welch’s products are already sweet from the fruits themselves, other ingredients are added for flavor, such as corn syrup and gelatin.

Gelatin is often used in the manufacturing of sweet foods. Gelatin is a type of protein used as a gelling agent or texturizer.

The additives used are vitamin C, vitamin E, coconut oil, and food colorings.

Is Gelatin Vegan?

No, it’s not. Gelatin derives from animals such as pigs or cows. It is a type of protein that is used after the slaughter of livestock. Not all of Welch’s products contain gelatin, though their product range is limited for vegans.

Vegan Alternatives To Gelatin

There are popular substitutes for gelatin. Many animal-free gelatin alternatives are available through companies such as Rowntree. 

Agar-Agar

Agar-Agar is more firm compared to gelatin. It does not have the same gelatin consistency; however, it still provides a delicious addition to vegan desserts.

Pectin

Pectin originates from fruits. Pectin is more similar to gelatin in terms of consistency as it also has a gel-like feel.

Carrageenan

It is also known as Irish moss. This moss is derived from dried red seaweed. The product is often used as an ingredient in vegan marshmallows.

The Upside Of Welch’s Snacks

Most of Welch’s snacks are still delicious and healthy. Welch’s boasts a high concentration of vitamins such as A, E, and C. There are no preservatives used in production. The products are considered fat-free and gluten-free.

Welch’s snacks are also easily accessible and perfect to snack on the go. 

They contribute positively to the environment since all packaging of their products is recyclable.

Alternatives To Welch’s Fruit Snacks

YumEarth Organic Fruit Snacks: They are certified organic, gluten-free, USDA organic as well as vegan.

Annie’s Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks: These snacks have no artificial flavors and are made from certified organic ingredients. They are gluten-free and vegan.

Mott’s Fruit Snacks: These fruit snacks do not contain gelatin or any animal by-products. They are advertised as vegan.

Trader Joe’s Vegan Snacks: Although Trader Joe’s is a large scale convenience store, they have upped their game by selling affordable vegan-friendly options for those looking for snacks.

Little Duck Organics: These treats are perfect for those wanting to buy healthy organic snacks for kids. All products sold from Little Duck Organics are vegan.

In Conclusion

While Welch’s products are considered healthier snacks, they have a limited range of vegan products. You have to stick to their Fruit Rolls.

If you’re introducing healthy or fruity snacks to kids or transitioning to these kinds of snacks, Welch’s products are well-known for their fruit products, and most of their products are already considered gluten-free. Welch’s products also don’t contain any additional preservatives.

Similar Posts