Vegan Options At Jimmy John's

What Are The Vegan Options At Jimmy John’s? (Updated Guide)

Jimmy John’s, is a popular fast-food chain of restaurants that specialize in sandwiches. Being in the business for over 37 years, Jimmy John’s has grown to serve Americans in over 2800 locations across 43 states. They are famous for their Turkey Tom sub and Bootlegger Club sandwich; Jimmy John’s introduced the vegan options in 2019. 

Jimmy John’s has only one vegetarian sandwich, “#6 Original Veggie,” which can be made vegan on request. You can customize your sandwich with vegan toppings. They have an excellent variety of condiments and sides that are vegan-friendly. You can also make your own sandwich by combining the vegan menu items like bread, toppings, sauces, and sides. 

If you’re a vegetarian or a vegan, looking to dine or order from Jimmy John’s, try out these items:


One of the healthiest, no-meat, no-dairy, no-eggs Jimmy John’s “#6 Original Veggies” is a great vegetarian sandwich. The “Original Veggie” sandwich has avocado, provolone, cucumber, tomato, mayo, and lettuce.

To make this sandwich vegan, you can request them to remove the provolone cheese and mayo. You can replace these two ingredients for anything else from the vegan-friendly menu items listed down. 

Since there is only one vegan sandwich on the menu, Jimmy John’s allows you to create your sandwich from scratch. Let’s see some of the vegan-friendly options available at Jimmy John’s to curate your perfect sandwich.


Jimmy John’s bread is notoriously delicious and loved by their patrons. So much so that the fast-food chain started selling “Freaky Fresh Bread on Demand” amidst the coronavirus pandemic. They have a good selection of bread, and the vegan options at Jimmy John’s are verified in their allergen information

Here are some of the vegan bread options you can enjoy at Jimmy John’s:

  • French bread
  • 9-grain wheat sub
  • 9-grain wheat sliced
  • Lettuce wrap

There were contrasting opinions on the authenticity of the ingredients in Jimmy John’s bread. Jimmy John’s doesn’t consider their bread vegan because it is manufactured in the facility that also processes eggs. 

However, if you refer to Jimmy John’s allergen information guide, it does not say that their bread has egg allergen. 

So the French bread and two 9-grain wheat breads at Jimmy John’s are vegan-friendly even though they are processed in the same manufacturing facility that processes eggs. If you don’t want to take a chance, you can opt for the safest vegan option: lettuce wrap. Vegan options shouldn’t be derived from animals, and it is worth to mention that the 9-grain wheat bread from Jimmy John’s has honey in it. 


Since there is only one vegan item on the Jimmy John’s menu, there aren’t any vegan substitutes for cheese and proteins. But they have a range of toppings that vegans and vegetarians can enjoy:

  • Cucumber
  • Pickles
  • Lettuce
  • Onion
  • Jalapenos
  • Tomato
  • Sprouts
  • Celery
  • Avocado spread
  • Jimmy peppers


To make your vegan sandwich exciting and full of flavor, you can mix and match the several condiment vegan options at Jimmy John’s. Let’s see which mouthwatering condiments are essential in your Jimmy John’s sandwich:

  • Italian vinaigrette
  • Jimmy mustard
  • Grey Poupon
  • Oil & vinegar
  • Yellow mustard
  • Oregano-basil seasoning


To complete your meal, you can order the following vegan-friendly sides at Jimmy John’s:

  • Classic Jimmy chips
  • BBQ Jimmy chips
  • Thinny chips
  • Jumbo kosher dill pickle
  • Jalapeno chips

Is Jimmy John’s Avocado Spread Vegan?

If you check Jimmy John’s allergen information guide, it clearly states that the avocado spread has no eggs or dairy. Therefore, vegans and vegetarians can enjoy Jimmy John’s avocado spread.

Are Jimmy John’s Chips Vegan?

Jimmy John’s offers five different flavors in their chips. Out of these five flavors, four of them are vegan. The only flavor that is non-vegan is Salt and Vinegar chips.

Are Jimmy John’s Cookies Vegan?

All of the Jimmy John’s cookies are non-vegan because they contain eggs and dairy.

Why Was #BoycottJimmyJohns Trending On Twitter?

In April 2019, a Twitter user posted a picture of Jimmy John Liautaud, founder and former owner of Jimmy John’s, sitting in front of an elephant he had killed. The picture showed him smiling with his thumbs up, celebrating his elephant kill. 

After the picture of Jimmy John Liautaud rolled out in this tweet, many eminent people took turns to bash his horrifying hunting obsession. This tweet enraged people across the country who didn’t stand for animal cruelty to serve a violent hobby. 

This story took a “Freaky Fast” turn when people started exposing documented evidence of Jimmy John’s animal killings over the years. Soon, people began using the hashtag #BoycottJimmyJohns to tweet their opinions and pledged not to eat from the fast-food establishment again. 

It escalated to such an extent that even PETA tweeted a guide to eating vegan at Subway, the competitor fast-food sandwich chain that doesn’t support hunting. Jimmy John Liautaud’s hunting obsession did not do any good for Jimmy John’s reputation as people were boycotting the restaurant and taking a stand against hunting. 

In a 2015 interview with the Chicago Tribune, Jimmy John’s founder came through about his mistakes and how they are clouding people’s judgment of him and the boycotts in the present. He admitted to being an avid hunter and said that whatever he did was legal at that time. Jimmy John Liautaud declared that he no longer hunts the big African game anymore.

In Conclusion

Jimmy John’s have dipped their toes to offer a vegan inclusive dining experience. While there aren’t many vegan options at Jimmy John’s, it’s great to see their efforts are in the right direction. 

The create-your-own sandwich options give you the creative control to design your perfect vegan sandwich! Since veganism is on the rise, with the vegan menu, Jimmy John’s can cater to a broader customer base and offer their excellence in delivering their signature twist in vegan options. 

Similar Posts