Skip to Content

What Are The Vegan Options At Pepe’s Mexican Restaurant? (Updated Guide)

What Are The Vegan Options At Pepe’s Mexican Restaurant? (Updated Guide)

Pepe’s Mexican Restaurant has been consistently providing high-quality Mexican cuisine to the Southland. The restaurants have consistently offered traditional, high-quality Mexican food while keeping their family recipes a secret. This has helped Pepe’s become the well-known establishment that it is today.

But does Pepe’s Mexican Restaurant offer vegan dishes? Well, worry not, vegans. Pepe’s Mexican Restaurant offers a variety of vegan delicious and nutritious cuisine that you don’t want to miss. Trying to choose the ideal vintage to go with your meal? This restaurant has an excellent assortment of beers,  wines, and other beverages. Because of the ample space for big groups, you may dine with both your family and extended family at Pepe’s Mexican Restaurant.

Read to find what Pepe’s Mexican Restaurant has in their kitchen for all vegan folks out there.

Pepe’s Mexican Restaurant – A Little Bit Of History

Pepe’s was started in 1962 by the three brothers, Tony, Joe, and Fred. Unable to find a stable business just then, the location was shifted numerous times until ultimately having to settle in Alhambra around 1962, in which the business name was changed officially to “Pepe’s.” Throughout these early years, the brothers frequently depended on the support of family to keep the business expanding. In 1962, their nephew “Pepe” was sent to battle in Vietnam. That’s when Tony, so out of his love towards his nephew, rebranded the restaurant Pepe’s.

The restaurant was a huge success in the years that followed. However, Tony died in 1973, leaving Fred and Joe to operate the company entirely. With the launch of the Downey branch in 1976, Fred, the youngest of the three brothers, helped to develop Pepe’s Restaurants. Pepe’s has expanded since then, with outlets in San Gabriel Valley, Los Angeles, and Orange Counties.

Vegan Options

Please keep in mind that product recipes vary, change happens, and kitchen conditions require modifications from time to time, based on availability, pricing, season, personnel, and so on. As a result, information that is correct today may not be correct tomorrow. To make sure, you can double-check the dishes on the staff for assistance.

Veggie Tacos

This is made with a spicy vegetable mixture served on soft corn tortillas with feta cheese, black beans, sour cream, and cilantro. Rice and beans on the side. To make this dish vegan, request it with no sour cream and feta cheese. 

The Veggie Tacos’ nutritional information is presented in the table below. But, as mentioned above, preparation differs per shop, the table may also vary. The best advice is to ask their personnel for help in validating the nutritional content of your order.

ContentsAmount per serving
Calories194
Calories from fat59 g
Total fat8 g
Saturated fat3 g
Trans fat0 g
Cholesterol14 mg
Sodium335 mg
Carbohydrates26 g
Dietary fiber5 g
Sugars3 g
Protein8 g
Vitamin A68%
Vitamin C11%
Calcium14% 
Iron10%

Vegan Burrito

It’s a flour tortilla loaded with mildly spicy beans and topped with lettuce and cheese or vegan cheese. It is also served with rice and a side of a Mexican salad.

Provided below is the vegan burrito’s nutritional content for reference. 

ContentsAmount per serving
Calories541
Total fat14 g
Saturated fat3 g
Trans fat0 g
Cholesterol0 mg
Sodium1150 mg
Carbohydrates84 g
Dietary fiber14 g
Sugars9 g
Protein15 g
Vitamin A0 g
Vitamin C0 g
Calcium0 g
Iron0 g

Vegetarian Quesadilla

Made with Oaxacan cheese, eggplant, roast capsicum,  mushrooms, pickled cactus, and cilantro pesto on a flour tortilla. Served with black beans and a side of a Mexican salad. To make this vegan ready, request the cheese to be removed. 

For the nutritional content, check the table below. 

ContentsAmount per serving
Calories368
Total fat15 g
Saturated fat4 g
Trans fat0 g
Cholesterol145 mg
Sodium2310 mg
Carbohydrates53 g
Dietary fiber18 g
Sugars13 g
Protein25 g
Vitamin A0 g
Vitamin C0 g
Calcium0 g
Iron0 g

Sizzling Veggie Fajitas

This fajita is a mix of mushrooms, onion, capsicum, pickled cactus, frijoles beans, and eggplant. Very vegan for you. 

See its nutritional content below for your reference. 

ContentsAmount per serving
Calories1,051
Total fat47 g
Saturated fat15 g
Trans fat0 g
Cholesterol60 mg
Sodium1653 mg
Carbohydrates128 g
Dietary fiber11 g
Sugars9 g
Protein30 g
Vitamin A18%
Vitamin C171%
Calcium37%
Iron48%

Vegetarian Empanada

Two filled pastries coated with chili and filled with pickled cactus, capsicum, eggplant,  mushroom, and feta cheese. It is also served with rice and a side of a Mexican salad. Just request it with no cheese to make it vegan. 

Provided below is the vegetarian empanada’s nutritional content.

ContentsAmount per serving
Calories300
Total fat9 g
Saturated fat3 g
Trans fat0 g
Cholesterol10 mg
Sodium1000 mg
Carbohydrates47 g
Dietary fiber2 g
Sugars19 g
Protein8 g
Vitamin A4%
Vitamin C10%
Calcium10%
Iron20%

Garden Salad

It is made with mixed lettuce, cucumber,  tomato,  cheese, onion, and Italian dressing. It may be served with vegan cheese, ask them if it’s available. If not, you can have it with no cheese to be suitable for your vegan dining. 

Mexican Salad

This salad is made with fresh green apple, carrot, red cabbage, celery, parsley, queso fresco cheese, mint, honey, cilantro, and sesame seed vinaigrette dressing. Again, order it with no cheese to make this dish vegan.

Frequently Asked Questions

Now that you know what and how to order when you find yourself at Pepe’s Mexican Restaurant. Let’s answer some of the frequently asked questions about Pepe’s.

Is Rice At Pepe’s Mexican Restaurants Vegan?

Yes. The rice at Pepe’s is vegan. You can also try their guacamole, salsa, beans, and tortillas. All of which are made vegan.

Are There Gluten-Free Options At Pepe’s?

Fortunately, yes! Gluten-free and vegan diners are welcome at Pepe’s. Many of their meals are corn-based rather than flour-based, allowing gluten-free clients to enjoy dishes like enchiladas, nachos, and tacos. Plus, Pepe’s provides a gluten-free wrap, which gives their gluten-free clients more alternatives with dishes such as fajitas, burritos, and tostadas.

The bonus part is that all of their guacamoles and sauces are made in-house and include no flour, dairy, or thickeners.

Can Vegans Eat Corn Chips?

The quick response is yes. Most tortilla chips do not include any animal products. Tortilla corn chips’ most common ingredients include corn, oil, and vegetable salt. Tortilla or corn chips are made out of only three components. This implies that vegans can eat any kind, whether blue, white, or red. But, if in doubt, always double-check the components.

Other Mexican Restaurants That Offer Vegan Options

If Pepe’s Mexican Restaurants’ choices don’t appear to suit your vegan tongue, there are plenty of additional options. Several large Mexican restaurants provide vegan options. Continue reading to broaden out your vegan Mexican options.

Monterrey Mexican Restaurant

Monterrey Mexican Restaurant is well-known for its tacos, burritos, fajitas, enchiladas, and, most notably, its must-try and one-of-a-kind margaritas. Monterrey Mexican Restaurant serves lunch, supper, appetizers, sides, and specials to customers and others. 

Although it is not a fully vegan Mexican restaurant, some of its meals are vegan-friendly, and others may be made vegan upon request. Its famed margaritas and other beverages go very well with your new favorite vegan fajitas and perhaps a guac dip.

Some vegan options are:

  • Chiles Poblanos
  • Grilled Tacos
  • Huaraches
  • Chile con Queso
  • Bowl of Chili
  • Pico de Gallo
  • Cheese Fries
  • Rice and Cheese Sauce
  • Sour Cream
  • Shredded Cheese
  • Beans
  • Rice
  • Tamal

Alberto’s Mexican Food

The vegan lifestyle is on the surge, and restaurants, even those that aren’t vegan, provide vegan-friendly options. Alberto’s Mexican Food is no different. Also, there is certain Mexican cuisine that is unintentionally vegan. Simply inquire and clarify how they were made at Alberto’s Mexican Food to verify that you’re eating the appropriate manner, at least for vegans. Cheese and a few sauces are included in the list below. Inquire whether the cheese they offer is vegan and how the sauces are made. Most of their parmesan, gouda, mozzarella, cheddar,  and cream cheese are also vegan.

Some of their vegan choices are:

  • Vegetarian Burritos
  • Bean Tostada And Enchilada
  • Two Cheese Enchiladas
  • Potato Burritos
  • Mini Taco
  • Nachos With Vegan Cheese, Chips, And Guacamole
  • 2 Rolled Tacos With Cheese
  • Churros
  • 2 Rolled Tacos With Cheese

Qdoba

Vegan choices galore at Qdoba, as they do at most casual fast-food Mexican restaurants. Whereas Chipotle has Sofritas and Moe’s has its own tofu, Qdoba has Impossible Foods.

Almost every item at Qdoba is, well, feasible with ground Impossible Meat. If you haven’t tried Qdoba in a while, we highly recommend trying their vegan alternatives.

Here are some of what you can order at Qdoba:

  • Impossible Fajita Burrito
  • Impossible Fajita Bowl 
  • Chips And Salsa Or Chips And Guac 

The Bottomline

Pepe’s Mexican Restaurant is one of the restaurants that offer authentic Mexican cuisine and can cater to the preference of the rising vegan community. With some tweaks, you can have your Mexican vegan dining at Pepe’s. Just forget to request no cheese at your orders and double-check the ingredients at the personnel to make sure what you’re having is suitable for your diet.

If Pepe’s can’t seem to satisfy your taste, we got your back and prepared some vegan restaurants that you can try. 

Enjoy your Mexican vegan dining!