Are Burger King Onion Rings Vegan? Can Vegans Eat Burger King Onion Rings?

Are Burger King Onion Rings Vegan

Note: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Answer: No. Burger King Onion Rings are not vegan – they contain milk.

No

What Are Burger King Onion Rings?

Burger King Onion Rings are delightful sides to add in any order partnered with its sauce. Whether it is in Africa, Australia or America, or in any other parts of the world, they are a popular pick among consumers.

It is common to assume that onion rings are vegan since the onion itself is a vegetable. But I’m sure that the question “Are Burger King Onion Rings vegan?” is still at the back of your head, itching to get out. This article will help you get a more comprehensive view of what ingredients are used to create Burger King Onion Rings and if they are vegan-friendly. So, feel free to read through the topics.

Among the fast-food chains, Burger King has developed itself to be the leading supplier of onion rings. And they are popular all over the world on the contrary to what they are mostly known for. Burger King has been serving this delicious side dish for a long time, and this onion ring has grown to be one of fast food’s most important side snacks.

Are They Vegan?

The nature of Burger King Onion Rings is supposed to be completely vegan. But the always mouth-watering onion rings of Burger King are non-vegan. These onion rings contain the ingredient whey, which is protein extract from milk.

Burger King Onion Rings are the most common substitute for French fries. But nutritionally, these onion rings are a bad choice. A side of fries in almost all food stalls and restaurants has an identical nutritional value of 22g of fats, 400 calories, 726mg of sodium (or salt), and saturated fat of 8g.

Like most of the menu items, Burger King Onion Rings cannot be considered a healthy food for the vegan diet. The onion rings may not have excess fat or calories than those larger meals on the Burger King’s menu; however, this does not make the onion rings free from other health risks.

Sodium may be necessary for body functions like fluid balancing, muscles supporting, and regulating the rate of pumping blood. Many Americans consume much more than that is healthy. The recommended intake of sodium is less than 2300mg a day. Every serving of Burger King Onion Rings has a salt of about 840mg, about 37% of the recommended daily salt consumption.

As the name suggests, Burger King Onion Rings taste like onions, but these deep-fried side dishes are far from full sliced onions. Contrary to what these onion rings mean, Burger King has carried out to escape using an onion powdered flavoring in place of the actual one.

And the most shocking thing is that these simple-looking yet delicious onion rings are apparently made of around thirty-three types of ingredients. 

Why Do They Require Thirty-Three Ingredients?

I’ve been asking the same question myself. Burger King Onion Rings are composed of modified corn starch, bleached wheat flour, sugar, dehydrated onion, and many more.

  • Among the ingredients, palm oil, processed sugar, and natural flavors are questionable. You might already have an idea that to whiten processed sugar, production companies use bone char (produced by animals’ bones by burning them at extreme temperatures).

The char is not present in the sugar, but some vegans may refuse to consume it since the production is based on animal cruelty.

  • On the other hand, palm oil is the result of large palm plantations using laborers and disordered wildlife. Animals can be the source of the natural flavors in the food products as the sources are not mentioned.

Anything that is a product of complicated methods and resources is something you can not consider 100 % natural. You cannot consider the vegan and vegetarian snacks healthy if they use the same oil and frying pans as those used for non-vegans.

On the other hand, onion rings are considered acceptable for lacto-ovo vegetarians as they consume dairy and eggs as the only root for obtaining protein from animals.

The problems mentioned above should not lead to a misunderstanding that there is no other option for a vegan to have onion rings, be it in food stalls or restaurants, especially if they offer a vegan-friendly menu.

Many fast-food joints make their onion rings that contain eggs and milk products. They usually do not provide onion rings that are vegan-friendly. So, why do they need to add them?

  • Eggs: The egg plays an integral part in binding and holding the dough or batter’s whole position in any food. 

Wheat flour contains the protein called gluten, which produces the elastic construction that combines with other ingredients. And with the help of eggs, they give a source of protein outside, which helps to harden while cooking.

The onions are dipped into an egg beaten in a bowl or the batter with an egg. The mixture of the batter for the rings binds all constituents while holding the elasticity to add that the final crunchy texture.

  • Milk: Milk produces a flaky texture in the onion rings due to the absence of eggs. The additives of milk do not replace eggs to maintain their elasticity but provide the required consistency and surface appearance.

Are There Any Alternatives For Burger King Onion Rings?

Now that the usual order of onion rings is no more vegan friendly, would you like to know what other alternatives you can choose?

  • Fries: Wherever you visit, even if it is the Burger King, French fries are one choice for a side dish. And you cannot deny that you, or anyone for that matter, enjoy them. 

These crispy fries from Burger King use pure vegetable-based oil and do not thirty-three ingredients to make them. Of course, you can reconsider if the doubt of whether they use the same pans as non-vegan food ever bugs you.

  • Toast Sticks: Warm and golden french toasts, who will not like them. And they do not have any ingredients based on animals. Other fast-food branches have also started to make french toasts just as good without using egg or milk products.
  • Hash Brown Rounds: These are little french fries that combine perfectly with the vegan burger you just ordered. These small brown and round fries are crispier than french fries, and guess what – they are vegan.
  • Apple Pie: – In America, pies traditionally use ingredients based on animal products. But the Dutch Apple Pie at Burger King is vegan.

They do not contain dairy additives or fillers like eggs to bake these delicious pies. Burger King does not use milk-based products or eggs but margarine instead.

  • Whopper Junior: Whopper juniors are non-vegan, but if you order them without the meat and mayonnaise, you will have your vegan whopper junior.
  • Oatmeal: Burger King serves Quaker Oats oatmeal in maple flavor during breakfast. Although you can prepare this at home with ease, I have listed this as an item that they serve. So make sure to get there at breakfast time if you ever feel lazy to make one yourself.
  • Salad: The garden side salad is pretty good. If you like salads and lettuce, make sure to give them a try.

Onion rings from Sonic, on the other hand, are regarded as vegan-friendly. Sonic managed to go making their batter without eggs or milk products. This means that the onion rings will also have a shelf-life that lasts longer.

Does the hunger for onion rings still thrive in you? Well, you can always bring out your oven and cook up your very own special onion rings. And today, there are so many DIY videos and recipes for a healthy vegan diet all over the internet that will guide you smoothly throughout the process.

In Conclusion

Yes, it is safe to conclude that the yummy onion rings at Burger King are not vegan.

In addition to that, combining too many ingredients to make a simple food product can never be healthy for vegans and veggie-diet.

Be very cautious about the orders you place!