Are McDonald's Hash Browns Vegan

Are McDonald’s Hash Browns Vegan? Can Vegans Eat McDonald’s Hash Browns?

Answer: No. McDonald’s Hash Browns aren’t vegan because they contain milk and natural beef flavorings. Sometimes, they are also fried in beef fat.

No

McDonald’s Hash Browns are a very popular breakfast delicacy in the United States. They are common in the US, but you will also find them in other countries’ cuisines, such as Canada and the United Kingdom.

They are also known as hashed browns in some regions in the US.

Surprisingly, in these other countries, the hash browns are vegan friendly, unlike in the US.

What Are Hash Browns?

One of the most enjoyable activities you can engage your mouth in is eating McDonald’s Hash Browns.

I bet you’ll even lick your fingers if you spread some tomato sauce or grape jelly on them.

McDonald’s Hash Browns are usually soft and fluffy on the inside and crunchy on the outside with their perfect oval shape and thin slices.

They appear well cooked when they have a beautiful golden brown color.

They are usually shallow fried on grills or cooktops. However, if you’re making yours at home, you can choose to pan fry or deep fry them in hot oil. 

Here’s an interesting fact:

Did you know that hash browns were being served in American cuisines in the 1890s, first in the city of New York?

Well, at least now you know.

Hash browns are centuries older than you!

Let’s see some of the reasons why Mcdonald’s Hash Browns are not vegan.

Why Are McDonald’s Hash Browns Non-Vegan?

This product is considered non-vegan because it has milk and natural beef flavorings as part of the major ingredients. Sometimes, hash browns are also fried in beef fat.

The natural beef flavoring contains hydrolyzed wheat and milk. The presence of the hydrolyzed milk makes the hash browns non-vegan.

McDonald’s also uses an inorganic compound known as sodium acid pyrophosphate to prepare the hash browns. Its purpose is to maintain the hash browns’ golden brown color and balance the food’s pH.

McDonald’s Hash Browns are usually cooked in the same fryer used in cooking donut sticks, which have wheat and milk.

It is important to note that the equipment used for cooking vegan dishes should not be used in cooking animal-based products. Otherwise, cross-contamination occurs in vegan food, hence making it unsuitable for consumption by a vegan.

Health Benefits

McDonald’s Hash Browns have several health benefits.

They are a great source of carbohydrates. This makes them the best option in the morning before you engage in your day-to-day activities.  

McDonald’s Hash Browns have many vital minerals and vitamins such as iron, calcium, vitamin A, and vitamin C.

Something Important To Note

McDonald’s Hash Browns also contain wheat. Some vegans are most likely to avoid wheat products because of gluten. Gluten is a product usually present in grains.

People that consume wheat may develop gluten allergy, commonly referred to as celiac disease.

It would be best to check with your doctor if you have such an allergy before consuming grains to avoid putting your health at risk.

Vegan Alternatives To McDonald’s Hash Browns 

  • Starbucks Hearty Blueberry Whole-Grain Oatmeal
  • Starbucks Perfect Oatmeal With No Toppings
  • Panera Bread Summer Fruit
  • Liv Fit Superfood Antioxidant Fruit And Fiber
  • McDonald’s Apple Pie

Conclusion

From the information above, it is clear that McDonald’s Hash Browns are not vegan. However, you should try the listed vegan alternatives – you won’t be disappointed!

Similar Posts