Skip to Content

Are Pillsbury Pie Crusts Vegan? Can Vegans Eat Pillsbury Pie Crusts?

Are Pillsbury Pie Crusts Vegan? Can Vegans Eat Pillsbury Pie Crusts?

Answer: It depends.

Depends
Are Pillsbury Pie Crusts Vegan? Can Vegans Eat Pillsbury Pie Crusts?

It depends on the type of crust you are consuming. However, most Pillsbury crusts are not vegan since they contain non-vegan ingredients such as lard and food coloring.

Nothing screams fall season like a freshly made pie. However, preparing your homemade pie crust by yourself is usually harder than you think.

As a result, many individuals choose to buy ready-made pie crusts. Whereas most people may buy any pie crust, vegans must examine the labels for a vegan pie crust. To lessen your worries, in this article, we will discuss if Pillsbury pie crust is suitable for your vegan plate. 

Pillsbury Pie Crusts – Brief History

Charles A. Pillsbury founded the firm in 1869 by purchasing a stake in a Minneapolis flour mill.  Pillsbury Company is a former American food product producer and flour miller that was bought out by General Mills around 2001. These firms were headquartered in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Pillsbury got synonymous with home cooking due to its long and rich history in the bread and other baked sectors, promotional baking contests, as well as in cookbooks, most prominently the yearly Pillsbury Bake-Off. Pillsbury’s Best flour, one of the company’s primary items, is still manufactured. Following the launch of more mills and the implementation of milling method improvements, his business was reformed around 1872 into C.A. Pillsbury and Company.

Under its Pillsbury branding, the firm makes a wide range of consumable food goods such as rolls, frozen biscuits,  snack foods, cookie dough, breakfast meals, and cake mixes.

Are Pillsbury Pie Crusts Vegan?

Pillsbury makes four kinds of delightful pie crusts. Now let us take a closer look at their ingredient lists and see if any of these crusts are vegan-friendly.

Refrigerated Pillsbury Pie Crust

Pillsbury’s delicate pie crust is famous for its handmade tastes. Unfortunately, this Pillsbury pie crust contains lard, and therefore it’s not suitable for vegans. 

Here is the nutritional content per serving.

NutrientsNutrient Count
Calories110 Kal
Total fat 6 g
Saturated fat4 g
Trans fat0 g
Cholesterol5 mg
Sodium130 mg
Total carbohydrates12 g
Dietary fiber0 g
Total sugar0 g
Added sugar0 g
Protein1 g
Vitamin D0 g
Calcium0 g
Iron0.7 mg
Potassium0 g
Vitamin A0 g
Vitamin C0 g

Frozen Pillsbury Pet-Ritz Regular Pie Crust

This Pillsbury pie crust, which comes in a box of two, is said to be prepared using basic ingredients and to have the same flavor as handmade pie crust. However, they don’t mention enough about what we’re looking for. Although the brand’s promise of utilizing basic ingredients is true with this pie crust, it is unfortunately not suitable for vegans. It contains animal-based fat!

The pie crust additionally contains sugar that is a contentious element in the vegan movement due to its commercial refinement. Plus, It also has artificial food coloring.

Let’s take a look at its nutritional content.

NutrientsNutrient Count
Calories80 Kal
Total fat 4.5 g
Saturated fat2 g
Trans fat0 g
Cholesterol5 mg
Sodium70 mg
Total carbohydrates9 g
Dietary fiber0 g
Total sugar0 g
Added sugar1 g
Protein1 g
Vitamin D0 g
Calcium0 g
Iron1 mg
Potassium0 g
Vitamin A0 g
Vitamin C0 g

Pet-Ritz Deep Dish Frozen Pie Crust

This kind of pie crust looks to be identical to the prior one, namely the frozen normal pie dough. And It appears that Pillsbury Deep dish frozen pie crust is precisely the same as that of frozen standard pie crust – only separately rolled and packed. However, this would not change the vegan identity. It also contains lard, making it non-vegan.

The deep-dish type of pie crust, resembling Pillsbury’s ordinary frozen pie crust, contains contentious components like artificial colors and sugar.

Presented below is its nutritional content for your reference. 

NutrientsNutrient Count
Calories90 Kal
Total fat 5 g
Saturated fat2 g
Trans fat0 g
Cholesterol5 mg
Sodium85 mg
Total carbohydrates11 g
Dietary fiber0 g
Total sugar1 g
Added sugar1 g
Protein1 g
Vitamin D0 g
Calcium0 g
Iron0.6 mg
Potassium0 g
Vitamin A0 g
Vitamin C0 g

Pet-Ritz All Frozen Deep Dish Vegetable Pie Crust

Is your pulse thumping faster as a result of your thrills? I certainly can, since this may be it! Let’s examine its list of ingredients to see if our hunt on vegan-friendly pie crust has come to a grinding halt. This pie crust has no lard. Alternatively, it contains soybean oil.

Even though it still contains artificial colors and sugar, many vegans would still be up for it. They claim that it is difficult to avoid contentious compounds since nearly every product contains one or more of these ingredients. 

Presented below is its nutritional information per serving.

NutrientsNutrient Count
Calories90 Kal
Total fat 6 g
Saturated fat2.5 g
Trans fat0 g
Cholesterol5 mg
Sodium130 mg
Total carbohydrates12 g
Dietary fiber0 g
Total sugar0 g
Added sugar0 g
Protein1 g
Vitamin D0 g
Calcium0 g
Iron0.6 mg
Potassium0 g
Vitamin A0 g
Vitamin C0 g

Other Vegan Pie Crust Options

Since Pillsbury offers limited vegan options, you wouldn’t have to give up conveniences to prepare a tasty, vegan-friendly pie. We’ve undertaken the legwork to locate the finest commercial vegan pie crust products for you.

Frozen Pastry Pie Shells from Marie Callender’s

Marie Callender’s, well-known for its iconic home pies, offers frozen pie shells devoid of any animal-based components. Fill these with whatever vegan flavor you can think of—pumpkin, pecan, and sweet potato are just some of the crowd’s favorites.

Graham Pie Crust from Keebler

Keebler’s non-bake graham cracker pie crusts are honey-free and dairy-free, keeping them friendly to chickens, cows, and bees. These crispy sugary crusts are ready to eat straight out from the box and are excellent for refrigerated pies such as Chocolate Mousse Pie, Berry Tarts, or a non-bake vegan cheesecake. For such a retro treat, garnish it with roasted vegan-friendly marshmallows.

Wholly Wholesome Organic Pie Shells

These pie shells from Wholly Wholesome are available in two sizes and are prepared with basic natural ingredients. The 9-inch shells are available in Traditional, Whole Wheat, Spelt, and Gluten-Free types, while the 6-inch shells are only available in Traditional. 

Rolled Pie Doughs, supplied in Whole Wheat and Traditional varieties, enable you to get artistic with your pie preparation, so you may cover the apple pie with such a lattice crust or even use cookie cutters to produce small hand pies loaded with vegan delight. These items may be available in so many grocery shops, so you can search and see if there are some around you. 

Belmont Pie Crust

Belmont is an Aldi store brand. The pie crust in Belmont is vegan. It is free of fat, dairy, and other animal-based substances. The pie crusts used for Belmont Apple Pies as well as  Belmont Deep Dish Pie Crusts are also vegan. We can expect that the remaining crusts offered by Belmont are to be vegan as well.

Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix

Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Pie Crust Mix is often regarded as a vegan. It is free of fat, dairy, and other animal-based substances. On the back of the package, it is suggested that you add butter to the combination. You may, however, substitute vegan butter.

Diamond Pie Crust

Pecan Pie Crust offered by Diamond is dairy-free. Diamond Chocolate Nut Pie Crust and Diamond Walnut Pie Crust, on the other hand, are still not entirely vegan because they include honey.

However, certain vegans could be fine with eating honey-sweetened pie crusts. These are free of dairy and lard ingredients, thus they are practically totally vegan. Some vegans do not mind consuming honey.

Pillsbury – Frequently Asked Questions

Considering how famous Pillsbury is as a pie crust company, I’m certain a lot of people have further questions regarding Pillsbury pie crusts. Now, before we close up this topic, let’s address a few of the FAQs.

Are Eggs Present In Pillsbury Pie Crusts?

No. There are no eggs or egg-related substances included in Pillsbury pie crusts.

Are Pillsbury Pie Crusts Dairy-Free?

Yes. There is no milk, whey, or other dairy components inside any Pillsbury pie crust making all of their crusts dairy-free. 

What Type Of Lard Do Pillsbury Pie Crusts Contain?

In Pillsbury’s non-vegan pie crusts, there have been two types of lard. The hydrogenated lard and the regular lard.

Is Lard Vegan?

Lard is just yet another fancy word for animal fat and this is never going to be vegan.

Are Pillsbury’s Pie Crusts Vegetarian?

As previously stated, the majority of Pillsbury’s pie crusts include fat, which would be animal fat and hence off-limits to every vegan. Vegetarians, like vegans, can only eat one type of  Pillsbury pie crust: All Vegetable Pie Crust.

Key Takeaways

The majority of Pillsbury pie crusts include lard, leaving them unfit for vegans. Pillsbury’s All Vegetable Pie Crust, on the other hand, has no non-vegan ingredients. It is acknowledged to be vegan.

With that being said, it’s always a good idea to be aware of different vegan pie crust alternatives. For example, if you can’t get your grips on Pillsbury’s All Vegetable Pie Crust, there are still other options to try instead.