Is Angry Orchard Vegan

Is Angry Orchard Vegan? Can Vegans Drink Angry Orchard?

Answer: Some Salt Water Taffy flavors are vegan, while most aren’t.

Depends

While Angry Orchard is not known for producing vegan-friendly products, four of its products are accidentally vegan. 

Now that we know is whether Angry Orchard is vegan or not, let’s progress further. In this article, there will be a discussion on the vegan-friendly cider varieties Angry Orchard offers. 

In this article, there will be a list of other vegan-friendly beverages as well. We will also try to find if ciders have any health benefits.

Before the discussion on Angry Orchard can begin, let’s first discuss what cider is. 

What Is Cider?

Cider is a type of alcoholic drink made from fermented apple juice. Cider is popular in countries such as the Republic of Ireland and the United Kingdom. Cider has the highest consumption per capita in the United Kingdom, and the country has some of the largest cider companies in the world.

Is Cider Vegan?

In its purest form, cider is vegan as it is made for fermented apple juice. However, most cider versions contain added flavor, and some additional flavors have gelatin in them. Nonetheless, there are vegan ciders available in the market:

  • Old Mout Cider
  • Thatchers Cider
  • Stowford Press
  • Aspall Cider
  • Orchard Pig
  • Savanna Cider

Angry Orchard Products

Vegan

Non-Vegan

Does Cider Provide Any Health Benefits?

Cider nutrition facts:

  • Calories: 120
  • Protein: 0.3g
  • Carbohydrates: 3.8g
  • Fat: 0.3g
  • Sugar: 24g
  • Fiber: 0.5g

Apple cider may also contain the following:

  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin C
  • Potassium
  • Iron
  • Calcium

Apple cider is rich in polyphenols, a compound found in plants that is a type of antioxidant. These antioxidants can help the body repair cell damage and lower the risk of heart diseases and cancer. Since apple cider is not a filtered drink, it has more polyphenols in it than apple juice. 

May Reduce The Risk Of Cardiovascular Disease

Apple cider also contains phytonutrients, which can help stop the oxidation process of bad cholesterol. This oxidation process can lead to a buildup of plaque in the arteries. An increase in plaque can lead to several heart-related illnesses.

Can Offer Constipation Relief

While apple cider has low fiber content, it can still help fight illnesses like irritable bowel syndrome and constipation. In addition, since apple cider is not a filtered beverage, it has a high pectin content. Pectin is a type of soluble fiber that can offer you relief from constipation.

Apple cider can also relax the intestines, which can create a healthier digestive system.

Can Offer Hydration

Apple cider is primarily made up of water and is easy to drink. Apple cider can offer hydration as well and thus can help you deal with dehydration. In addition, diluting apple cider with water can help you cut down on the sugar you consume. Apple cider can also keep diarrhea at bay, a symptom of consuming too much sugar.

Can Reduce Risk Of Some Cancers

As apple cider is rich in antioxidants, it can fight free-flowing radicals in your body. Polyphenols can reduce the risk of these types of cancers:

  • Breast cancer
  • Prostate cancer
  • Colon cancer

Other Vegan-Friendly Beverages

When it comes to beverages, vegan dieters have plenty of options. Of course, drinks that contain dairy products are to be avoided, but there are several types of sodas, drinks, juices, ciders, smoothies, and energy drinks that vegan dieters can drink. 

Here is a list of 10 vegan-friendly beverages:

Koia

Koia is a drink that is rich in plant-based protein. Koia contains 18g of plant protein, and the protein is derived from the following sources:

  • Peas
  • Brown Rice
  • Chickpeas

This beverage also contains 4g of sugar and is soy-free, dairy-free, and Non-GMO.

Sunwink

Sunwink Sparkling Herbal Tonic is sweetened with maple syrup and is free of refined sugar. This beverage contains several healthy ingredients such as:

  • Tumeric
  • Hibiscus
  • Ginger

This product also comes in several flavors, and the most popular flavor is Detox Ginger. 

Poppi

Poppi is a prebiotic soda and is manufactured in Texas. This beverage comes in many flavors, such as:

  • Ginger Lime
  • Orange
  • Strawberry Lemon

This prebiotic soda has a low sugar content; it is made with fruit juice and apple cider vinegar.

Trader Joe Cold Pressed Pineapple Juice

Trader Joe produces a one ingredient pineapple juice that contains no added sugar or artificial flavors. As a result, this juice is healthier than other bottled versions of juice.

Goldthread

Goldthread is a tonic and is plant-based. This product contains over 14000 mg of spices, super herbs, adaptogens from all over the planet. This product comes in several flavors, and the most popular flavors are:

  • Green Minerals
  • Tumeric Radiance
  • Hawaiian Ginger

This beverage is sweetened with maple syrup and is:

  • Gluten-free
  • Vegan-friendly

Goldthread can ship its products straight to your doorstep as well.

DONA

Dona is a masala chai and contains cinnamon, ginger, cloves, green cardamom, and black peppercorn. DONA uses organic tea leaves, and all you need to do is add your favorite dairy-free milk and a touch of sugar, and a delicious cup of tea will be ready.

Rebb1

Rebb1 is another brand of spicy chai and is called Spicy Chai Super Herb Elixir. This chai is a blend of coconut milk, Assam tea, and several organic spices such as:

  • Clove
  • Black pepper
  • Cardamon
  • Ginger
  • Cinnamon

This product is vegan-friendly and is healthier than other commercial varieties of tea.

Zevia

Zevia is a drink that has a bubbly texture and is sweetened by stevia, a natural sweetener. This drink is a substitute for soda drinks, so if you are vegan but cannot resist soda drinks, try Zevia.

The most popular flavors of Zevia are:

  • Caffeine-Free Cola
  • Cola
  • Ginger Ale
  • Lemon Lime Twist

Spindrift

Spindrift is a brand of sparkling water and uses natural fruit flavor instead of artificial flavor. Spindrift comes in several flavors such as:

  • Pineapple
  • Lime
  • Orange Mango

Lemon Perfect

Lemon Perfect is a keto drink and is perfect for those trying to cut down that sugar intake. This drink is made from cold-pressed lemon and is sweetened by two types of natural sweeteners:

  • Stevia
  • Erythritol

This product also contains a tang from California lemons. Lemon Perfect comes in four flavors.

Substances To Avoid

While most vegan dieters know what foods and ingredients they should avoid, it is still essential to refresh your memory once in a while. This is what vegans should avoid:

Certain Additives

Most additives come from animal products, such as:

  • E471
  • E422
  • E322
  • E210
  • E542
  • E631
  • E904
  • E901

So vegan dieters need to read the ingredients before they consume a product.

Carmine Or Cochineal

Ground cochineal insects are crushed and then used to make a carmine. Carmine is a type of natural dye that gives color to many food products.

Gelatin

Gelatin is a thickening agent made from pigs’ and cows’ skin, connective tissues, and bones.

Isinglass

Isinglass is similar in appearance to gelatin and comes from fish bladders. This ingredient is often used to make wine or beer.

Natural Flavorings

Some ingredients of natural flavorings come from animal products. An example of this can be castoreum, a flavoring derived from the secretion of beaver anal scent glands.

Omega-3 Fatty Acids

Products that are enriched with omega-3 fatty acids cannot be considered vegan. This is because some omega-3 fatty acids are derived from fish. However, omega-3 fatty acids that come from algae are vegan-friendly.

Shellac

This substance comes from the female lac insect. Shellac is sometimes used as an ingredient for candy food glaze.

Vitamin D3

Vitamin D3 usually comes from fish, or lanolin, that is found in sheep’s wool. However, vitamin D3 has vegan alternatives such as vitamin D2 and D3 derived from lichen.

Dairy Ingredients

Vegan dieters should avoid lactose, whey, and casein, as they are all derived from dairy.

Food That May Contain Non-Vegan Ingredients

Bread

Some baked goods, such as bread and bagels, contain an amino acid called l-cysteine. This amino acid is a softening agent and comes from poultry feathers.

Wine And Beer

Sometimes manufacturers of wine and beer use casein, egg white albumen, or gelatin in the winemaking process or beer brewing. Sometimes, isinglass is also an ingredient for wine and beer.

Caesar Dressing

Some types of Caesar dressing use anchovy paste as an ingredient. Anchovy paste comes from fish.

Candy

There are some types of candies such as Jell-O, Gummy bears, and Marshmallows that contain gelatin. Some sweets also have a coating of carmine or shellac.

Fries

Some varieties of French fries are prepared in animal fat.

Deep-Fried Foods

The batter typically used to make deep-fried foods such as vegetable tempura or onion rings contains eggs.

Non-Dairy Creamer

Many of these creamers classified as non-dairy contain casein which is a protein that comes from milk.

Conclusion

This article will help vegan dieters solve an important question – is angry Orchard vegan. Not only that, there is a lot of information in this article that will help vegan dieters make vital decisions.

Towards the end of the article, vegan dieters can check out a list of vegan-friendly beverages. All the relevant information is here; just read it up and plan your diet accordingly. 

Similar Posts