Is Apothic Wine Vegan

Is Apothic Wine Vegan? Can Vegans Drink Apothic Wine?

Answer: Some Salt Water Taffy flavors are vegan, while most aren’t.

Depends

In its purest form, wine can be considered vegan since it is made from grapes. However, some wineries use animal products as ingredients. Several wine manufacturers put vegan and non-vegan labels on their wine.

You will find a list of vegan-friendly wines in this article. 

Why is Apothic Wine Not Vegan-Friendly?

During the process of winemaking, Apothic Wine is filtered through several fine agents. Most of these agents are animal products, such:

  • Eggs
  • Milk
  • Fish
  • Gelatin

However, none of these ingredients remain in the wine before the filtration process, but still, vegan dieters should be careful before drinking regular wine. Beeswax is also sometimes used in the winemaking process.

What Is Vegan Wine?

Vegan wine is a variety of wines that contains no animal products whatsoever. Instead, this wine either lets the particles sink naturally or through fining products such as pea protein or bentonite, a variety of clay.

These are vegan wines that vegan dieters should try out:

Marks & Spencer, Classic No12, Brut, Cremant de Bourgogne, Burgundy, France NV

This is a popular vegan wine and it is manufactured in France. It comes with a vegan-friendly label, and it is a blend of Pinot Noir (75%), Chardonnay, Gamay, and Aligote. This wine is rich in flavors, such as white flowers and yellow apples. This wine also has a fine mousse and refreshing acidity.

The Lane Vineyard, Gathering Semillon Sauvignon, Adelaide Hills, 2016

This wine has a smoky intensity and a hit of ripe tropical fruit and seaweed. The 2017 vintage has more zesty freshness; however, 2016 is loved for its complexity and evolution.

Vegelen, Reserve, Chardonnay, Stellenbosch, 2017

This is a wine that is beautifully structured and has toasty nutmeg spice notes. This wine also has a creamy texture and contains ripe stone fruit and buttery apple flavors. The citrus zest acidity in the wine gives it great focus and drive.

Marks & Spencer, Classics, No21, Lomas del Marques, Rioja Reserva, Spain, 2014

This is another wine from Marks and Spencer and is part of the classic range of wines. While other similar wines are dry oaked and have no fruit flavor, this wine has a nice balance of vibrant acidity, dusty tannins, berries, and creamy caramel oak.

Ebenzer & Seppeltsfield, Shiraz, Barossa Valley, South Australia 2018

This is a full-bodied red wine, and it matures in both American and French oak barrels. This wine is dense; it bursts with different flavors such as sweet baking spices, toasted coconut, blueberry jam, and caramel hints.

Xanadu Fusion Cabernet Sauvignon, Margaret River, Western Australia 2018

This wine is elegant and is a Bordeaux blend, and comes from an award-winning winery. This 91 % sauvignon cabernet boosts pencil lead and lifts cedar notes. In addition to the notes, this wine also has blackcurrant and blueberry juiciness. 

Catena Zapata, DV Catena Malbec, Mendoza, Argentina, 2018

This Malbec comes from quality vineyards situated in high-altitude regions. This wine has the following flavors:

  • Cocoa
  • Black Cherry
  • Fruit Pastille Aromas

Other Companies That Sell Vegan Wine Online

Is Wine Healthy?

There are some varieties of wines, such as red wine, that have several key health benefits. Consuming red wine with an alcohol content of around 12% to 15% is generally considered healthy and can prevent various illnesses. 

However, despite the benefits, the consumption of wine should be moderate. Unfortunately, the line between excessive and moderate consumption is thin, and some individuals blur that line.

These are some benefits that you could gain by consuming a moderate quantity of red wine daily:

Red Wine Can Be Rich In Antioxidants

Before consuming red wine, ensure that you know everything about the wine, such as its positive and negative effects. Darker grapes are rich in antioxidants such as:

  • Proanthocyanidins
  • Catechin
  • Epicatechin
  • Resveratrol

Two of these antioxidants are extremely beneficial for your health:

  • Proanthocyanidins
  • Resveratrol

Red Wine Can Lower The Levels Of Cholesterol

Red wines are known to decrease the cholesterol level in the body. A study states that Tempranillo grapes are rich in fiber and make several varieties of red wine. These grapes play a crucial role in lowing cholesterol levels.

Red Wine Promotes Heart Health

Not only can red wine lower the cholesterol level in the body, but it can almost promote heart healthiness. This is because a certain type of antioxidant called polyphenols is present in most red wines, and it keeps the blood vessels flexible and prevents blood clotting. 

However, once again, should be on moderate consumption of wine, as heavy consumption can cause various heart diseases.

Red Wine Can Lower Blood Sugar Levels

A natural compound found in the skin of grapes called resveratrol can control the blood sugar level in people that have diabetes. Research proves that having 250mg of resveratrol supplements for three months lowers the glucose level in the blood. Resveratrol can also control blood pressure and cholesterol levels.

Red Wine Reduces The Risk Of Cancer

Moderate consumption of red wine can be effective in reducing certain types of cancer, such as:

  • Ovarian
  • Prostate Carcinoma
  • Colon
  • Basal Cell

Scientists have also experimented by using a dose of resveratrol on human cancer cells and found out that it can obstruct the actions of a protein that aids cancer.

Red Wine Can Cure Common Cold And Flu

The antioxidants that are present in red wine can help you fight the common cold and flu. In addition, antioxidants can protect you from free radicals that cause cancer, cold, and other dangerous illnesses.

Red Wine Keeps Your Memory Sharp

According to research, red wine can help you keep your memory sharp. In addition, resveratrol in red wine inhibits the formation of beta-amyloid protein, a component that can cause Alzheimer’s.

Red Wine Can Keep You Slim

Resveratrol can also help you in maintaining your weight and keeping you slim. A chemical compound converted from resveratrol, called piceatannol, reduces the fat cells present in your body. 

Research also suggests that piceatannol can increase the pace of insulin receptors in fat cells, which blocks the growth of immature fat cells. 

Red Wine Can Reduce The Risk Of Depression

Research conducted on middle-aged to elderly individuals concluded that consuming a moderate quantity of alcohol daily can reduce depression. In addition, people who drink red wine are less likely to fall prey to depression.

Red Wine Can Positively Impact Your Digestive System

Red wines have an anti-bacterial nature, which enables them to treat digestive disorders and stomach irritation. In addition, research on wine consumption proves that it can reduce the risk of infection through Helicobacter pylori, a type of bacterium found in the stomach.

How To Know If The Wine Is Vegan?

How to tell if the wine you’re dying to drink is vegan or not? Vegan is not regulated by any authority like USDA, TTB, and FDA. Governments don’t regulate the terminology as well.

The TTB states that there are over 62 ingredients that a winery can use to make vine, and it is permitted to do so without disclosing those ingredients. Those ingredients can be agents or additives such as Megapurple, which is a type of grape concentrate. 

It is generally tricky for vegans to find a vegan-friendly wine. However, the fining process is not the only process that stops the wine from being vegan; other factors also need to be considered.

For example, a winery in Austria called Gernot Heinrich is certified vegan and even has a ‘V Label,’ but its seals are made from beeswax, making it a non-vegan product. Some wineries even use glue made from animal products to fix the label on the bottle. 

What Can Be Done?

The matter is that the demand for vegan wine is growing, and most vegans want wineries to fix their fining process and take out all animal products. 

While some vegans like to go to the extreme and not buy products that have beeswax seals on them, generally, vegan dieters are satisfied with how the wine industry is transitioning.

Since the wine industry is in the transition phase, it will take a while before every industry component is vegan-friendly. 

Conclusion

The conclusion is that Apothic Wine is not vegan-friendly. However, this article contains a whole list of vegan-friendly wines that vegan dieters can try.

As discussed above, the wine industry is transitioning, so it is not vegan. For vegan dieters, it is essential to study the ingredients of the wine before they decide to consume it.

Similar Posts