Skip to Content

Is Regal Popcorn Vegan? Can Vegans Eat Regal Popcorn?

Is Regal Popcorn Vegan? Can Vegans Eat Regal Popcorn?

Answer: Yes.

Yes
Is Regal Popcorn Vegan? Can Vegans Eat Regal Popcorn?

Regal Popcorn is vegan and gluten-free. Regal Cinemas uses canola oil and coconut oil to pop its popcorn. Its buttery toppings are also made with beta-carotene, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, as well as artificial and natural flavors.

If you’re also a movie-goer and a vegan, this is definitely good news. Regal Cinemas is with us! The popcorn itself, salt, popping oil, and buttery topping are all vegan-friendly and gluten-free.

Ah, theaters. I’ve been a huge fan. As a movie-goer and a vegan, it can be challenging to get something from a theater that serves vegan-friendly snacks. Let’s find out more about Regal Popcorn, and check out more vegan theater popcorn and snacks.

Regal Cinemas, A Brief History

Formerly named Regal Entertainment Group, Regal Cinemas was established in Knoxville, Tennessee in 1989. Regal quickly grow its expansions, putting up cinemas in many suburban areas in the U.S. since its founding.

As of October 2019, Regal Cinemas has more than 7,200 screens in over 500 theaters with its subsidiaries Cinebarre, Edwards Theatres, Warren Theaters, and United Artists Theatres. British cinema company Cineworld acquired Regal Cinemas in 2017 for $3.6 billion.

Since then, Regal became the second-largest global theater next to AMC Entertainment Holdings.

Regal Cinemas offers Premium Theaters such as:

  • RealD 3D
  • Regal Premium Experience (RPX)
  • IMAX
  • 4DX
  • ScreenX

Regal Popcorn

According to Regal Cinemas in this tweet, its popcorn, buttery topping, popping oil, and popping salt are suitable for vegans and those who are gluten-sensitive. So, if you have celiac disease, going to Regal theaters and having its popcorn is definitely safe.

However, you may have to ask the crew as it may vary by location. All of its ingredients mentioned above are vegan-friendly, except that some vegans may doubt artificial or natural flavors.

Natural flavoring is one of the controversial ingredients that most produced items have. According to the FDA, it can be derived from meat, fish, poultry, plants, vegetables, and fruits. However, FDA also pointed out that most natural flavors are sourced from plants, vegetables, and fruits, which in turn, is safe for vegans.

Other Theaters With Vegan Popcorn And Snacks

It’s not just Regal Cinemas that offers vegan-friendly popcorn for movie-goers. Others theaters are also joining the bandwagon for cruelty-free snacks.

PETA also recommended these theaters although there are flavors that you may have to avoid. Nonetheless, these are the cinemas that you can check out when it comes to offering plant-based popcorn and other snacks.

  • AMC Theaters. With locations all over the U.S., AMC Theaters’ plain popcorn is vegan-friendly and uses canola oil for popping. Its buttery topping though may not be vegan in all locations. So, you may have to check by location.
  • Laemmle Theaters. It has several locations, especially in Los Angeles that offer vegan-friendly movie snacks such as Meat-Free Sausage Roll, Gluten-Free “Chicken” Nuggets, and Original Veggie Hot Dog from Fry Family Food. You can also try Alternative Baking Co’s vegan cookies.
  • Cinemark Theaters. Its popcorn is vegan-friendly, but the popping salt it uses contains soy and dairy. You can always ask to pop another batch without using its popping salt.
  • Cineplex. Its popcorn is gluten-free and vegan-friendly. However, it prepares its popcorn that may cross-contaminate with other non-vegan items.
  • Landmark Theaters. While its popcorn is vegan-friendly, some of its butter suppliers may vary by location. So, you may have to check with your local Landmark Theater. It also offers other vegan treats such as edamame, cookies, and more.

Apart from popcorn, of course, there are too many vegan snacks that you can have when you go to theaters.

  • Vegan Candies
    • Airheads
    • Dots
    • Sour Patch Kids
    • Skittles
    • Red Vines
    • Soft Pretzels

And of course, you can always go DIY. You don’t go to prison if you bring your own vegan snack to a cinema, especially when you’re in doubt about their ingredients.

Vegan Popcorn Brands

Here’s a list of vegan popcorn brands that you can actually grab from your local grocer ahead of your scheduled movie trip. You may have to choose which flavor is vegan-friendly as listed below.

  • Earth Balance Popcorn
    • Vegan Buttery Flavor
  • Pop Secret
    • Kettle Corn
    • Sea Salt
    • Sweet’ n Crunchy Kettle Corn
    • Pumpkin Spice
    • Kidz First Order Kettle Corn
    • Sweet’ n Crunchy Caramel
    • Popfetti
    • 94% Fat-Free Kettle Corn
  • Angie’s Boom Chicka Pop. These flavors are Kosher Certified, vegan, non-GMO, and gluten-free.
    • Sweet and Salty Kettle Corn
    • Sea Salt Popcorn
    • Light Kettle Corn
    • Sweet Barbeque Popcorn
    • Salted Caramel Popcorn
    • Chili Lime Flavored Popcorn
    • Avocado Oil
    • Rosé Flavored Kettle Corn
  • Orville Redenbacher
    • Orville Redenbacher Kettle Corn
    • SmartPop Kettle Corn
    • Naturals Simply Salt
    • Naturals Lightly Salted Simply Salt
  • Newman’s Own Popcorn
    • Tinder White Popcorn
    • Sea Salt Popcorn
  • Skinny Pop
    • Original
    • Skinny Pop Butter Flavor
    • Sea Salt Flavor
    • Dairy-Free White Cheddar
    • Sweet & Salty Kettle
    • Sea Salt & Pepper
    • Twist of Lime
  • Smartfood
    • Sweet and Salty Kettle Corn Smartfood Popcorn
    • Sea Salt
  • 365 by WFM
    • Organic Popped Corn Kernels
    • No Oil Flavor and No Salt Added Flavor
  • ProperCorn
    • Sweet Popcorn
    • Salted Popcorn
  • SkinnyGirl
    • Lime & Sea Salt Popcorn
  • Act II (2)
    • Kettle Corn
    • ButterLOVERS
  • Jolly Time
    • Simply Popped Sea Salt
    • Kettle Mania
    • All other Kettle Corns
  • Good & Gather
    • Sea Salt Popcorn
  • Lesser Evil Organic
    • No Cheese Cheesiness Popcorn
    • Avocado-licious
    • Himalayan Gold
    • White Chocolate + Matcha
    • Himalayan Sweetness
    • Dark Chocolate + Himalayan Pink Salt
  • Quinn Snacks Microwave Popcorn
    • Just Sea Salt & Organic Popcorn
    • Maple Popcorn Microwave Popcorn
  • Latejuly Organic
    • Organic Kettle Popcorn
  • Pipcorn
    • Vegan Caramel
    • Sea Salt
    • Truffle
  • Pop Zero
    • Simply Cinema
    • Cinnamon Toast
    • Sea Salt
    • Chili Lime
    • White Cheddar
  • Poppy Hand-Crafted Popcorn
    • Everything Bagel
    • Vegan Salted Caramel
    • Salt & Pepper
    • Thai Spice
  • BjornQorn
    • Classic
    • Spicy
    • Cloudy
  • Nature’s Nate
    • Avocado Oil
    • Sea Salt & Coconut Oil Pink Himalayan Sea Salt
  • Bohana
    • Soulful Sriracha Spice
    • Pink Himalayan Salt
    • Sweet Cinnamon Drizzle
    • Sea Salt Chocolatey Drizzle
  • Safe + Fair Food Company
    • Strawberry Shortcake
    • Dark Chocolate
    • Blueberry Cobbler
    • Birthday Cake
  • Cornucopia Popcorn
    • All 15 vegan flavors
  • Rocky Mountain Popcorn
    • Kettle Corn
  • Pop Art
    • Thai Coconut Curry Popcorn
  • Bob’s Red Mill
    • Yellow Popcorn
  • Tiny But Mighty
    • Heirloom Popcorn
  • Popzup Popper
  • Amish Country Popcorn

What To Look Out For When Eating Popcorn

As vegans, it’s important what to look out for, especially the food’s content to ensure that you’re still eating the right way. And we’re not just talking about popcorns. This should also apply to any other dish that we consume every day.

But for popcorns, there are a few things that you need to consider, especially when it comes to its ingredients.

  • Fiber Content
    • Fiber is one of the most important nutrients that we need. Popcorn itself is 100% whole grain, which means that it’s loaded with fiber. But remember that too much fiber can cause bloating, constipation, and gas. You know the drill, right?
  • Sodium Content
    • Popcorn is a salty snack, but it doesn’t mean that it’s already unhealthy. The Dietary Guidelines for Americans suggested limiting your sodium intake to 2,300 mg per day. So, as long as you know how to consume it moderately, you’re safe.
  • Oil Content
    • Most brands use vegetable oil to pop their popcorn. While vegetable oil is vegan-friendly, they also contain high amounts of fat. So, to be healthier, choose the ones that use heart-healthy popping oil such as canola oil. olive oil. or sunflower oil.
  • Additives.
    • Natural or artificial flavorings are among the culprits to popcorn making. While the FDA has pointed out that natural flavors are mostly derived from plants or vegetables it can’t be denied that some are also sourced from animals. So, the best way to be healthy all the time is to consume food in moderation.

Make Your Own Vegan Popcorn At Home

If you prefer watching movies at home, here’s an easy guide.

Ingredients:

  • 2 – 4 tbsp. of extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup of popcorn kernels
  • 1/4 cup of nutritional yeast
  • 2 tsp. of garlic powder
  • 1 – 2 tsp. of salt

What to do:

  • Use a large pot, and heat the oil to medium-high temperature. You can add up to 4 tbsp. for a tastier flavor.
  • As soon as the oil is hot, add three to four individual kernels and cover the pot.
  • When they pop, add more kernels and cover the pot again. Shake it once in a while to avoid burning the popcorn.
  • When popping is done, turn off the heat. Add all the other ingredients and shake well to mix.
  • You may store the leftovers in an airtight container and consume them within five to seven days.

The Bottom Line

Regal Popcorn is vegan-friendly as well as its buttery flavor. However, it varies by location, which means that you may have to ask your local Regal Cinemas.

There are also a lot of vegan-friendly popcorn brands that we’ve rounded up in this article that you can make at home if you are in doubt about buying one from the theaters. Or better yet, you can always make your own popcorn at home, especially when taking a trip to a local grocer is a pain for you.

Just be mindful of its ingredients and its content to ensure that things are still healthy for you even when you’re just watching a movie!