Skip to Content

What Are The Vegan Options At Jet’s Pizza? (Updated Guide)

What Are The Vegan Options At Jet’s Pizza? (Updated Guide)

Thick, deep dish, gluten-free… or hand-tossed crust, pizza is everywhere to be found. Baking pizza is one of the best ways to be creative in making your own vegan food item. You can freely and easily choose to add plant-based ingredients and make it 100% pure vegan for your diet.

Jet’s Pizza is a restaurant founded in 1978 when Eugene Jetts’ passion for pizza took over his plans of buying a new home. Since then, it has been established to serve Detroit-style pizzas, fresh salads, bread, and desserts. It is also famous for its different kinds of crust such as hand-tossed, gluten-free, deep dish, and New York style.

Unfortunately, Jet’s Pizza is not a 100% vegan restaurant. It uses non-vegan cheese and animal meat in serving most of its pizza. However, there is still some gold to mine for vegan folks at Jet’s. The restaurant offers vegan options, plus, you can opt to remove non-vegan items in your pizza to make it all vegan. The restaurant also offers salads, veggie classic sub, and beverages that can fit your vegan diet.

Read on and find out what and how to order at Jet’s Pizza for your vegan diet plan. Also, we will answer some of the most frequently asked questions about how vegan Jet’s Pizza is.

Health Benefits Of Eating Vegan Pizza

Despite being known as junk food, pizza can be a way to a healthier lifestyle especially if it’s vegan. In fact, when made with whole-food plant-based ingredients, vegan pizzas are considered to be one of the most nutritious and delicious meals there is. Vegan pizzas do not include greasy, processed, and cholesterol-laden toppings. Instead, they contain healthy vegetables and herbs, customized and creative sauce servings, and proteins from plant-based ingredients. When you start forgetting about all these animal meat and cheeses, your creativity in making your own vegan pizza will just explode!

Does Jet’s Pizza Use Vegan Cheese?

Jet’s Pizza uses non-vegan cheese. 

Cheese is a staple ingredient for a typical pizza plate. Unfortunately, cheese is not a vegan item. It is a dairy product from animals, usually from cows, goats, sheep, or buffalo. 

For vegans, there are kinds of cheese that are actually suited for their diet. These are cheeses that are made from plant-based ingredients, such as nuts, soy, seeds, and root vegetables. These can be incorporated into your meals but make sure that you still consume them in moderation.

So, in order to achieve a vegan meal at Jet’s Pizza, you have to ask their staff for the cheese removal. Also, you can try to bring your own non-vegan cheese at home.

What Are The Vegan Options At Jet’s Pizza?

We made you a list of what to order for your vegan diet when you come across a Jet’s Pizza restaurant. Just a reminder that menus may differ in some of its branches so it is still better to ask for assistance if you’re unsure.

1. Vegetarian Pizza Without The “Cheese”

Jet’s Pizza offers a vegetarian pizza which you may freely order but make sure to ask their staff to remove the cheese. After removing, the pizza will only have the vegan crust, your choice of pizza sauce, and vegetable toppings like mushrooms, tomatoes, and onions.

2. Customize Your Vegan Pizza

If you’re still unconvinced with the veggie pizza above, you can just easily customize a pizza of your own. First, let’s select a crust for your pizza. You can have a thick, deep dish, gluten-free, or hand-tossed crust. You can also choose to incorporate vegan flavors in these crusts, such as cajun, garlic, poppy seed, and sesame seed. Note that Jet’s cauliflower crust is not vegan.

Second, you can also choose your own sauce such as its pizza, BBQ, or Mild Buffalo flavor. Lastly, select for your veggie toppings from a wide array of vegetable toppings from tomatoes to olives, some fresh pineapples, mushrooms, onions, and many more.

3. Customized Salad

You can never go wrong with salad as it is easy to customize. Jet’s Pizza offers two salads that you can order, Greek Salad and Garden Salad. Just make sure that you ask to remove the cheese because both of these salads have vegan cheese in them.

Greek Salad

After removing, the Greek Salad will only contain vegetables such as lettuce, pepperoncini, grape tomatoes, and more, which is completed with a vegan dressing.

Garden Salad

After removing, the Garden Salad will only contain lettuce, black olives, green peppers, red onions, and grape tomatoes and is completed with a vegan dressing.

For the dressing, you can either select the Catalina Dressing, Fat-Free Raspberry Vinaigrette, or Italian Dressing as these are all pure vegan dressings. However, avoid choosing the Fat-Free Italian Dressing as it contains milk and the Greek Dressing as it contains eggs.

Finally, you can choose purely vegan salad toppings of your choice that include various vegetables.

4. No Cheese Vegetarian Classic Sub

Jet’s Pizza also offers a classic sub for veggie lovers. However, the said food item includes cheese as one of its ingredients. So, in order to achieve a vegan version of the meal, make sure to ask for the removal of the cheese.

After removing, the Jet’s Pizza veggie classic sub will only include its 8-inch sub roll, onions, black olives, green peppers, mushrooms, lettuce, and tomatoes. You don’t have to worry about its dressing as it is served with a 100% vegan Italian dressing. 

5. Beverages

To complete the vegan dining experience, Jet’s Pizza also offers vegan beverage options, such as Pepsi, Diet Pepsi, Sierra Mist, Mountain Dew, Aquafina, and Pure Leaf Tea.

What To Avoid At Jet’s Pizza

Some food items on Jet’s Pizza menu have confusing names. To guide you, we made a chart of the food items you might confuse with vegan. Again, ingredients may vary from store to store, so it is best advised that you ask for assistance in ordering these products.

Cinnamon StixIt includes eggs and milk.
Cauliflower crustIt includes eggs and milk.
Turbo crustIt includes eggs and milk.
Hot sauceIt includes milk.
Sweet Red Chili SauceIt includes milk.
Jet’s BreadIt includes egg and milk.
Deep Dish BreadIt includes egg and milk.

Is Jet’s Pizza Crust Vegan?

Fortunately, most jet’s pizza crusts are made with pure vegan ingredients. The thick, deep dish, gluten-free, and hand-tossed crust are all vegan. However, you should avoid ordering the cauliflower crust because, despite its name, it is not vegan-friendly.

Are There Whole-Food Plant-Based Options At Jet’s Pizza?

Some vegan folks do not only follow a vegan diet but a strict whole-food plant-based one. And if you’re one of them, you might have wondered if there is something in their menu that can go with this.

As a starter, you may order their salad. Just make sure that you ask to remove the dressing as it may have some oil and sugar contents. Nevertheless, going to Jet’s Pizza for a whole-food plant-based diet will not satisfyingly fill you up.

Where To Find Jet’s Pizza

Since it opened to franchising in 1990, Jet’s Pizza has been growing steadily when it comes to business expansions. As of now, Jet’s Pizza has more than 390 branches all throughout 20 states. Restaurant branches can be located in Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin.

So if you haven’t been to Jet’s Pizza, check your location and try to indulge in some of its available vegan options.

Are There Alternative Restaurants That Use Vegan Cheese?

Definitely, there are pizza stores that use vegan cheese. Some of the most popular ones are MOD Pizza, Blaze Pizza, Mellow Mushroom, and Pie Five Pizza. Moreover, you can also visit 100% vegan pizzerias such as Screamer’s Pizzeria in Brooklyn, Philly’s Blackbird Pizzeria, and Los Angeles’ Cruzer Pizza. If you’re ever in these places, make sure to make a visit and enjoy a worry-free vegan dining experience.

Conclusion

With over 390 restaurant branches, Jet’s Pizza is considered to be one of the most popular pizzerias in the US. However, most Jet’s Pizza food items on their menu are made from non-vegan ingredients. Aside from this, it doesn’t use vegan cheese. However, there are still ways you can achieve a vegan meal once you come across one of its stores.

You can try their veggie pizza but make sure to ask for the removal of cheese. You can customize your own pizza as well from crust to toppings. Their Greek and Garden Salad can also be enjoyed but also ask for the exclusion of the feta and cheddar cheese respectively. You can also order their veggie classic sub roll without the cheese. And finally, you can finish your meal with its vegan beverage options.

Jet’s Pizza is not your first option for your vegan diet. There are existing pizzerias, fortunately, that offer purely vegan pizzas and use vegan cheese as well.