Skip to Content

What Are The Vegan Options At Marco’s Pizza? (Updated Guide)

What Are The Vegan Options At Marco’s Pizza? (Updated Guide)

Whether it’s your Friday night out with friends, or savoring your alone time— pizza is just the perfect companion to go along with. It’s available with cucumber,  pineapple, spinach, and a variety of other ingredients. As a result, many people believe that vegan pizza is simple to make, however, this is not always the case. 

So, what does this reflect about Marco’s Pizza, one of the world’s most popular pizzerias? Is there a vegan-friendly pizza? Well, the vegan selection at Marco’s Pizza isn’t very exciting, but there are numerous options so vegans won’t have trouble finding something to eat there.

There are no plant-based meats or dairy-free cheese as you would find at other pizza joints. Also, be ready to order with a few tweaks, such as leaving out the cheese or omitting the croutons. But the best part is that all of Marco’s crusts and sauce are vegan! As one might anticipate, there are several vegan toppings to pick from.

Read on as we discuss their vegan menu in detail.

Marco’s Pizza – Brief History

Marco’s Pizza, established in Toledo, Ohio, is one of the country’s fastest-growing pizza restaurants. Marco’s, launched in 1978 by an Italian-born Pasquale “Pat” Giammarco, focuses on classic Italian grade pizza made from fresh ingredients. From its humble beginnings as a renowned Ohio brand, the firm has expanded to nearly 900 locations in 40 states and four continents. 

The menu in Marco’s Pizza is available for take-out and delivery, with dine-in and catering options that are available at select locations. Pizza, pizza bowls, wings, sandwiches, salads, Cinna Squares, Cheezy Bread, and Ghirardelli brownies are all on the menu.

White Cheezy, for which Marco’s Pizza won a gourmet competition in California, is one of Marco’s specialty pizzas and Marco’s homemade giardiniera, a genuine Italian pepper relish, is the trademark ingredient on the Fresco pizzas.  

Vegan Options At Marco’s Pizza

The vegan menu below was prepared based on the Marco’s Pizza website’s menu, nutrition, and allergy information. However, restaurant menus vary and can differ by location. I advise that you double-check any crucial information with the employees at your local Marco’s Pizza.

Build Your Own Vegan Pizza

There is no ready-made vegan pizza at the counter however, making your vegan pizza in Marco’s is not that hard. You may also make your vegan pizza bowl. A “Pizza Bowl” is a pizza with no crust served in a bowl. As a vegan, this would simply be a bowl of vegetables and pizza sauce. Here are the selections to make your pizza vegan-ready. 

Vegan Crust

  • Deep Pan Crust
  • Lite Crust
  • Thick Crust
  • Big Square Deal Crust
  • Original Crust
  • Thin Crust
  • Cauliflower Crust (available only in selected branch)

Vegan Sauce – Signature Pizza sauce is the only vegan available. 

Vegan Toppings

  • Black Olives
  • Banana Peppers
  • Garlic Sauce
  • Fresh Spinach
  • Green Chilies
  • Green Peppers
  • Green Olives
  • Mushrooms
  • Jalapenos
  • Onions
  • Red Onions
  • Pineapple
  • Tomato Slices

Extra Toppings

  • Garlic Butter or Garlic Sauce (both are dairy-free)
  • Crushed Red Peppers

Garden Salad

To make your garden salad vegan, here’s how you should order:

  • No cheese
  • No croutons
  • Served with fat-free Italian dressing 
  • Along with salad greens, it includes red onion, green peppers, black olives, and tomato. Optional ingredients include spinach, mushrooms, pineapple, banana peppers, jalapenos, and onions.

Cinna Squares

From a vegan standpoint, this is by far the most intriguing dish on Marco’s menu. They’re cinnamon-sugar dessert cubes with icing on top.

Be mindful that the ingredients list reads “butter,” but it then emphasizes that the “butter” is composed of soybean oil, not true dairy butter.

If you have a serious milk allergy, this is something that you must take note of. Overall, Cinna Squares are completely vegan. 

Chips

The following chips are available at almost all branches:

  • Lay’s Original
  • Lay’s Kettle Cooked
  • Lay’s BBQ
  • Fritos Original

Bagel

This is featured as a breakfast option on the website and it’s also vegan. However, not all stores do offer this on their menu. 

Soft Pretzel Dip In Pizza Sauce

This is not offered in all stores but if you can order soft pretzel, it is highly recommended to come with pizza sauce as a dip. 

Vegan Smoothies

  • Strawberry Smoothie
  • Banana Strawberry Smoothie

Drinks

  • Diet Pepsi
  • Pepsi
  • Mist Twist
  • Mountain Dew
  • Sierra Mist
  • Mug Root Beer
  • Aquafina
  • Cherry Pepsi
  • Pepsi Zero Sugar
  • Mountain Dew Zero Sugar
  • Dole Lemonade
  • Orange Crush

Coffee Drinks

Some Marco’s stores offer coffee, and they sell coconut, Blue Diamond almond, and soy milk. All latte add-ons are made with natural ingredients. 

  • Hazelnut syrup with no sugar
  • Vanilla syrup with no sugar
  • Dark chocolate syrup
  • Toasted marshmallow syrup

Marco’s Pizza FAQs

Now, let’s address some frequently asked questions regarding dining vegan at Marco’s Pizza.

Is Vegan Cheese Available At Marco’s Pizza?

Vegan cheese is not available at Marco’s Pizza. You may, however, request your pizza with no cheese. If you’re dedicated, you can always make a vegan cheese by yourself.

Is Marco’s Pizza Sauce Gluten-Free?

Marco’s Pizza Sauce has been certified vegan. Here is the complete list of ingredients:

  • Water
  • Spices such as sugar, salt, fructose, silicon dioxide, and garlic powder
  • Pizza sauce concentrate is made from natural ingredients

Is The Pizza Dough At Marco’s Vegan?

Vegan dough options include Deep Pan Crust, Thick Crust, Thin Crust, Original Crust, Big Square Deal Crust, Lite Crust, and Cauliflower Crust.

The Gluten-Free Crust is the only dubious crust choice. It looks to be vegan as well, however, the allergen information states that it “may include cheese and egg” so you should double-check at your location before ordering. 

Are There Vegan Breadsticks At Marco’s?

Vegan breadsticks are not available at Marco’s Pizza. They are sprinkled using “Roma Seasoning” and parmesan cheese which all incorporate the cheese.

However, you might be able to order vegan Marco’s breadsticks. Many pizza restaurants can serve you vegan “dry breadsticks.”  Ask your area if they’d be prepared to arrange this for you.

Other Popular Pizza Restaurants With Vegan Options

If you are craving a fresh and mouth-watering pizza without promoting the cruelty of the dairy and meat industries, but Marco’s Pizza menu doesn’t appear to suit your vegan tastes, here are some wonderful options.

Uno Pizzeria & Grill

Uno Pizzeria & Grill offers a variety of vegan pizzas, using Beyond Burger Crumbles and  Daiya cheese. A low-carb Zoodles Primavera, vegan Beyond Burger, and a refreshing Walnut Salad and Mixed Berry are also available.

Sarpino’s Pizzeria

This pizza restaurant is noted for its creative toppings and has outlets all across the Midwest and Southeast. Sarpino’s provides an intriguing vegan menu that changes every location, ranging from staples like a Vegan Sausage Calzone to a Vegan Margarita pizza prepared with Beyond Meat Italian sausage and Daiya cheese. Vegan garlic bread, cheesy bread, salads, grilled cheese, kinds of pasta, and other items are also available at various locations.

Papa Murphy’s

Papa Murphy’s, known for its Take ‘N’ Bake pizzas, now provides vegan cheese from Violife on all of its pies. Make your vegan pizza, or go for the Cheese Garden Veggie (dairy-free), which is already vegan.

Toppers Pizza

Toppers Pizza has several vegan alternatives. They offer the following vegan house pizza:

  • Vegan Korean BBQ Chicken with Less Topper
  • Vegan Buffalo Chicken with Less Topper
  • Vegan Tuscano Topper

They offer vegan crusts such as hand-tossed, Tall Boy crusts, as well as thin crusts. Plus, their sauces are all vegan too. Toppings like plant-based tater tots, crispy chicken, and roasted garlic may also be customized.

Pizza Pizza

Pizza Pizza, a Canadian favorite pizza juggernaut, has partnered with Yves Veggie and Field Roast Cuisine to create two new vegan-friendly toppings: pepperoni and chorizo crumble. Pizza Pizza is rapidly growing as a popular pizzeria among vegan Canadians, owing to its whole-grain and vegan classic pizza crusts, as well as scrumptious non-dairy cheese made from Violife that can replace cow’s milk cheese on any of the other pizzas.

Pizza 73

Vegans in Canada are celebrating this week since renowned company Pizza 73 has introduced a slew of new vegan choices to its menu. Animal-free pizzas may now be customized with a new dairy-free cheese, vegan cauliflower crust, and two new vegan protein options: Field Roast spicy sausage crumbles and Yves Veggie Cuisine pepperoni. These delectable new vegan alternatives can be found at all branches of 88 Pizza 73.

Key Takeaways

Marco’s Pizza is a famous pizzeria, but it isn’t for everyone. At the moment, they do not have vegan cheese. They do, however, have a range of alternatives. They offer vegan cinnamon desserts, vegan smoothies, salads, bagels, and other options. You can also make your vegan pizza or pizza bowl by just doing some tweaks to the ingredients. However, these menus vary from different locations so don’t ever forget to double-check with the staff to make sure that you order vegan dishes. 

If Marco’s Pizza can’t still cater to your vegan plate, the good news is that there are many vegan pizza places in the United States to choose from.