Skip to Content

What Are The Vegan Options At On The Border? (Updated Guide)

What Are The Vegan Options At On The Border? (Updated Guide)

The On The Border restaurant chain is a well-known Tex-Mex eatery housing a casual dining experience. With over 150 locations worldwide, this restaurant is famous for serving a plethora of margaritas and fajitas. Moreover, this joint offers a tableside guacamole experience and is aptly named “Guacamole Live.” 

But are there any vegan options at On The Border? The answer would be yes! On The Border serves vegan food with a few options. So, you will get a full-course meal that includes delicious entrees, sides, sauces, and salads!

No matter what you order, it would be best if you reiterated your veganism to the waiters. Why? Because the restaurant focuses on making milk-based dips that you cannot have. 

This article will offer you insight into the vegan dishes at On The Border. In addition, we are giving you tips on how to order a meal at a non-vegan restaurant! 

On The Border – The Journey You Did Not Know

On The Border Mexican Grill And Cantina has been serving Tex-Mex cuisines since 1982. For over 35 years, this restaurant has offered unique and bold infusions of Texas and Mexican food. 

Their menu has the cultivation of various items for vegans and non-vegans alike. Moreover, the restaurant uses mesquite-wood grills for searing their special marinades onto their dishes. Did you know where they got this inspiration from? 

The border between Mexico and Texas houses a dryland of 20 million acres where mesquite trees were abundant. So, the infusion of the mystique flavors became a part of the food they served. 

The restaurant strives to bring generous portions of border-style meals to every American! 

In addition, the restaurant had its first outlet in Dallas, Texas, back in the ’80s. Now, they have gone international and opened an authentic Tex-Mex branch in Seoul, South Korea. 

The secret to their success is the “people first” approach. Therefore, when the world was adapting to this lifestyle, they started implementing vegan menus. 

You will be taken aback by the generous and remarkable atmosphere at On The Border. You will have your vegan dishes along with music and a vibrant ambiance! 

The Vegan Options At On The Border

As mentioned earlier, there are a few vegan options at On The Border. Even though they do not serve a special menu, you can have delicious Tex-Mex cuisines without worrying about anything! 

In today’s time, most Mexican restaurants have introduced vegan food to their menu. However, On The Border’s vegan options are diverse and are transparent about the cooking process. 

The restaurant itself serves meat or fish and uses animal by-products as their sides. So, most of their recipes have non-vegan items. While making vegan food for you, the oil might be the same as their oil for frying meat products. 

Hence, your food might come in contact with non-vegan ingredients. 

Most of their menu items have options like gluten-free and vegetarian. From there, you can customize them to be vegan! 

Apart from that, the use of cheese in their sides might make it hard for you to choose. Regardless of these limitations, you will have a delicious cuisine inspired by the flavors of Texas and Mexico! 

So, what are the vegan options at On The Border that you can indulge in? 

The Starters 

Even though these starters are mentioned as vegetarian, vegans can also indulge in them! You have to ask the waiter not to serve them with any type of animal by-products like cheese. 

  • Guac/Queso duo 
  • Guacamole 
  • Fried pickled jalapenos 
  • Chips and salsa 

You can veganize your meal and treat your taste buds to delectable Tex-Mex food. 

The Entrees 

Unfortunately, not all outlets will serve the following menu items. Moreover, as mentioned before, these are not entirely vegan. You have to ask the waiters to replace the cheese from these items. 

  • Fried portobello mushroom tacos  
  • Sweet potato and corn flautas 
  • Large house salad (without the chicken dressing)
  • Guacamole quesadillas 
  • Portobello mushroom and vegetable fajitas 
  • Vegan burrito 
  • Spicy avocado enchilada 
  • Spinach and mushroom enchilada 
  • Fajita salad 
  • Veggie quesadilla 
  • Grilled portobello 

You can specify that you are a vegan and do not want any dairy products in your food. Moreover, every dish will have a side of sauteed veggies or black beans (without cheese) and cilantro lime rice. Both of which are vegan. 

The Other Vegan Options At On The Border

All the items mentioned are from the vegetarian menu. So, what are the other true vegan options at the restaurant? 

  • French fries 
  • Pico de gallo 
  • Live and regular guacamole 
  • Grilled vegetables 

Apart from serving great starters and entrees, what other items are On The Border famous for? Well, their signature house sauces! And, guess what? They offer vegan ones as well. 

These special sauces are complimentary, so you can have them as much as you want: 

  • Red and green tomatillo sauce 
  • Nortena sauce 
  • Citrus garlic sauce 
  • Fat-free mango citrus vinaigrette
  • Smoked jalapeno vinaigrette 

Other than ordering everything separately, you can ask for the “make your combo” meal. Therefore, you can customize the food as much as you want without dealing with each dish on its own. You can ask for vegetables along with some tortillas and beans or rice. 

The Drinks 

On The Border has a vast menu filled with margaritas and cocktails. 

You can indulge in these beverages by asking the bartender to add sugar instead of honey. Moreover, you can let them know that you are a vegan so that they can make your drink accordingly. 

Some vegans consider the Skinny Margarita to be their favorite vegan drink at On The Border.

Other than that, you can order aerated drinks like Coco-Cola. They also serve vegan lemonades and iced tea! 

Things To Eliminate From Your Meal At On The Border

As mentioned earlier, you need to modify the vegetarian meals to suit your vegan diet. Here are the animal-based ingredients that you need to get rid of. 

  • Queso fresco 
  • Sour cream 
  • Jack cheese 
  • Ranchero 
  • Honey for the drinks 

Removing or replacing these animal-based items will ensure that your dish is 100% vegan! 

The vegan options are limited but available. With a little bit of customization and modification, you can make all the vegetarian dishes vegan. Moreover, there are a few stand-alone vegan dishes that you can try. 

So, if you go in with your friends, you do not have to worry about being on an empty stomach. 

You need to know the tricks of ordering vegan food at any eatery! 

How To Order Vegan Food At Any Restaurant? 

With small towns in the US turning vegan, some eateries are introducing a vegan menu to keep up with the lifestyle change. 

The vegan demographic is slowly but surely rising as people are getting aware. Moreover, there are many reasons for people to go vegan – one being to help the animals. Veganism can keep you and the environment healthy. 

There are over 600,000 restaurants in the US. However, only 1,474 are exclusively vegan. Yet, around 24,000 of those restaurants are vegan-friendly or vegetarian. 

So, how do you order vegan food in a restaurant that serves meat? 

Look At Their Online Menu

Before visiting any restaurant, doing some research on their menu will be ideal. This way, you can get an idea about the type of food they serve. 

Moreover, you will get to know about the types of vegetarian options they serve. 

With knowledge about their menu, you can ask for customizations. In case you fail to find any veggie options, you can refrain from going to that restaurant. 

Talk To The Service Professional 

Nothing can be better than letting the restaurant personnel know about your dietary requirements.  

It would be best to either let them know before visiting the restaurant or while ordering. Either way, this will allow them to serve you better without any animal by-product contamination. 

In addition, instead of blaming them for not having a vegan menu, ask them to customize your meal accordingly. 

Modify Your Meal

Any restaurant you go to will have the option to change a few non-vegan ingredients in the food. While ordering from the vegetarian menu, you can ask them to replace the cheese with a vegan-friendly dip. However, in some cases, they might not have an alternative to that. 

Side dishes can be your savior. So, adding some veggies to the food you order can be a great option. 

It might not be a good idea to have too many expectations from meals at a non-vegan restaurant. 

Summing Up 

Yes! There are a variety of vegan options at On The Border. However, most of them are vegetarian food and will require proper modification. 

So, instead of getting the cheese, you can ask for the guacamole. 

Nonetheless, you can have a hearty meal at On The Border, whether along with or without your friends. Indulging in the vegan Tex-Mex dishes will offer you a unique and delectable taste. Most of these restaurants serve meat, and it might contaminate your vegan food. So, refrain from being shy or rude around the staff and reiterate what you want your food to have and not have!