Skip to Content

What Are the Vegan Options at Sheetz? (Updated Guide)

What Are the Vegan Options at Sheetz? (Updated Guide)

Calling all the vegans! Calling all the Sheetz Freakz! Calling all vegan Sheetz Freakz! If you’ve ever gone on a road trip before, you must have passed by a Sheetz store before. If you’re reading this article, you’re probably hungry and trying to find the vegan options at Sheetz. 

Well, if you spot a Sheetz, you can safely pull over for a quick shop because the vegan options here are plentiful! 

Sheetz is one of the largest chains of convenience stores in the United States, to give you a quick gist. So, if you’re curious to know about the vegan-friendly options at your nearest Sheetz, keep reading, folks!

What Is Sheetz?

Sheetz is a popular name in the northwestern side of the States. So, if you’re from outside this area, you may be a little lost. As mentioned earlier, Sheetz is one of the biggest convenience stores in the United States of America.

The store was initially founded in 1952 by Mr. G Robert Sheetz (lovingly called “Bob”). His vision eventually became a reality when he purchased one of his father’s stores in Altoona. Initially, he had hired his brother, Steve, to help him around the store. 

In the year 1963, Bob opened a second store, and this was named “Sheetz Kwik Shopper.” It was followed by the launch and opening of a third store in the year 1968. That only kept expanding for the brothers, and by 1983 they had managed to open 100 stores!

So, as you can see, the store managed to grow rapidly, and over the years, they have worked to create a trustworthy name for themselves. 

Are There Vegan Options at Sheetz?

Since its origin way back in 1952, the small shop has become one of America’s most trusted chains of convenience stores. In fact, they now have expanded to about 100 stores that cater to many different people. 

With such huge growth and development, Sheetz understands that everyone follows a different lifestyle. And when it comes to veganism, a study showed that nearly 9.6 Americans had adopted the vegan lifestyle. 

So, they consider this factor in catering to more people, and they do offer a wide range of vegan options for all our vegan readers and friends out there.

So, let’s explore this range of vegan options and enlighten our herbivorous friends.

House Recipe Salad

A simple salad can go a long way. And that’s precisely what the house recipe salad is all about! In this salad, you’ll find delicious ingredients like sliced tomatoes, red onions, cucumbers, lettuce, and so on. 

You can also customize this delicious salad by adding a few vegan toppings. At Sheetz, you can find:

  • Red wine vinegar
  • French dressing (fat-free)
  • Italian dressing (fat-free)
  • Olive oil

Additionally, you can also add other toppings like caramelized onions, slices of apples, crispy croutons, black olives, fiery peppers, delicious fruit blends, and so on. Jalapeno peppers, Mexican black beans, guacamole, salsa, nuts, red onions, tortilla chips, etc., are excellent topping options to boost your salad!

No Cheese Beyond Burger

People, especially vegans, have really shown a craze towards the Beyond Burger. It is because all the ingredients in this burger (including the bun) are vegan-friendly. Notably, the bun is also free of gluten!

And the best part about this is that the burger comes with flavor. So, when Sheetz included the Beyond Burger on the vegan menu in December 2019, everyone was excited!

It made Sheetz the first gas station to sell the Beyond Burger! However, the burger is only vegan if you ask for it with no cheese. 

Classic Burritos

America is a big fan of any wrapped food, and the classic burrito is almost everyone’s favorite. Keep in mind that you will need to ask for an “MTO burger” at Sheetz. If you’re a vegan, this will allow you to customize your burrito and make it vegan-friendly. 

These are the typical ingredients that go into a vegan burrito at Sheetz:

  • Flour tortilla (12 inches long)
  • Vegetables include caramelized onions, black olives, fiery peppers, tomatoes, guacamole, lettuce, jalapeno peppers, etc. 
  • Mexican black beans with rice
  • An option of eliminating the “protein”

No Cheese Garden of Eatin’ Sandwich

It is somewhat similar to the usual vegetable sandwich you can find at Sheetz. However, this sandwich contains ingredients like pepper jack cheese and cream cheese that are derived from animals. 

So, if you’re a vegan craving a good sandwich, you can opt for the Garden of Eatin’ Sandwich. Just keep in mind to ask for this without the animal-based ingredients before you place your order. 

Once you receive your vegan-friendly sandwich, you will notice that it comes with ingredients like cucumbers, lettuce, slices of tomato, red onions, caramelized onions, and so on.

If you order the sandwich version of this, the bread will be multigrain ciabatta bread. However, if you’ve ordered the sub-version, your bread will be a multigrain sub roll. Don’t worry because both of these are vegan-friendly and do not contain animal ingredients. 

If you are not a big fan of multigrain bread, you can always ask for the following types of vegan-friendly bread instead.

  • The sub roll is made of herbs
  • Sub roll (multigrain)
  • The sub roll is made of 9-grain bread

While these are vegan-friendly options, you need to stay alert for the types of bread that are not vegan. 

  • White sub roll (non-vegan ingredient is milk)
  • Flatbread (non-vegan ingredient is milk)
  • Honey wheat sub roll (non-vegan ingredient is milk and honey)
  • Pretzel sub roll (non-vegan ingredient is butter and milk)


Usually, in most cases, pretzels are vegan-friendly. They contain plant-based ingredients, and they are a simple, salted snack. However, walking down the pretzel aisle at Sheetz, you will notice that most of these pretzels are flavored!

So, how will you spot the vegan-friendly ones? We’re here to help. 

At Sheetz, you have only three vegan-friendly options for pretzels. 

  • The classic salted pretzel
  • The simple unsalted pretzel
  • The tasty cinnamon sugar pretzel

If you look at a few of the ingredients in these particular flavors, you’ll notice that they have a “butter flavor.” But do not fret! While this might initially scare a vegan, these are only artificial flavors. 

They do not contain animal-based ingredients, so you can enjoy your pretzel without worrying about it!


Commonly known as French Fries, this is another snack that America loves! Everyone enjoys this, and the reason is apparent. It is fried potato and salt. What’s not there to love about this?

At Sheetz, you can order three different types of Fryz that are vegan-friendly. 

  • Classy fryz
  • The tasty sweet potato fryz
  • The funky curly fryz

And don’t worry about the seasoning, either. It is vegan-friendly as well. 

Keep in mind that most French fries cooked at Sheetz are cooked in the same fryers used for frying meat products. Interestingly, plenty of vegans decide to let this slide. However, if you are uncomfortable with it, you can always contact a Sheetz employee and sort this out. 

Mexican Black Beans & Rice

This dish is trendy at Sheetz because it packs a lot of flavors but is also vegan-friendly. The major ingredients in this include:

  • Long-grain white rice
  • White vinegar
  • Salt
  • Cilantro
  • Cooked black beans
  • Green poblano peppers
  • Lime juice
  • Onion powder
  • Garlic powder
  • Extra virgin olive oil

Hashbrowns and Tater Totz

If you want to grab a quick 5-minute meal/snack, these vegan-friendly hashbrowns will surprise you. The major ingredients here included a couple of potatoes cooked in vegetable oil. 

Tater Totz is also another great option available at Sheetz. They contain the same ingredients as the hashbrowns and taste just as good too. 

However, there may be a problem of cross-contamination that might occur if the fryer is used for cooking meat products. 

Toast, Bread, and Bagel

There are several options for vegan-friendly bread that are available at Sheetz. So, if you’re craving something loaded with carbs, you can always pick these up!

  • The classic plain bagel
  • The stunning everything bagel
  • The nutritious multigrain ciabatta bread
  • The tasty sourdough bread
  • The nutrient-rich multigrain sub roll
  • The yummy small pretzel roll
  • The delicious 12-inch flour tortilla

Fresh, Delicious Fruits

Almost every convenience store has this, and Sheetz is no different as well. At Sheetz, you can find all the common varieties of fresh fruits. So, if you’re hesitant to pick up processed vegan food, fruits are your safest bet!

What Are the Vegan Sauces and Condiments at Sheetz?

The following list contains all the sauces and condiments that are vegan-friendly. You can find and pick them up at your nearest Sheetz store. 

  • Habanero sauce
  • Marinara sauce
  • BBQ sauce
  • Ketchup
  • The taco sauce packet
  • Garlic old bay wing sauce
  • Nashville hot sauce
  • The Texas Pete hot sauce packet
  • Grape jelly
  • French dressing (fat-free)
  • Italian dressing (fat-free)
  • Red wine vinegar
  • Olive oil

Are There Any Risks of Cross-Contamination With Any of These Options?

No, for most of these options, there is no risk of cross-contamination anywhere. 

The problem lies with fried foods. The cooks might often use the same fryer for cooking meat and hashbrowns. 

In most cases, vegans don’t find this to be a problem. But if this concerns you, you can speak to an employee at Sheetz and sort out the issue. 

Final Words

And that’s all, folks! There you have it—the ten vegan options at Sheetz

Sheetz is a large chain of convenience stores in America. With their growing popularity, it is no surprise that they have various vegan options. 

So, next time you’re out on the road, and you’re hungry for a vegan snack, drop into the Sheetz store. You’ll find all your favorite vegan food and more!