Skip to Content

What Are The Vegan Options At The Honey Baked Ham Co.? (Updated Guide)

What Are The Vegan Options At The Honey Baked Ham Co.? (Updated Guide)

A food retailer, The Honey Baked Ham Company, sells delicious desserts, hams, cooked entree, turkey breasts, and side dishes. The restaurant was founded in Detroit, Michigan, in 1957. The Honey Baked Ham Company is headquartered in Alpharetta, Georgia. 

Unfortunately, the Honey Baked Ham Company is a not vegan-friendly restaurant. 

Since The Honey Baked Ham Company is a non-vegan restaurant, vegans will find it tough to have a vegan-friendly meal at the eatery. 

Let’s shed some light on the story of this restaurant. 

The Honey Baked Ham Co. – The Story

Harry J. Hoenselaar opened the first Honey Baked restaurant in 1957 in Detroit, Michigan. Hoenselaar believed in an idea, which is why his restaurant produces the most delicious ham in the world.

The Honey Baked Ham Co. uses the highest quality bone in-smoked ham, and it goes through a unique cooking and curing procedure. This procedure brings out a special flavor in the ham. 

The crunchy and sweet glaze increases the flavor of the ham, and the patented spiral slicing procedure has made The Honey Baked Ham Company a go-to place for Easter celebrations and holiday dinners. 

Several years after the restaurant was founded, it is still owned by the Hoenselaar family. Along with the irresistible ham, the restaurant also produces other mouthwatering dishes such as:

  • Desserts
  • Homemade Side Dishes
  • Classic Roasted Turkeys

The restaurant proudly stands behind its customers and products. 

Early Years

Harry J. Hoenselaar designed a prototype for the first-ever spiral slicing machine in 1936. Eight years later, in 1944, Harry filed for the machine’s patent. In 1957, Harry opened the first-ever Honey Baked restaurant. 


The children of Harry J. Hoenselaar expanded their father’s restaurant and created a brand. While the Honselaar family still owns The Honey Baked Ham Company, it has more than 400 outlets in over forty states and serves food online. 

The Future

Sixty years after Harry opened the first Honey Baked restaurant, the eatery entered a new era. While the restaurant still honors its past and heritage, the Hoenselaar family elevates the customer experience and tries menu innovations. 

What’s Vegan At The Honey Baked Ham Co.?

Salads (No Meat And Dairy)

Ham Salad

  • Freshly Made Salad
  • Multi-Grain Bread
  • Duke’s Mayonnaise
  • Lettuce
  • Tomato

Chicken Salad

  • Freshly Made Salad
  • Flaky Croissant
  • Lettuce
  • Tomato

Roasted Tomato And Cheddar

  • Duke’s Mayonnaise
  • Ciabatta
  • Pickled Onions
  • Roasted Tomato
  • Lettuce
  • Shredded Cheddar

Cobb Salad (Order Without Croutons)

  • Blend Of Spring And Green Leaf Mix
  • Cornbread Croutons
  • Pickled Red Onions
  • Hard-Boiled Eggs
  • Bacon
  • Honey Baked Ham
  • Roasted Tomatoes
  • Cheddar Cheese

Garden Salad

  • Shredded Cheddar
  • Sliced Tomato
  • Spring and Green Leaf Mix

Sides (No Meat And Dairy)

  • Broccoli Bliss
  • Smashed Potato Salads

Is Bread At The Honey Baked Ham Co. Vegan?

Unfortunately, we cannot say whether the bread at the restaurant is non-vegan or vegan. The restaurant has not shared information about the ingredients of their bread. 

Before you order a dish with bread, inquire about the ingredients.

Should The Honey Baked Ham Co. Add Vegan Items To The Menu?

The restaurant, unfortunately, has no vegan items on the menu. Even the salads on the menu have meat and dairy ingredients, so vegans will need to customize them before placing an order.

Since The Honey Baked Ham Co. is a non-vegan restaurant, it is understandable that they don’t have vegan-friendly items on the menu. Nonetheless, the restaurant should consider adding vegan items or introducing an exclusively vegan menu.

Here are a few suggestions for The Honey Baked Ham Company:

Introduce More Veggie Dishes

The Honey Baked Ham Company can attract vegan dieters by introducing veggie dishes. The only items on the menu that can be considered vegetarian are salads, and the restaurant needs to introduce more vegetable-based items so that vegans can order them. 

Try To Accommodate Vegan Dieters

Vegans are also customers, and no restaurant likes to turn away its customers. While vegans might have a few requirements, the restaurant should still accommodate them and fulfill their needs.

However, if the restaurant cannot fulfill those requirements, they should politely inform the vegans.

Check The Cooking Method

Unfortunately, while the components of a particular dish might be vegan, the cooking method might not be. The restaurant should ensure that vegan and non-vegan food is cooked separately.

If possible, the chef should keep separate pots and pans for vegan food to remain 100 % authentic.


In this article, we discussed the menu of The Honey Baked Ham Company. Unfortunately, since this is a non-vegan restaurant, there is nothing vegan on the menu.

However, you can still order salads and sides. This guide also contains several tips for vegan dieters who might end up at the restaurant.