We all want to have a bite, maybe more of one of Fiber One Bars or any of its products, but considering a vegan diet, you will have to check what they contain. The food manufacturer offers a plethora of tempting bars, cookies, bread, pudding, and baking products. What makes the company more interesting is that each of its products makes sure that one can’t go wrong, but here’s why vegans should check more of it.
Fiber One Bars are a great source of fiber, which keeps your digestive system healthy. One of its major ingredients is whole grain oats, which helps reduce the risk of heart diseases and strokes. However, it also contains milk, which is animal-sourced, and it certainly is not vegan-friendly.
As a vegan, it can be difficult to just eat something without checking its ingredients and how it leaves an impact on the environment. It’s not just about breakfast, lunch, or dinner, but it’s also about having a healthy snack at any time of the day. Fiber One Bars, for example, are a great selection, but since they’re not vegan-friendly, we will provide you with its in-depth analysis and other vegan alternatives.
What Are Fiber One Bars?
Fiber One Bars, also known as Chewy Granola Bars, are rectangular-shaped with a mixture of whole grain oats, corn syrup, chicory root extract, and a lot more. With its delightful and healthy ingredients, there’s no doubt that consumers would want to make it part of their diet. Fiber One Bars offer different flavors such as plain Chocolate, Oats & Chocolate, Chocolate Peanut Butter, and Chocolate Caramel & Pretzel.
The company prides itself in producing products that are of huge help to those who are starting a healthy lifestyle. However, Fiber One Bars aren’t vegan-friendly due to one of its major ingredients, milk. Any food that contains animal byproducts defeats the purpose of veganism.
Milk, for example, comes from mammals that can produce mammary glands, which is clearly not suitable for vegans. Fiber One Bars ingredients show that there is milk in it, although it doesn’t say if it’s made from plants like rice, soy, oats, flax, cashew, among others. So, it’s safe to say that Fiber One Bars are not vegan.
How Are Fiber One Bars Made?
With the right ingredients, you can make Fiber One Bars that are even similar to the company’s product. There are so many options that you can try, including non-baked bars using Fiber One original bran cereal. It’s easy and quick to make that will remind you that happiness is homemade.
The best vegan milk alternative to make Fiber One Bars is soy milk. It adds extra creaminess to the mixture whether you’re making non-baked or baked bars. Fiber One Bars are only a mixture of original bran cereal, creamy peanut butter, apricots, milk, and almonds drizzled with honey. For vegans who want to try it at home, get soy milk and maple syrup or blackstrap molasses in replacement of honey.
How Healthy Are Fiber One Bars?
The ingredients used on Fiber One Bars are reasonably healthy. These chewy granola bars offer a 35% daily value of fiber per serving, and only 140 calories per bar. Fiber, most of all, keeps your digestive system on the right track. Each bar contains 9 g of fiber that the company tags as “On-the-go healthy snack.”
The fiber in these bars comes from chicory root, bran, and oats. According to experts, adults should have at least 22 to 34 g of fiber as a daily intake, which is based on gender and age. So, eating at least three to four Fiber One Bars a day should be fine considering that each one contains only 9 g of fiber.
The carbs, protein, and calories that Fiber One Bars offer also come from healthy ingredients, which makes it safe for everyone. The only downside is that they might contain a large amount of added sugar, which can increase the risk of diabetes and cardiovascular problems. Corn Syrup, for example, is a form of added sugar, which is present in Fiber One Bars.
Best Vegan Bar Options
Since we have found out that Fiber One Bars are not vegan-friendly despite their healthy ingredients, here are the best alternatives that we think are great for veganism. It’s worthy to note that some of these are predominantly, and accidentally vegan. This means they were not intended for vegans, but it just happens that their ingredients are plain plant-based.
- Clif Bars. The company’s website reads that all of their products are mostly or accidentally vegan, including their bars except the Peanut Butter & Honey w/ Sea Salt. Made with brown rice syrup, rolled oats, soy protein, cane sugar, soy flour, rice flour, oat fiber, sunflower oil, and sea salt, Clif Bars can be your go-to healthy snack bar!
- Cascadian Farm Organic’s Peanut Butter Crunchy Granola Bar. If you’re looking for that chewy goodness and nutty crunch, try this organic granola bar. It contains no synthetic pesticides, non-GMO, no artificial colors or flavors, and is Climate Pledge Friendly. Yes, it doesn’t slaughter animals.
- Kashi Bars. The company is proud of its vegan bars such as GOLEAN Nutty Layered Bars, Chewy Granola Bars, Crunchy Granola & Seed Bars, Chewy Nut Butter Bars, and GOLEAN Plant-Powered Bars. They’ve been at it for over 35 years and have been promoting ethical farming practices, and sustainability. I’m rooting for this!
- Annie’s Organic Chewy Granola Bars. Its Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip and Oatmeal Raisin are perfect for vegans. It’s also kid-friendly, has no synthetic preservatives or colors, is eco-friendly, and has no high-fructose corn syrup. Only made with wellness.
- GoMacro MacroBar. Their Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip macrobar contains plant-based protein, gluten-free, certified organic and vegan, and eco-friendly. What more can you ask for?
- LӒRABAR Original Fruit & Nut Bars. The company ensures its ingredients are organic and vegan. Their bars are a good source of fiber, gluten-free, non-GMO, soy-free, dairy-free, and no added sugar.
- Nature Valley Peanut Butter Crunchy Granola Bars. Made with whole grain rolled oats, real peanut butter, and crisp rise, Nature Valley’s granola bars are definitely giving you that crunchy bliss. They’re all-natural, with no preservatives or artificial sweeteners. Yes, it’s vegan!
- LUNA Bars by CLIF Bars. Yes, they’re relatives, okay? And they give you another hit that’s vegan. LUNA Bars come with 12 tempting and satisfying flavors. They’re gluten-free, with no high fructose corn syrup or artificial flavors. They’re plain plant-based.
- NuGo Bars. Chocolates. We all love that, and NuGo didn’t disappoint with these all-natural chocolate-coated bars. They’re high in protein, gluten-free, non-GMO, and they come with six crave-able flavors too. It’s a dream come true, right?
- SimplyProtein Bars. Here’s another plant-based protein bar with a light and crispy texture. The company advertised their bars as “a healthy snack for busy people.” They’re made with low calories, non-GMO, gluten-free, preservative-free, and certified vegan.
- PROBAR Meal. The ingredients are sustainably sourced, gluten-free, non-GMO, and the proteins are plant-based. It’s heavy enough to fill you up for a whole meal with its 20 g of plant protein and 200 calories per bar.
- ALOHA Bars. Made with 100% organic cashew butter, brown rice protein, organic chocolate chip cookie dough, and no artificial preservatives. ALOHA bars are seriously vegan, Certified USDA Organic, and Climate Pledge Friendly.
- SHANTI BALANCE Bars. Here’s another Climate Pledge Friendly brand that was founded by chefs and fitness enthusiasts who made sure the bars are organic, vegan, gluten-free, 100% plant-based, Kosher, and non-GMO. Rejoice!
- Misfits Vegan Protein Bars. These are 100% all-natural that were made with plant-based ingredients, dairy and gluten-free. Yes, they’re chocolate-coated protein bars, and guilt-free too.
- Orgain Organic Plant-Based Protein Bar. If you’re vegan and environmentally conscious, Orgain bars can be your best friend. The company made sure the bars are Climate Pledge Friendly, and vegan. Made with three major ingredients like brown rice, pea, and chia seeds, these are bars great for adults and kids.
- Lenny & Larry’s. Here’s another convenient snack bar that contains 12 g of plant-based proteins and 5 g of fiber. The bars were made small, but 12 g of proteins in each of them are definitely enough for a snack. Yes, it’s tempting and crave-able!
- No Cow Protein Bars. No slaughtered cows. Rejoice! These are eco-friendly, certified gluten-free, and GMO-free, made with brown rice and pea protein, which means they’re a great source of amino acids. Yes, they’re lactose-free too.
The Bottom Line
Fiber One Bars are as healthy as we imagined them to be. They may have added sugar, but we know that eating, when done in moderation, is still acceptable. The only downside with these bars is that they contain milk, which is not suitable for vegans.
On the plus side, we collected plenty of vegan products that we think are best as Fiber One Bars alternatives. These can serve as your guide as soon as you decide to make bars part of your vegan diet. Just make sure to check the ingredients in each box, especially when you are environmentally conscious. After all, that’s what vegans have been aiming for too, right?