Can Vegans Eat Liquorice Allsorts
/ / Can Vegans Eat Liquorice Allsorts?

Can Vegans Eat Liquorice Allsorts?

Answer: No, Liquorice Allsorts is not vegan, but there are alternatives.

Are you wondering whether Liquorice Allsorts is vegan or not? Sadly, the answer is no. 

Keep reading to know exactly how.

More on Liquorice Allsorts for Vegans

The production of Liquorice Allsorts started in England by Geo. Bassett & Co Ltd, in 1899. These popular British candies are firm, bright-colored candies with a wide variety of appearances. Thus, it gets the ‘allsorts’ name. 

The list of ingredients that go into making these treats are:

  • Cane Molasses
  • Desiccated Coconut
  • Palm Oil
  • Glycerol
  • Glazing Agent (beeswax)
  • Wheat flour
  • Glucose Syrup
  • Beef gelatine
  • Corn Starch
  • Natural colors (beetroot red, plain caramel, paprika, curcumin)
  • Fat reduced cocoa powder
  • Liquorice extract
  • Natural flavorings (lemon, aniseed, vanilla, raspberry, vanilla, orange)
  • Fruits and vegetable juices for coloring

Looking at the ingredients, you will find that Liquorice Allsorts is made with non-vegan ingredients like beeswax and gelatin. So, do you really have to give up liquorice allsorts? Not necessarily, because you can always go for alternative brands to enjoy all the benefits of liquorice!

Some Controversial Vegan Ingredients

Before delving into the alternatives of Liquorice Allsorts, let’s take a look at some of the vegan ingredients that may stir a controversy. They are:

  • Sugar

What’s candy without sugar, right? Well, as the vegan community increases, more people are becoming concerned about the processing of sugar. And it’s rightly so because of the addition of bone char into refined caned sugar for achieving the pure white color. Of course, the sugar itself is vegan, but not the processing method. 

  • Palm Oil and Palm Fat

The next controversial ingredient is palm oil. And no, that’s not because it’s animal-derived. However, it’s because of the fact that its cultivation has devastating environmental impacts, thus causing harm to several animals.

  • Colors

There are some food colors as well that are controversial when it comes to the vegan community. And that’s because these food colors are tested on animals. For instance, carmine gets its red color from crushed up bugs.

  • Natural and Artificial Flavorings

Most natural flavors come from plant or animal sources. However, the natural flavors in candies are almost always from plant sources. In case its origin is from animals, it will be highlighted.

Vegan Alternatives for Liquorice Allsorts

Your search for an alternative vegan Liquorice Allsorts ends here! Listed below are some of them: 

Twizzlers

This candy company is an excellent vegan choice for you that can replace Liquorice Allsorts. You will find that there are plenty of vegan Twizzler products. These include-

  • Twizzlers Nibs Cherry Candy
  • Twizzlers Cherry Candy
  • Twizzlers Chocolate Candy
  • Twizzlers Strawberry Candy
  • Twizzlers Pull-N-Peel Cherry Candy
  • Twizzlers Licorice Candy
  • Twizzlers Bites Cherry Candy

All do these products are free from ingredients and processing methods that are animal-derived. However, the list of ingredients may change at times. Therefore, it is highly recommendable that you check the ingredients label before you purchase them.

You can always buy Twizzlers products online from sites like Amazon

Red Vines 

Next on this list are vegan candies from Red Vines. The ingredients that go into making Red Vines products include-

  • Corn syrup
  • Licorice extract
  • Anise flavor
  • Citric acid
  • Wheat flour
  • Molasses
  • Artificial flavor
  • Caramel coloring
  • Red 40

As you can see, all the ingredients above are vegan-friendly. So, you don’t need to fear and choose any and every Red Vines candy for your sugar cravings. Again, make sure to go through the packaging to be on the safe side. 

You can find Red Vines at all major grocery stores. You can also buy them online through Amazon.

Wiley Wallaby​

Another vegan brand you can get your hands on is Wiley Wallaby liquorice. The ingredients include:

  • Sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Enriched wheat flour (wheat, niacin, riboflavin, thiamin, iron, and folic acid)
  • Modified food starch (corn)
  • Soy
  • Mono and diglycerides
  • Palm oil
  • Citric acid
  • Potassium sorbate (preservative)
  • Water
  • Cane syrup
  • Natural and artificial flavor
  • Malic acid
  • Soy
  • Sodium citrate
  • Salt
  • Red 40

So, yes, Wiley Wallaby’s liquorice is vegan. The manufacturers also make sure to use sustainable palm oil, so you don’t have to worry about anything! You can check some of their amazing liquorice products by checking out Amazon

Similar Posts