Are Harvest Snaps Vegan

Are Harvest Snaps Vegan? Can Vegans Eat Harvest Snaps?

Answer: No. Crayola crayons are not vegan as they are produced using stearic acid.

No

Every year there are more and more people who start to commit to a healthier lifestyle. When they decide to go healthy, the vegan diet comes into play. Veganism has recently expanded rapidly in terms of popularity all over the world. 

With its increasing popularity, the food and beverage industries have worked to keep up with them. Most of the food products contain animal-based ingredients in them. However, manufacturers have now found vegan-friendly alternatives derived from plant sources. 

That being said, a majority of food and beverage products on our market are still not vegan-friendly. Mothers who are trying to introduce veganism to their children often struggle because of the lack of variety. 

Harvest Snaps are one of the most well-known snacks in America today. But the question on a vegan’s mind is this – Are Harvest Snaps vegan?

Although Harvest Snaps claim their products to be entirely vegetarian, they are not vegan. Hence, they are partially vegan. 

Let’s try and understand what Harvest Snaps are, how they are beneficial, which flavors are vegan and which are not. 

What Are Harvest Snaps?

Harvest Snaps are a trendy healthy snack. The primary ingredient of this delicious crispy is made of either green peas, black beans, or red lentils. This is also a baked snack, so there are no added oils of any sort. 

They come in 9 delicious flavors, which makes it a perfect healthy snack for everyone. And there’s no doubt your kid will love them. 

If you’re curious about the flavors, we’ve listed them down for you. 

  • Lightly Salted 
  • Tomato Basil
  • Caesar
  • Wasabi Ranch
  • Mango Chile Lime
  • Parmesan Roasted Garlic
  • White Cheddar
  • Black Pepper
  • Southern Style Barbeque

What Are The Common Ingredients In Harvest Snaps?

The ingredients for each flavor of Harvest Snaps vary. However, we’ve put together a list of the essential common ingredients. 

  • Green peas
  • Vitamin C
  • Rice
  • Canola oil
  • Calcium carbonate
  • Black pepper

As you can see, most of these ingredients are derived from plant origins. The ingredients behind the flavor of these Harvest Snaps are usually where the problem lies. 

To understand this better, let’s quickly break down the components that go into the black pepper seasoning. 

  • Maltodextrin
  • Spices (including sugar, salt, and spice)
  • Added flavoring powders (including onion, mushroom, and garlic powders)
  • An extract of yeast
  • Vinegar powders
  • Some citric acids
  • Added natural flavorings

Again, most of these components are derived from plant-based origins and are very vegan-friendly. The problem lies with the sugars and the added natural flavorings.

Sugars

Usually, white sugar is said to be an enemy for vegans. This is because the white color that sugar has is obtained from bone char. And bone char is something derived from animal sources. 

This may or may not be vegan, depending on your perception, views, and opinions about it. 

Added Natural Flavorings

Normally, when you see a food that has added flavorings, it usually means that at least one element has been derived from animal sources. 

However, when Harvest Snaps was first introduced in the market, the company assured its users that it is an all-vegetarian snack. 

Risk Of Cross-Contamination

Cross-contamination is the transfer of bacteria from one place/person to another. In this context, cross-contamination means the transfer of ingredients from one food to another.

As mentioned earlier, not all flavors are vegan-friendly. Some of the flavors contain ingredients like sugar, extra additives, or even milk. These ingredients are all derived from animal sources which make them unsuitable for vegans. 

All the flavors are processed through the same packaging line. Because of this, there is a risk of cross-contamination. Ingredients like milk can easily be added to a flavor that is otherwise very vegan-friendly.

Again, this depends on your perception, opinions, and views as some vegans consume milk and other milk products. However, this can be a cause of concern for those who are lactose intolerant.

Find Out Which Flavors Of Harvest Snap Are Vegan-Friendly 

Harvest Snap manufactures crispy, quick vegetarian snacks that are perfect for those on the go. They come in 9 delicious flavors, and the company claims them all to be made of vegetarian products. 

However, some of these flavors contain ingredients derived from animal sources. It is not easy to identify which of these flavors are vegan-friendly and which aren’t, especially if you are not in the habit of reading labels.

But don’t worry! We’ve done our research to find out which flavors are safe for consumption and which aren’t. So, next time you’re out grocery shopping, you can easily pick the flavor best suited for you.

Vegan-Friendly Harvest Snaps 

  • Lightly Salted
  • Mango Chile Lime 
  • Southern Style Barbeque
  • Tomato Basil
  • Black Pepper

Keep in mind that the flavors mentioned above still have added sugars in them, and the color of the sugar is obtained from bone char (derived from animal sources).

Only purchase these if you are completely okay with this. 

Non-Vegan Harvest Snaps

  • Parmesan Roasted Garlic
  • White Cheddar
  • Caesar
  • Wasabi Ranch

The flavors mentioned above are considered unsuitable for vegans because they contain milk. 

What Are The Benefits Of Consuming Vegan Foods And Snacks?

The benefits of eating vegan-friendly food are plentiful. Take a look at how a plant-based diet could help your body and the environment.

Good Source Of Nutrients

Plants, in general, are rich sources of nutrients. By planning and consuming a well-balanced vegan diet, you can give your body the daily nutrient requirement without harming the animals. 

Some of these foods include whole grains, fruits, vegetables, nuts, pulses, seeds, etc. 

Following a vegan diet can also help you get a good amount of fiber, antioxidants, and specific vitamins and minerals like vitamin A, E, magnesium, potassium, and so on.

Minimizes The Risk Of Certain Diseases

A regular intake of plant-based foods can also help in lowering your risk of developing certain diseases like cancer. This is because a vegan diet consists of foods derived from plants, and these foods have many antioxidants.

Helps Improving Your Mood

Following a diet that is rich in plant-based food can significantly improve your mood. It also boosts your physical appearance and uplifts your overall spirit. 

Helps In Maintaining A Healthy Body Weight

A vegan diet can help you achieve your desired body weight. This is because plant-based foods have much fewer amounts of calories in them.

They also contain less fat when compared to foods derived from animals.

This helps you to maintain healthy body weight and Body Mass Index (BMI).

Helps In The Prevention Of Diabetes

Plant-based foods have lesser amounts of sugar in them. Therefore, when you are in the habit of following a diet entirely derived from plants, it will keep your blood sugar levels in check. 

This can also help you steer clear of weight gain and obesity.

Helps In Maintaining Supple Skin

When you consume a diet rich in fruits and vegetables, the antioxidants present in these foods will help clear up your skin and give you a supple, fresh look. 

Helps You Fight Arthritis

A diet that is rich in plant-based foods can also help you fight arthritis. Some foods that are derived from animal sources have components that further increase the pain in the joints. 

Fermented or pro-biotic plant-based foods can help with reducing the pain and inflammation in the joints. 

Helps The Planet

This is one of the main reasons why people switch to veganism. Meat and other products derived from animals affect both the well-being of the environment and the animals. 

When you switch to veganism, you will be contributing to healing the planet and all its life forms.

Final Verdict

Harvest Snap is a crispy, crunchy, baked snack that is loved and consumed by people of all ages in America. It is probably one of the best vegetarian snacks on the market today. 

When a snack is labeled vegetarian, it does not automatically make it vegan-friendly. Although, it is a good start. Harvest Snap is such a snack. 

For the most part, it is a vegan snack. However, certain flavors contain ingredients like sugar (made with bone char of animals) and milk. 

If you are not in the habit of regularly consuming these, it might be best to avoid certain flavors and pick the others. Either way, they all taste just as amazing! 

Similar Posts