Are Jarritos Vegan

Are Jarritos Vegan? Can Vegans Drink Jarritos?

Answer: No. Crayola crayons are not vegan as they are produced using stearic acid.

No

The rising popularity of veganism has brought about plenty of changes in the food industry. Many foods and beverage manufacturers have come up with alternative ingredients that help boost their sales. 

Jarritos are Mexican soft drinks that are extremely popular in the United States. But are Jarritos vegan?

The answer to that is no, they are not vegan. They are only partially vegan. Most of the ingredients used in making Jarritos are derived from plant origins. However, there are 1 or 2 non-vegan components.

Unlike every other snack, soda beverages have also now started incorporating vegan-friendly ingredients. However, most vegans still find themselves going through the ingredient list of a soft drink in hopes that it is vegan.

This is because not all companies used plant-based ingredients to make soft drinks. Even when the ingredient list has the term “made of natural flavors,” it doesn’t eliminate the possibility of animal derivatives in the drink. 

If you are keen on finding which of these ingredients are vegan and which are not, keep reading!

What Are Jarritos?

Jarritos are Mexican soda beverages.

When compared to other fizzy drinks, Jarritos are somewhat lightly carbonated. They are also said to contain natural rather than processed sugars.

They come in 13 fresh fruity flavors, except one that is similar to Coca-Cola.

Jarritos are often paired with a crisp plate of tacos, making them a perfect Mexican snack.

History Of Jarritos

As mentioned earlier, Jarritos were created in Mexico. They were first released in 1950, and the person behind this excellent soft drink is a chemist by the name of Don Franciso.  

Don loved the idea of creating a carbonated beverage that was all-natural and showed the authentic taste of Mexico. All ingredients, especially the sugar, are made and produced in Mexico. He insisted on not using any corn syrup for any of the flavors of Jarritos.

Don had a great vision for Jarritos – to be seen as the dawn of the nation’s pride. After many rounds of trial and error, the first Jarrito was manufactured on the 29th of August, 1950. 

The first Jarrito was coffee-flavored. However, if you take a look at their flavors today, you’ll find 13 flavors that are all based on fruits: 

  • Mandarin
  • Strawberry
  • Lime
  • Tamarind
  • Guava
  • Grape Fruit
  • Fruit Punch
  • Mxcn Cola
  • Pineapple
  • Jamaica
  • Mango
  • Watermelon
  • Passion Fruit

There is no coffee among these 13 flavors. And that is because this flavor didn’t perform as well as Don expected.

Nutritional Value Of Jarritos

Despite the wide variety of flavors available, almost all Jarritos have a total of 100 calories (in 8 oz).

They contain 0% of fat and 0% of protein. 

Marked As The National Drink

Since its first appearance in the 1950s, the popularity of Jarritos has been spreading very fast. This particular drink is said to carry the taste of Mexico, and it was a beverage that was very close to the heart of all Mexicans. 

In fact, they loved it so much that they decided to declare Jarritos as their national drink!

By the end of 1960, Jarritos was available in most of Mexico’s local stores. Their vibrant soda held in attractive, clear glass bottles made the packaging so much more appealing. 

After a lot of planning, Jarritos finally entered US grounds in the year 1988. Currently, it is one of the most popular drinks in American stores. 

You can find Jarritos also in Germany, Canada, Spain, and Sweden. The most popular flavor is Mandarin. This flavor is so hard to miss when you’re at your local grocery store scanning the cooler.

Are Jarritos Vegan?

Despite the extraordinary popularity of this soft drink, many vegans still have one question in mind.

For the most part, yes. Jarritos are vegan. Most of the ingredients used in the making of this carbonated drink are derived from plant sources. 

That being said, there are 1 or 2 ingredients that may or may not be very vegan-friendly.

  • The emulsifier in this soda might contain fat derived from animals (also known as glycerin or glycerol).
  • Sugars in this soda are mainly derived from plant sources. Although, some of these sugars may be prepared with bone char.

If you are following a rigorous vegan diet, Jarritos may not be suitable for you. However, if you do not adhere to a firm vegan diet, you can definitely enjoy this drink.

Do Jarritos Contain Alcohol?

No, Jarritos do not manufacture beverages with alcohol. All 13 flavors are entirely free of alcohol, and they are purely carbonated drinks. 

Are Jarritos Safe To Consume? 

Jarritos are safe for consumption for people and children of all ages. This is one reason why it is being sold in so many countries, including America, Germany, Spain, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, Australia, and so on.

A good majority of these countries take their food safety and other regulations very seriously. If Jarritos were unsafe for consumption, they would not be made available in these countries.

However, keep in mind the amount of sugar in this drink. The primary source of carbohydrates in this drink is sugar. 

The ideal amount of sugar consumption is 36g every day. Any amount more than this can lead to an increased risk of certain health issues. 

Why Should You Consider Shifting To The Vegan Way Of Life?

Shifting to a plant-based diet can have many benefits that can improve your health. 

Helps In Improving Metabolism

There is a common misconception that a strict vegan diet is low in all the essential vitamins and nutrients. However, that is not true. 

A plant-based diet is rich in fiber, folic acid, vitamin C, vitamin E, magnesium, phytochemicals, and so on. They are also found to contain extremely low amounts of harmful calories, fats, cholesterol, etc.

Since plant-based foods are rich in fiber, you tend to feel full for a more extended period. This will help you avoid overeating or having frequent snacks. This, in turn, will keep you from gaining weight and help prevent obesity.

A vegan diet can also help promote a healthy metabolism cycle and provide you with more energy than animal-based foods. It can also help in effectively controlling type 2 diabetes if you have it. 

Helps In Improving Overall Heart Health

A diet that is rich in plant-based ingredients is also said to improve the health of your heart. Most fruits and vegetables are good sources of antioxidants and certain valuable vitamins.

When you get into the habit of following a vegan diet with fruits and vegetables, it can help in improving the overall health and functioning of your heart. 

It also keeps you safe against cardiac conditions like a heart attack because vegan diets are usually low in unhealthy fats. 

Keeps You Away From Cancer

People who follow a diet that consists of plant-based ingredients are less likely to fall prey to cancer than those who don’t. 

When a person is obese, it makes them more susceptible to cancer. However, since vegan diets are low in fat, you are most likely to stay well within your ideal body weight.

Fruits and vegetables contain antioxidants and phytochemicals that are very effective in shielding the body against cancer-causing agents. 

Certain vitamins like vitamin D are also known to act as a barrier to protect your body from cancerous agents. 

Other Benefits

A vegan-friendly diet can also help in treating illnesses like arthritis, migraines, etc. This is because of the high amounts of antioxidants and phytochemicals that help soothe the pain and reduce any inflammation. 

Additionally, these nutrients can also help to improve mental health. A person who follows a vegan diet has better physical health, which boosts their mental health. 

Summing Up

Jarritos are one of the most beloved soft drinks in America as well as Mexico.

Ever since their creation in 1950 in Mexico, they have spread globally, and they are one of the best soft drinks in the market today. They come in 13 delicious flavors, but the most enjoyed flavor is Mandarin. 

However, they are not entirely vegan. Most of the ingredients are vegan-friendly, but a few elements like the sugars are derived from animal sources. 

If you are someone who follows a vegan diet with a regular intake of sugars, then you can certainly pick it up without any hesitation the next time you’re out shopping.

Similar Posts