Are Torani Syrups Vegan

Are Torani Syrups Vegan? Can Vegans Consume Torani Syrups?

Answer: Some Salt Water Taffy flavors are vegan, while most aren’t.

Depends

Are Torani syrups vegan? The answer is yes, and this article will focus on the vegan syrups that Torani offers.   

Syrups are delicious, and you can pair them with almost all types of foods. These are the queries that will be discussed in this article:

  • Types of vegan-friendly syrups offered by Torani
  • Is maple syrup vegan
  • Benefits of the vegan diet

Not all Torani syrups are vegan-friendly. This article will discuss a list of the best vegan Torani syrups that you can consume.

Vegan-Friendly Torani Syrups

In the Torani allergen chart, the following syrups are listed as dairy-free. These syrups are also shellfish-free, egg-free, fish-free, soy-free, and wheat-free. While there are over 130 syrups, some of them have been mentioned in the list below:

Is Maple Syrup Vegan?

Unfortunately, most types of maple syrup are not vegan as they contain animal products. However, some brands in the market sell organic varieties of maple syrup:

Log Cabin Maple Syrup

  • Light 
  • Sugar-free
  • Original

Mrs. Buttersworth

  • Original
  • Sugar-free
  • Light

Hungry Jack

  • Butter
  • Light
  • Sugar-free
  • Brown sugar
  • Original

Aunt Jemima

  • Sugar-free
  • Original
  • Butter
  • Butter-lite
  • Country rich

H-E-B/Kroger Generic Maple Syrup

  • Sugar-free
  • Original

Great Value (Walmart)

  • Pure maple syrup

Abbie’s Pancake Syrup

  • Classic

Maple Grove Farm Syrup’s

  • Pancake Syrups
  • All Maple Syrups

Butternut Mountain Farm’s Syrup’s

  • All Varieties

Eggo Syrup

  • Original

Kirkland Maple Syrup

  • Original

Wholesome Maple Syrup

  • All Varieties

Why Are Most Maple Syrups Considered Non-Vegan?

While you can point towards the deforestation caused by maple syrup planting, the real reason most maple syrups are not vegan-friendly is that they contain honey. There are other non-vegan, milk-derived ingredients in maple syrups as well.

Other Vegan Syrups

Brown Rice Syrup

Brown rice syrup, also known as rice malt syrup or rice syrup, consists of just two ingredients:

  • Filtered water
  • Brown rice

This syrup is a natural sweetener and is a rice extraction. The brown rice goes through fermentation, which reduces the substance and breaks down the starches until the rice develops a syrup-like texture.

Like other natural sweeteners, you can also add brown rice syrup to coffee and tea. This syrup is a perfect replacement for sugar, and you can eat it along with waffles, pancakes, and oatmeal.

The most popular brand of rice syrup is Lundberg Family Farms. Brown rice syrup has:

  • Calories: 150 (per two servings)
  • Natural Sugar: 22g

Yacon Root Syrup

Yacon syrup is extracted from the roots of the Yacon plant. This plant is from South America and originated in the country of Colombia. Yacon plant has been used for medicinal purposes for centuries.

The consistency of this syrup is similar to molasses and is high in prebiotics like insulin and low in calories. A bottle of Yacon root syrup has:

  • Calories: 13 (per tsp.)
  • Sugar: 3g

You can also use this syrup to substitute for sugar and add to hot drinks like coffee and tea.

Blackstrap Molasses

Blackstrap molasses is a byproduct of cane sugar. To make the syrup, raw sugar cane is boiled twice; a dark liquid will emerge once the boiling process is complete. This black-colored, sticky syrup is rich in both magnesium and calcium. The blackstrap molasses contains the following:

  • Calories: 58 (per tbsp.)
  • Natural Sugar: 15g

Date Syrup

Date syrup is a vegan-friendly sweetener and is made from organic California dates. The main ingredient of this syrup is Medjool dates that have a naturally sweet flavor. The syrup is so sweet that only a couple of drops are good enough for coffee and oatmeal.

This syrup is rich in vitamin D, iron, magnesium, and potassium. Date syrup also has:

  • Calories: 60
  • Sugar: 13g

Monkfruit Sweetener

Monkfruit sweetener is natural and is extracted from monk fruit. Monk fruit is grown in Southeast Asia and is popular among keto dieters as it is low in carbohydrates and a sugar substitute.

This sweetener contains no calories and is probably 100 to 250 times sweeter than sugar. Monkfruit sweetener is also rich in antioxidants. In this sweetener, there are:

  • Calories: 0
  • Alcohol Sugar: 4g

Benefits Of The Vegan Diet

Vegan diets can help people lose weight, but that is not all; they offer several other benefits. Here are four key benefits that the vegan diet provides:

Rich In Certain Nutrients

If you switch from a typical diet to a vegan diet, you will eliminate all the animal products from your diet, such as meat. However, this move will force you to eat other types of foods.

A vegan diet that is whole wheat usually contains:

  • Peas
  • Seeds
  • Nuts
  • Fruits
  • Whole grains
  • Vegetables

The foods mentioned above are rich in particular nutrients such as potassium, folate, magnesium, vitamins A, C, and E. However, a vegan diet may not provide sufficient quantities of:

  • Fatty acids
  • Vitamin B12
  • Iodine
  • Selenium
  • Vitamin B2
  • Zinc
  • Niacin
  • Riboflavin

It is crucial to make fortified and whole plant foods part of your diet and consider supplements for nutrients such as calcium, zinc, and vitamins. 

Helps In Weight Loss

Worldwide, many people are shifting to plant-based diets or vegan diets, and the primary purpose behind the shift is weight loss. Many studies state that the vegan diet has a lower BMI (body mass indexes) and is thinner than non-vegan diets.

In addition, controlled studies on veganism concluded that the vegan diet is more effective at weight loss than any other diet. Research comparing five different diets concluded that vegan and vegetarian diets were highly effective at cutting excess weight.

Can Improve Kidney Function And Lower Blood Pressure

Shifting to the vegan diet can be beneficial for your kidneys and reduce the risk of type-2 diabetes. In addition, studies indicate that vegan diets can reduce the blood pressure level significantly in diabetic patients.

The vegan diet is more effective at reducing blood pressure levels than diets recommended by the National Cholesterol Education Program and American Diabetes Association (ADA).

study conducted in 2009 showed that 43 % of the participants could reduce their blood sugar medication by following the vegan diet. However, only 26 % of the participants who followed an ADA-backed diet could reduce the usage of their blood pressure medication.

Research also indicates that diabetic patients that consume plant protein instead of meat reduce the risk of poor kidney functioning. However, this particular area lacks evidence; therefore, more research is required. 

Can Offer Protection Against Cancer

The World Health Organization (WHO) states that over 1/3rd of cancers can be prevented by factors that you can control, such as diet. So just making simple dietary changes can make a massive difference.

For instance, increasing the consumption of legumes will decrease the risk of colorectal cancer by 9 to 18%. Research also shows that eating up to seven portions of fresh vegetables and fruits every day may lower the risk of dying by cancer by up to 15%.

Vegan dieters generally make fruits, vegetables, and legumes a part of their diet. However, these three essential components are missing from the diets of non-vegans. A review of 96 studies concluded that vegans are 15% less likely to die from cancer than non-vegans. 

Avoiding animal products can also significantly reduce the risk of cancer, especially colon, breast, and prostate cancer. The vegan diet is free of meat products such as processed meat, which increases cancer risk.

Veganism also prohibits the consumption of dairy products such as milk, which helps in reducing the risk of colorectal cancer. However, as a note of caution, it is essential to understand that all these studies are observational. 

Nonetheless, unless more studies occur, try to stick to the basics and add elements to your diets such as legumes, fruits, and vegetables. 

Conclusion

This article answered an important question: are Torani syrups vegan? Through the discussion, we made it clear that over 130 varieties of Torani syrups are vegan-friendly. 

There was also a discussion on the different types of vegan-friendly sweeteners and syrups that you can add to your diet. 

It is essential to know the ins and outs of your diet, and this article will help you understand things better.

Similar Posts