Answer: Yes, vegans can eat Marmite.
Suppose you are a vegan who never wants to give up on Marmite; good news. Marmite is 100% vegan.
If you want to know more about Marmite, continue reading.
Table of Contents
More About Marmite
Marmite is a rich sticky food spread with a unique salty flavor. Just as its website explicitly states, it is entirely vegan.
The main ingredient in Marmite is yeast extract combined with other elements, which is technically a secret.
These additional ingredients are for nutritional value and flavor enhancement.
Let’s look at other ingredients used to make a vegan-friendly marmite.
Marmite’s main ingredient is yeast extract, which may contain wheat, barley, oats, rye, etc. This yeast extract is a byproduct of brewing beer, so it may include a small number of grains. Therefore, if you have any allergies, you should take note of this.
Salt is another main ingredient of Marmite, which is also vegan friendly because it combines chlorine and sodium.
Vegetable Juice Concentration
The manufacturer keeps it a secret as to what vegetable juices they use. But they make sure to give full assurance that all the products used are vegan-friendly. It also has a rich content of vitamin B.
It contains celery and many other plant-based natural flavorings that are purely vegan.
A Common Misconception About Marmite
The owner of Marmite is Unilever.
The Unilever company deals with producing various non-vegan products or animal testing products. And because of it, some vegans are skeptical about Marmite’s quality.
But that doesn’t mean the product is not vegan. The company has assured its authenticity by claiming it is a 100% vegan product.
Health Benefits Of Marmite
Marmite offers plenty of health benefits, giving you more reasons to love it.
It Helps You Sleep Better
Marmite has magnesium content that can help give you better sleep. The mineral works by calming your nerves and relaxing your muscles, allowing you to drift off much easier.
It Keeps Your Heart Healthy
Marmite has vitamin B1, which helps boost your heart function, preventing possible heart diseases. Research has also found that recovering from a heart attack is much smoother with vitamin B1.
Great for Eyes and Skin Health
Since Marmite has rich thiamin, riboflavin, and niacin content, you can conveniently replace vitamin B supplements. These vitamins are essential in improving kidney and liver functions. It also helps improve the quality of your eyes and skin.
In just one teaspoon of Marmite, you can receive about 17%, 18%, and 36% of the recommended daily intake of thiamin, riboflavin, and niacin, respectively.
It Helps Improve Your Brain Power
According to a study by York University, consuming Marmite can significantly increase your brain chemicals. It is thus protecting your brain from disorders such as dementia. And especially with B12 in Marmite, it is found to have helped boost the neurotransmitter GABA (gamma-aminobutyric acid) that regulates the brain’s activity.
Good Source of Vitamin B12
Since B12 is not achievable from plants, vegans tend to rely on supplements. However, by consuming Marmite regularly, you can obtain a sufficient amount to keep your nervous system going. The deficiency of B12 can also lead to exhaustion and weaken your memory.
For toast toppers, the calorie count for Marmite is quite low. In a marmite daily recommended portion of 8 g, the calorie count is only 22 with below 0.5 g of fat. Another benefit is that you will use it even more sparingly due to its strong flavor.
Natural Insect Repellent
Vitamin B in marmite functions as a perfect defense against mosquitoes.
It Helps Reduce Pregnancy Complication
Research has also shown that Marmite can help prevent birth defects or miscarriages. The rich content of B3 in marmite aids in treating a pregnant woman’s severe molecular deficiency.
Great Hangover Cure
Marmite helps boost your energy levels and take away the hangover blues. Take a marmite toast or drink a mixture of a spoonful of Marmite with hot water and a bit of lime.