Answer: Some Salt Water Taffy flavors are vegan, while most aren’t.
After 8 is a type of mint that Nestle manufactures. It comes with a dark chocolate coating and is wrapped in a paper sheath.
While After 8 might not be vegan, in this article you will find several vegan mint alternatives that you can eat instead of After 8.
This article will answer some key questions:
- Is Mint Vegan?
- After 8 Alternatives
- Health Benefits Of Mints
Is Mint Vegan?
In their natural form, mints are vegan, but some commercially produced mints come with these non-vegan ingredients:
Vegan And Non-Vegan Brands
Vegan dieters need to know well the products they are consuming. Below is a list of vegan and non-vegan brands of mints:
- Junior Mints (confectioner’s glaze)
- Andes Mint (milk protein and non-fat milk)
- Altoids (most varieties have gelatin)
- Kool Mints (egg white)
- LifeSaver’s Mints (animal-derived stearic acid)
- Mentos Mints (some varieties have beeswax)
- Smint (strawberry flavor only as it contains carmine)
- Tic Tacs (some varieties have milk, shellac, and carmine)
- Trebor (gelatin in some varieties)
- Breath Savers
- Dentyne Mints
- Eclipse Mints
- Eskimos Mints
- Excel Mints
- Extra Chewy Mints
- Fox’s Glacier Mints
- Ice Breakers
- Jila Mints
- Orbit Mint Gum
- Polo Mints
Are Scotch Mints And Mint Imperials Vegan?
Mint Imperials, also known as Scotch mints, are considered vegan friendly. These mints are famous in the United Kingdom and are usually consumed after dinner. These are some popular brands that sell Scotch mint:
- Glisten-Mint Imperials
- Cartwright and Butler Mint Imperials
- Linchfields Mint Imperials
- Sainbury’s Mint Imperials
- Kerr’s Scotch Mints
- RealMint Scotch
Are Thin Mints Vegan-Friendly?
Thin mints are also considered vegan friendly. Brands that produce vegan thin mints are:
- Little Brownie Bakers
- Girl Scout
- ABC Baker’s Thin Mints
Are Pepper Mints Vegan-Friendly?
Peppermints are generally considered vegan. While it is possible to make peppermints with gelatin, carmine, and animal products, most peppermint brands are free of animal products. Several brands manufacture vegan peppermints, such as:
- Starlight Peppermint Mints
- Star Brites Peppermint Candy by Brach’s
- Bob’s Sweet Stripes Soft Peppermint Candy
- Dr. John’s Peppermint Pop Hard Candies
Health Benefits Of Mint
Typically, mint is not consumed in large quantities, but it is rich in nutrients. Mint contains the following essential nutrients:
- Vitamin A
Mint has a unique color, which is why you can add small quantities of it to food dishes. Mint contains a type of vitamin A that is good for eye health. Mint also consists of antioxidants that help reduce stress and avoid damage to cells.
Improvements In Irritable Bowel Syndromes (IBS)
Irritable bowel syndromes are a disorder of the digestive system. It comes with symptoms such as bloating, stomach pain, and changes in bowel habits. Treatment for irritable bowel syndrome typically consists of medicines and dietary changes.
However, recent research has shown that peppermint oil can treat IBS. Peppermint contains a compound called menthol that can help reduce symptoms of IBS.
Mint can also help release other digestion-related issues such as indigestion. Indigestion usually occurs when the food stays in the stomach for a more extended period than usual.
Several studies indicate that peppermint oil can help food pass through the stomach. Peppermint oil can also reduce the symptoms of ingestion. A capsule that consists of caraway and peppermint oil is used to treat ingestion.
Improving Brain Health
Some researchers claim that mint can improve brain function by inhaling its aroma. A study conducted on 144 young adults concluded that inhaling peppermint aroma for five minutes can improve memory.
Smelling peppermint can increase alertness and decrease fatigue, stress, anxiety, and frustration. However, more research is needed before peppermint can be considered a treatment for brain function.
Vegan Alternatives For After 8
Simply mints are produced by Simple Gum and are a certified vegan product. Simply gum uses vegan-friendly quality ingredients, such as calcium stearate, cane sugar, and peppermint oil.
Simple mints come in three flavors:
In addition, to being vegan certified, Simple mints are also:
- Non-GMO verified
Vermint is a brand that makes vegan-friendly mints. This product is available in several flavors:
These mints contain organic crystallized sugar, organic maple syrup, organic tapioca syrup, and natural flavoring.
Root Chews are made of dried parsley mixed with peppermint oil. Root chews are vegan-friendly and come in packets that are made of recycled paper. Root chews also give away a BPA-free refillable plastic container.
Pur mints are also a vegan-friendly variety of mint and come in several flavors:
- Polar Mint
- Tangerine Tango
- Mojito Lime
This product is made of xylitol, natural mint flavor, and dextrin (fiber) ingredients. Pur mints are also sugar-free, gluten-free, aspartame-free and non-GMO verified.
Sencha Naturals Green Tea Mints
Sencha Naturals Green Tea Mints is a sugar-free variety. This product is vegan-friendly and comes in several flavors:
- Moroccan Mint
- Pink Dragonfruit
- Tropical Mango
- Yuzu Ginger
- Bombay Chai
The main ingredient of these green tea mints is stevia-leaf extract, a sugar substitute. Other ingredients in this product are peppermint oil, spearmint oil, organic matcha, and sorbitol.
Newman’s Organic Mints
Newman’s organic mints is a USDA-certified, vegan-friendly product. These mints come in several flavors:
This product comes packed in a reusable metal container. Newman’s organic mints are made of organic corn syrup solids, organic sugar, and natural cinnamon flavor.
Pastiglie Leone, an Italian company founded in 1857, produces these vegan mints. The flavor of this product is peppermint, and it consists of peppermint oil extract, gum arabic, sugar, and other natural flavors.
Vegan Vs. Vegetarian Comparison
The main difference between vegetarians and vegans is that while vegetarians do not consume meat, they still consume dairy products and eggs. The vegan diet excludes meat, eggs, and dairy products.
Veganism is more restrictive than vegetarianism, so people need to invest more time thinking about what foods can benefit them to meet their daily demand for nutrients.
Plant-Based Foods Ideas
There are many ways you can have a healthy and delicious vegan meal. Instead of using cow milk, vegan dieters use plant-based alternatives with low-calorie content and little saturated fat.
There are also varieties of plant-based cheese, butter, and yogurts available in the market. Some people are concerned about the lack of protein on the vegan diet, but they are mistaken; several plants foods are rich in protein.
Soy products, such as seitan, tempeh, and tofu, are high in protein and give the food a meat-like texture. Most vegan recipes use the following ingredients as substitutes for animal products:
- Nut butter
- Peanut butter
The popularity of the vegan diet is growing every day, and vegan dieters need access to accurate information.
This article will give them a lot of clarity and help them take some aspects out of their diet. Read up on the information and make changes accordingly.