Answer: It depends.
This article will focus on other components of Eclipse gums, such as their ingredients.
The following queries will be discussed:
- Is gum vegan?
- Are there vegan varieties of gum?
- Are there health benefits of gum?
What Is Eclipse Gum?
Eclipse is a brand of sugar-free peppermint gums and has a minty outer shell. These gums will release a cool and fresh flavor in your mouth and will keep the bad breath away.
Is Gum Vegan?
Whether gum is vegan or not depends solely on its ingredients. Unfortunately, some brands use animal products to produce gum, such as gelatin, carmine, and lecithin.
Eclipse Gum Ingredients
- Gum base
- Artificial and natural flavors
- Aspartame (<2%)
- Soy lecithin (<2%)
- Titanium dioxide (<2%)
- Carnauba wax (<2%)
- Acesulfame K (<2%)
- BHT (<2%)
Vegan Gums Brands
- 5 Gums
- Big League Chew
- B-Fresh Gum
- Extra (some flavors are vegan friendly)
- Mentos Gum (only tropical flavor)
- Juicy Fruit
- NeuroGum Nootropic Energy Gum
- Orbit (some flavors are vegan friendly)
- Simply Gum
- Pur Gum
- Tree Hugger Gum
- Spry Gum
Health Benefits Of Chewing Gum
Chewing gum has been around for centuries; ancient Aztecs and Mayans chewed a substance known as Chicle to:
- Get rid of bad breath
- Clean teeth
- Quench thirst
- Fight hunger
However, are modern chewing gums good for your health? Sugar-free varieties of gum have several health benefits.
Combating Bad Breath
Everyone experiences bouts of bad breaths. Foods like spices, garlic, and onions can leave a bad taste in your mouth. However, on rare occasions, bad breath can be a symptom of an underlying illness such as:
- Dry mouth
- Gum disease
- Oral health conditions
Preventing Tooth Decay
An experiment mentioned in the Journal of Oral Science showed that participants who chewed sugar-free gum that had xylitol, a natural sweetener, had fewer bacteria in their mouth after chewing the gum.
The ADA (American Dental Association) states that sugar-free gum can significantly reduce the risk of tooth decay.
Increasing The Saliva Flow
Another significant benefit of chewing sugar-free gum is that it can reduce the discomfort of a dry mouth. Saliva provides a lot of benefits to your mouth, and chewing sugar-free gum can increase saliva flow.
When you are chewing gum, your jaw muscles push the saliva glands and release saliva. So, by frequently chewing gum, you can remove the symptoms of dry mouth and increase saliva in your mouth.
Some people do wonder: does chewing gum whiten teeth? Habits such as smoking and drinking coffee can lead to discoloration on teeth surfaces. Fortunately, there are several whitening products you can use to keep your teeth white and healthy:
- At-home whitening kits
- Chewing gum
There are several types of whitening chewing gums available commercially. Usually, whitening gums are chewed after a meal so that they can help wash away food particles.
Studies indicate that if you chew gum daily, it can reduce stress. A study published in the Journal of Clinical and Translational Research concluded that participants who chewed gum frequently over an extended period felt less stressed than participants who didn’t chew gum.
Recent innovations such as CBD chewing gum can also reduce anxiety levels. A study published in Neurotherapeutics states that CBD can also be a treatment for disorders associated with anxiety.
People that chew CBD gum frequently state that it helps with a range of conditions such as:
- Obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD)
- Social anxiety
However, since further studies are being conducted, talk to your doctor before starting treatment for a specific condition.
The main difference between regular and CBD gum is that CBD is absorbed through your cheeks and goes directly into the bloodstream. CBD offers several oral health benefits as well.
Help In Weight Loss
Chewing gum can also help people lose weight because it is low in calories, despite being sweet. Some studies indicate that chewing can cut down your appetite and stop you from overeating.
Another study concluded that chewing gum in-between meals could reduce the intake of high in carbs and decrease the feeling of hunger. A separate study states that chewing gum while taking a walk can efficiently burn calories.
Non-Vegan Gum Brands
- Orbit (most flavors contain gelatin)
- Ice Breakers Ice Cubes
- Extra (flavors that contain ice crystals have gelatin)
Vegan Alternatives For Gelatin
Gelatin is a thickening agent used to thicken desserts such as cakes, jelly, chocolate mousse, etc. However, gelatin is a non-vegan ingredient because it is made from animal bones.
The good news there are several vegan-friendly substitutes of gelatin that vegan dieters can try out:
Xanthan gum is a polysaccharide like a pectin and is a naturally occurring byproduct of bacterial fermentation. Xanthan gum is sold in white powder; its characteristics are similar to corn flour and have a grainy texture.
You can use xanthan gum as an ingredient for several baking recipes such as:
- Baked cheesecake
- Key lime pie
- Lemon pie
Xanthan gum is usually used to prevent the splitting of custards, jellies, and sauces. Xanthan gum can also be an ingredient for ice cream and stabilize ice formation.
However, before using xanthan gum as an ingredient for a baking recipe, ensure that your dish contains 60% sugar, as the gum might not settle in a recipe that is too sweet.
How To Use Xanthan Gum
Xanthan gum hydrates very quickly; it has little flavor or odor. To use xanthan gum, follow these instructions:
- Sprinkle the xanthan gum powder on the liquid.
- Blend the two components thoroughly.
- If the recipe is sweet, consider mixing the gum powder with sugar crystals, preventing the gum from hydrating unevenly in the mixture.
- You can also use the gum as an ingredient in mousse to stabilize the air bubbles.
Carrageenan is Irish moss, an extract of dried seaweed. Carrageenan is also rich in polysaccharides and can be a perfect substitute for gelatin.
Carrageenan as an ingredient has two functions:
However, carrageenan has been linked to digestive sensitivity in people, so people with the following conditions avoid it:
- Bowel diseases
- Digestive diseases
- Digestive sensitives
You can use pectin as a replacement for carrageenan if you have bowel or digestive issues. Carrageenan is usually used in jellies, desserts, soups, and ice creams. Carrageenan is a popular ingredient in the food industry, and you can buy it from specialist suppliers.
How To Use Carrageenan
Carrageenan, like xanthan gum, comes in powdered form. You will approximately need 1.5g of carrageenan powder for 100g of cold liquid.
Follow these instructions:
- Mix the carrageenan powder in the cold liquid
- Pour the mixture into a mold
- Put the mold aside and let the mixture settle down
However, please do not use carrageenan for gluten-free recipes or recipes designed for people with coeliac disease.
Agar-agar is extracted from algae and was discovered in Japan in the seventeen century. It was later found that the substance had gelatinizing capabilities. Agar-agar comes as a powder; it is flavorless and colorless. Agar-agar also sets more firmly than traditional gelatin.
Agar-agar is incredibly strong, as only 0.9 grams of it are required for 100ml of neutral liquid. However, for acidic liquid, you will need about 1.3g of agar-agar.
You can use agar-agar in a wide variety of vegan desserts. Agar-agar is a versatile substance, and you can also use it in vegetable and fruit purees, creams, sweets, and custards.
How To Use Agar-Agar
Generally, you should follow the instructions on the packet while using agar-agar, as each variety of the substance varies in binding and strength abilities. To use agar-agar properly, follow these instructions:
- Soak agar-agar in boiling water for five minutes, as this will activate it.
- Once the substance is thoroughly dissolved in the liquid, pour it into your preferred mixture.
- Let the mixture sit around 38 to 40 degrees Celsius.
However, agar-agar does not melt well, so that it might give your recipe a hard texture. If you require your dish to have a soft appearance, consider using a different gelatin substitute.
Ingredients of Eclipse gum are discussed in this article, and you will also find a list of vegan-friendly gums that you can use. Unfortunately, most non-vegan varieties of gum contain gelatin, and in this article, there is a section on vegan alternatives for gelatin.
All the information shared in this article is up to date, so read it all up and make changes to your diet accordingly.