What Are The Vegan Options At Braum’s Ice Cream & Dairy Store? (Updated Guide)

  • By: Daniel B.
  • Date: December 30, 2021
  • Time to read: 6 min.

Ice cream is one of the most popular frozen food consumed all around the globe. This snack is usually made from cream or milk and has numerous sweeteners. As we know, vegans don’t eat dairy or animal products. So, ice cream made from milk is undoubtedly a no-no for vegans.

In this article, you will learn the vegan options at Braum’s Ice Cream & Dairy Store.

Sadly, the Braum’s Ice Cream & Dairy Store is not ideal for vegans. In fact, according to PETA, this ice cream chain does not offer any vegan-friendly ice cream. You can only get fruit, sorbet products, and Italian ice from Braum’s Ice Cream and Dairy store as they are 100% non-dairy. 

As you can see, Braum’s Ice Cream & Dairy Store is not for vegans. Therefore, we have also mentioned some of the best food chains that offer delicious and mouth-watering vegan ice cream.

Braum’s Ice Cream & Dairy Store – A Brief Introduction

We all have heard of Braum’s Ice Cream. This American family-owned food chain is based in Tuttle, Oklahoma. Braum’s restaurants are not just limited to ice creams; they also offer breakfast items, salads, sandwiches, hamburgers, frozen yogurt, and more.

As of 2021, Braum’s has more than 300 working restaurants in various states of America, including Missouri, Arkansas, Kansas, Texas, and Oklahoma. They also include grocery sections, known as “Fresh Market,” offering meats & produce, frozen entrees, beverages, baked goods, and dairy products.

For vegans, Braum’s is not an ideal restaurant chain to eat, and this is because most of their items include dairy and animal products that are not edible for vegans. However, if you are Lacto-vegetarian, you can enjoy their delicious ice creams and other products.

Vegan Options At Braum’s Ice Cream And Dairy Store

Let’s discuss the vegan status of Braum’s Ice Cream & Dairy Store. If you are a lacto-vegetarian, you can enjoy different flavors of ice cream at Braum’s. 

The most famous flavors of Braum’s ice creams include:

  • Amaretto Peach Charlotte
  • Banana Pecan
  • Black Walnut
  • Birthday Cake
  • Brownie batter
  • Bordeaux Cherry Amaretto
  • Butter Brickle
  • Butter Pecan
  • Chocolate Chip
  • Chocolate Almond
  • Gingerbread
  • French Vanilla
  • Fudge Ripple

Unfortunately, all these ice creams contain milk and other dairy products. So, if you are a vegan, you cannot enjoy any ice cream flavor at Braum’s.

At Braum’s restaurant chains, vegans can only get the following products:

  • Salad
  • Fruits
  • Vegetables
  • Sorbet 
  • Beverages

10 Best Vegan Ice Cream Chains

As you can see, you don’t have many vegan options at Braum’s Ice Cream & Dairy Store. However, you don’t have to give up. There are hundreds of other restaurant chains available out there that offer vegan yet delicious ice creams.

Instead of cow’s milk, these ice creams are made from plant-based juices that resemble animal milk’s qualities, taste, and texture. Some of the most popular types of vegan milk are soya milk, almond milk, coconut milk, Oatly milk, etc.

If you want to enjoy vegan ice cream, here are some of the most famous restaurant chains that offer plant-based ice cream.

JD’s Vegan

Legendary music producer and long-time vegan Jermaine Dupri started his own chain of vegan-friendly ice creams. All flavors offered by this company are made from a creamy coconut base. 

JD’s Vegan offers six delicious vegan flavors, including:

  • (404) Cookie & Cream
  • Chocolate My Way
  • Apple Butter
  • Welcome to Atlanta Peach Cobbler
  • Strawberry Sweetheart
  • Key Lime Pie

KIND Frozen

Another food chain that deserves a spot on our list is KIND. Keep in mind that not all KIND products are vegan. Some do contain animal products. So, you should read the ingredients before purchasing a KIND frozen dessert.

KIND is famous for its energy and nut bars. Some of these bars are completely vegan, while others contain dairy products. For vegans, the company has created a new dessert world with a variety of flavors, including:

  • Caramel Almond
  • Coffee Hazelnut
  • Strawberry
  • Pistachio
  • Dark Chocolate
  • Cherry Cashew
  • Peanut Butter
  • Sea Salt

Oatly

Oatly is one of the most popular vegan brands available out there, and this brand makes all of its products with oat milk that is both delicious and super-creamy. According to many consumers, oat milk is the best alternative to cow milk for vegans.

As of 2021, there are ten different Oatly’s ice cream flavors available out there, such as:

  • Raspberry Swirl
  • Fudge Brownie
  • Salted Caramel
  • Oat
  • Vanilla
  • Chocolate
  • Strawberry
  • Coffee
  • Mint Chip
  • Chocolate Chip

Doozy Pots

Next, we have Doozy Pots. This brand uses a mixture of oat milk and hemp to create delicious ice creams. Till this date, there are a total of five flavors of Doozy Pot’s ice cream, including:

  • Chocolate Mint
  • Raspberry Swirl
  • Cookies & Coffee
  • Banana Swirl
  • Vanilla Bean

Daily Harvest

Most people recognize Daily Harvest for its smoothies. However, did you know they also offer coconut-based ice creams? These ice creams are perfect for vegans and those obsessed with healthy foods. 

The ice creams offered by Daily Harvest contain numerous healthy ingredients, including pine pollen, probiotics, ashwagandha, and more.

The vegan flavors at Daily Harvest include:

  • Midnight Fudge
  • Chocolate & Ooey
  • Cacao Chips
  • Mink & Dark
  • Black Sesame
  • Vanilla & Salted
  • Rippled Berry
  • Strawberry & Rich

O’MY!

This brand is famous for its allergy-friendly, dairy-free gelato. O’MY! offers ten delicious flavors of gelato, including:

  • Root Beer
  • Cake Walk
  • I Love Chocolate
  • Cake Batter
  • Strawberry
  • Orange Cream
  • Coffee Chip
  • Mint Chip
  • Vanilla
  • Chocolate

All these products are free from dairy and contain high nutritional values. They are made with 100% organic ingredients, including natural fruits and organic coconut cream.

Everyday Bliss

If you have not heard of Everyday Bliss, you surely know the Coconut Bliss. These brands are owned by the same people and offer 100% plant-based, organic and ultra-creamy products.

The ice cream flavors offered by Everyday Bliss are both yummy and affordable. These flavors include:

  • Salty Peanut Butter
  • Vanilla Swirl
  • Chocolate Chip
  • Salted Caramel
  • Caramel Macchiato

SorBabes

Sorbet is another frozen dessert that is quite famous in America. Unlike gelato and ice cream, sorbets are made from just fruit puree, such as orange juice, lemon juice, and more. As sorbet does not contain dairy, they are suitable for all vegans.

When it comes to sorbet, no other brand can beat SorBabes. This brand offers sorbets in a variety of flavors, such as:

  • Cocoa Haze 
  • Café Almond
  • Passionilla
  • Jam’n Lemon
  • Butta Luva
  • Raz’n Berry
  • Pistachio And Caramel

Alden’s Organic

Created from pea protein, coconut oil, oat flour, and brown rice, the ice creams offered by Alden’s organic are wholly dairy-free and vegan-friendly. The vegan ice cream flavors at Alden’s Organic include:

  • Caramel Drizzle
  • Muddy Brownie
  • Vanilla Bean
  • Cookie Crumble
  • Double Strawberry
  • Caramel Almond Crunch
  • Peanut Butter
  • Vanilla Bean
  • Freckled Mint

Other than ice cream scoops, Alden’s Organic offers ice cream sandwiches with two flavors, including caramel drizzle and vanilla bean.

Van Leeuwen

This brand offers dairy-free ice creams through food trucks and Van Leeuwen shops in New York and Los Angeles. However, you can get your favorite Van Leeuwen ice cream flavors from selected grocery stores and over the internet as well. 

Van Leeuwen offers a wide variety of flavors when it comes to vegan-friendly ice cream, including:

  • Salted Caramel
  • Pumpkin Cinnamon roll
  • Bourbon Vanilla Apple Crisp
  • Chocolate Chip Cookie
  • Chocolate Fudge
  • Cookie Crumble Strawberry jam
  • Cookie & Cream Caramel Swirl
  • Mint Chip

How To Order Vegan At A Restaurant Chain?

Even in the 21st century, there are not many vegan restaurants chain options available, and most well-known restaurant chains use dairy and animal products. Therefore, you must do your research and know how to order vegan food at a restaurant chain.

Look At The Menu

First of all, loot at the menu. Most restaurant chains have created a special menu for vegans that only feature vegan products, and some restaurants use the “V” symbol to specify a vegan dish. 

Check The Ingredients

If your selected restaurant does not have a separate menu for vegans, you should check the ingredients. If a dish contains dairy or animal products as an ingredient, you should avoid it. 

Look At The Nutritional Value

You can also read the nutritional values to distinguish between vegan and non-vegan dishes. In most cases, a vegan dish contains many healthy nutrients but does not have many calories. 

Ask The Server

If you are still confused, you should ask the server for their opinion. Your server might have information about the dishes that are suitable for vegan. With this approach, you can also confirm if there is a chance of cross-contamination or not.

Final Verdict

Unfortunately, The Braum’s Ice Cream & Dairy Store is not for vegans, and all products at this restaurant chain contain dairy that is not suitable for vegans.

So, if you like ice cream, you can select an alternative restaurant that uses plant-based milk to create delicious frozen desserts, including coconut milk, oat milk, rice milk, soya milk, and more.