Skip to Content

What Are The Vegan Options At Dairy Queen? (Updated Guide)

What Are The Vegan Options At Dairy Queen? (Updated Guide)

Ah, Dairy Queen. One of America’s most loved dessert establishments. You’ve all seen them around from when you were kids. Most of you have even been in and had your pick of sweet treats. Fast forward to now. You’re a practicing vegan. You don’t eat meat, and you don’t consume dairy. What are you supposed to do? 

There are all types of vegan options at Dairy Queen. Right from drinks to food items, you can find everything there. Moreover, people of all ages are going to love these vegan options. 

What Exactly Are The Vegan Options At Dairy Queen Right Now? 

This one is for all the vegans out there. What can you pick the next time you’re at a Dairy Queen? With the word dairy in the name, you would imagine that there wouldn’t be much for you to choose from. However, today, veganism is a growing movement. Scores of people are converting to veganism to live a healthier life. 

Fast-food chains have had unchanged menus for decades now, so it’s not been very easy for them to make vegan options available. However, with the growing movement and many requests coming in from the vegan community, many are trying their best to do so. 

Dairy Queen has also taken note of this, introducing some vegan options for you. We’ve done some tasty research across a few Dairy Queens. So here’s a list of vegan options that you can choose from the next time you’re at a Dairy Queen:

Non-Dairy Dilly Bars

The much-loved ice cream treat from Dairy Queen is now available in a vegan option! How exciting is that? The Dilly Bar that’s been a fan favorite for so many years now has been given a vegan twist by Dairy Queen. It’s gluten-free, made with coconut cream, and dipped in vegan chocolate. Go ahead, give it a try! 

Papaya Paradise Light

The Papaya Paradise Light is another excellent option for vegans at Dairy Queen. It’s a healthy, fruity option for customers that’s been around for a while now. The regular smoothie contains dairy, so ask for the non-dairy alternative. Why don’t you try the vegan Papaya Paradise Light the next time you visit your nearest Dairy Queen? 

Misty Slush 

The ice-cold Misty Slush comes in a whole range of flavors like Blue Raspberry, Kiwi Strawberry, Grape, Cherry & Lemon Lime. All these are vegan friendly, don’t worry. A throwback to the days when we took huge sips out of our slushies and gave ourselves brain freezes for fun. Although non-dairy, these come with artificial coloring. 

Light Smoothies

You have a lot of options when it comes to Dairy Queen’s light smoothies. Choose from flavors like Orange, Strawberry, Strawberry Banana, Tripleberry Mango Pineapple, Berry-Pom, OrangeBerry & Pina Colada. These are made with fresh fruit and no milk or yogurt. Check with your store and make sure before you order that your smoothie contains no dairy. 

Starkiss Frozen Treat

Another favorite among the kids. The Starkiss Frozen Treat has been a staple on the Dairy Queen menu for some years now. The colorful, fun looking dessert is a big hit among the younger customers of Dairy Queen. Dairy Queen is now offering a vegan option of the Starkiss Frozen Treat, but not at all locations, so check ahead with your nearest store. 

Cheeseburger Deluxe 

With the non-meat, non-dairy cheeseburger at Dairy Queen, vegans too can be chomping down on a juicy burger. Why does it have to be just the meat-eaters? With the rise of plant-based burgers and other meats, vegans can get in on the action too. Ask for it without meat, cheese, or mayo. You could also ask for a double up on vegetables.

Pretzel Sticks

One of America’s favorite snacks! You can find them around almost every corner you go to. Pretzel sticks are a very safe option for vegans at any Dairy Queen. Pretzel sticks aren’t made with eggs or milk, so they’re safe for you to eat. Just remember that at Dairy Queen, the pretzel sticks come with the queso dip, so remember to leave that out. 

Here are some of the sides that you could get along with your order at Dairy Queen. They may be limited for now, but there are a lot more vegans around now. So, you can expect this list to expand very soon.  

• Applesauce

• Banana

• Hash Browns (Breakfast)

• Fries

• Lay’s BBQ, Original & Baked Potato Chips

We know that salad is the most clichéd and boring option for vegans, especially when you’re out for a meal. However, now at Dairy Queen, you have some great options for your salads. Here are some of the vegan dressings you could use to spruce up your salad! 

Vegan Dressings

• Marzetti Asian Sesame dressing

• Marzetti balsamic vinaigrette

• Marzetti Fat-Free California French Style dressing

• Marzetti Light Italian dressing

How Exactly Do You Order Vegan At Dairy Queen? 

Now, when it comes to getting your order just right, it can be difficult at times as a vegan. Dairy Queen looks so fantastic with all their colorful and tasty looking options. Luckily, you can get yourself a tasty treat from Dairy Queen even if you’re a practicing vegan. Here are a few steps to keep in mind while ordering vegan from Dairy Queen: 

Always Ask For Non-Dairy 

Remember to always specify to your server that you want a non-dairy option. You may have selected one of the vegan options available, like the smoothie, but it’s better to make sure. Mention to them that you want the vegan option, and they will make sure not to include any dairy in your selection. 

It’s always better to assume that your server may have forgotten to make your drink non-dairy and politely remind them once more about it before they make it. 

Pre-Make Your Choices 

There aren’t a whole host of options yet on the Dairy Queen menu for vegans. The list mentioned above covers pretty much all the options that they have as of now. So before you make your next visit to a Dairy Queen near you, plan ahead. Go through the list once, twice, and then once more. 

Pick what you think will taste the best and what you’d love to have. Once you’re clear with your choice, you can be very clear about what you want and how you want it made when you show up there. 

Specify What You Want To Be Left Out 

While it’s essential to know what to eat as a vegan, it’s also equally important to know what not to eat.

Like we mentioned above, you have the option of getting the fries or the pretzel sticks and salads. Mention to them that you don’t want any butter or cheese dip with your fries or pretzel sticks. Remind them not to include cheese in any form in your salad, too. 

PETA And Dairy Queen

PETA spent a long time petitioning Dairy Queen to come up with vegan options on their menu. In fact, in 2016, the Honorary Director of PETA, Alan Cumming, wrote to Dairy Queen’s CEO. He spoke about the need for “healthier, greener and animal-friendly” options on Dairy Queen’s menu. 

In 2020, he was pleasantly surprised to receive a gift box from Dairy Queen. In it was a sweet treat that he didn’t expect to receive from them. It was their very first vegan ice cream option. The Vegan Dilly Bar, as we’ve mentioned above. It was a huge step for vegans and a generous gesture from Dairy Queen. 

This may not be a very expansive menu for vegans at Dairy Queen now, but it’s definitely a start. As more people turn to veganism, you can expect them to keep adding to the vegan options that are already present. 

Wrap Up

We know it’s not easy to be a vegan and go out for your meals. It’s significantly harder if you’re going to one of the thousands of restaurant chains that have been around for so long. These places have had menus that haven’t changed much for many years now. So adding vegan options is an alien concept to them. 

It sure is nice to be able to go out to a vegan restaurant every now and then. Well then, what about when you have to accompany friends/family to non-vegan establishments? That’s where you need to be smart with your ordering. Read up about the restaurant before, have a look at its menu online, and make decisions before you get there. 

One of the best things to do as a vegan at most fast food establishments is to double up on the sides—French fries, wedges, salads, baked potatoes, greens, etc. If you don’t have too many main vegan options, go hard on the sides. Make those your mains. 

We do hope this list helped. Now that you’ve read this, your next visit to Dairy Queen will be an absolute treat and a pleasure, guaranteed!