Skip to Content

What Are The Vegan Options At Dickey’s BBQ Pit? (Updated Guide)

What Are The Vegan Options At Dickey’s BBQ Pit? (Updated Guide)

Dickey’s BBQ Pit is an American restaurant chain headquartered in Dallas, Texas. The restaurant was founded in 1941 by Travis Dickey and is the largest BBQ franchise in America. 

Though Dickey’s BBQ Pit is not a vegan-friendly chain, some vegan items on the menu will be discussed in the article. 

It is nearly impossible to get a vegan meal at a BBQ restaurant. So if a vegan dieter ends up at a BBQ restaurant, the options are limited, and sometimes the only option available is appetizers. 

Let’s start our discussion by focusing on how it all started for Dickey’s BBQ Pit. 

Dickey’s BBQ Pit History

Dickey’s BBQ Pit has been the go-to place for mouthwatering slow-smoked Texas-style BBQ for over eighty years now. These are the popular items on the menu:

  • Wings
  • Pork
  • Ribs
  • Sides
  • Jalapeno beans
  • Chicken
  • Smoked brisket
  • Macaroni and cheese

Dickey’s BBQ Pit has more than 500 outlets and 44 states. The recipes have been handed down through generations, and the hospitality is second to none. You can also order online or schedule a pickup or delivery.

What’s Vegan At Dickey’s BBQ Pit?

Dickey’s BBQ pit is famous for BBQ dishes, which means they don’t have much for vegan dieters. However, there are a handful of vegan-friendly items on the menu.

Tomato And Cucumber Salad

This is a safe bet for vegan dieters because most vegan dieters regularly have salads. The salad combines tomato and cucumber, two delicious vegetables, and if you are at Dickey’s BBQ Pit, you can opt for this salad. However, before ordering it, ensure that the salad is without these ingredients:

  • Cheese
  • Croutons
  • Meat

Green Onion Garnish

This green onion garnish will not satisfy a hungry vegan, so the best thing to do would be to add it to the salad. However, if you aren’t that hungry, grab a fork and eat the garnish.

Baked Potatoes

Baked potatoes come as a side for many dishes.

Corn On The Cob

You would probably eat corn at a carnival, but you are at a non-vegan restaurant right now, and eating corn is your only option. You can order corn on the cob without butter at Dickey’s BBQ Pit. 

Jalapeno Beans

Jalapeno beans are available in stores all across the country. You can also order Jalapeno beans at Dickey’s BBQ pit. However, you will need to come up with ways to modify the dish because eating these beans will not be enough to fill up your stomach. Here are some practical ideas:

  • You can order these beans along with a salad.
  • You can also order jalapeno beans along with rice.
  • Try to eat beans along with baked potatoes. 

Note

Since this is a non-vegan restaurant, they probably cook all the food in the same type of oil. However, enquire before you order because some restaurants add oil to their dishes for extra flavor. You can inquire about the oil or tell them to exclude it.

The second thing that is incredibly important is the cooking pans. Most restaurant kitchens are short on time, so they cook all the dishes in the same pan or pots. Tell the server to cook your food separately. However, if you are ordering baked potatoes, you don’t need to give these instructions.

Should Dickey’s BBQ Pit Improve And Expand Its Vegan Options?

Definitely!!

The good news is that several vegan restaurants are popping up all across America. However, if you want a fine dining experience as a vegan, then Dickey’s BBQ Pit is not the place for you.

Even though so many vegan meat options are available now, Dickey’s BBQ Pit has not added those to the menu. 

Does Dickey’s BBQ Pit Offer Vegan Cheese?

Several dishes on the menu have cheese, but unfortunately, the restaurant does not offer vegan cheese. You might not even find tofu at Dickey’s BBQ Pit.

However, if you are ordering from the restaurant, you can order your favorite vegan sides, such as baked potatoes, and top them with vegan cheese.

How Many Vegan Salads Are At Dickey’s BBQ Pit?

We have gone through the restaurant’s menu, but unfortunately, we could only find one vegan salad mentioned above. However, the Smokehouse Salad is another salad on the menu, which you can order without the meat.

You must inform the server to bring the Smokehouse Salad without the meat, cheese, and croutons.

Does Dickey’s BBQ Pit Use Vegan Bread?

Unfortunately, we cannot say for sure, simply because the restaurant has not shared the bread ingredients on the website. To be safe, try to avoid the bread at the restaurant.

Can Vegans Eat Fries At Dickey’s BBQ Pit?

Fries are vegan-friendly because they are made from potatoes. However, the problem is the cooking oil. Is the restaurant using vegetable oil for cooking fries or perhaps lard? You should ask your server.

Conclusion

While eating vegan at Dickey’s BBQ Pit is challenging, you can at least order sides and salads.

For example, we have shared several ways to order dishes like baked potatoes, jalapeno beans, and corn on the cob. You can also come up with your own ideas and discuss them with the chef.