Skip to Content

What Are the Vegan Options at Starbucks? (Updated Guide)

What Are the Vegan Options at Starbucks? (Updated Guide)

Vegan Options at Starbucks

Starbucks is not entirely vegan, but out of all the coffee shops in the States, Starbucks is considered the most vegan-friendly. They have many vegan options like bagels, oatmeals, and obviously, their forte, drinks.

Also, there is Oatly which recently got added to the long list of vegan options. 


Jerry Baldwin, Zev Siegl, and Gordon Bowker are the three founders of Starbucks, who launched Starbucks’ first-ever store in 1971 in Seattle. It is an American company available in more than 70 countries and currently operates more than 30,000 outlets worldwide, being the world’s largest chain of coffeehouses.  

It’s been more than 40 years since Starbucks has served us our favorite coffee beverages, smoothies, tea, baked goods, and sandwiches.  

The motto ‘quality over quantity fits best with Starbucks since it never serves coffee that has been sitting for more than 30 minutes. 

Vegan Hot Drinks

So, you’ve turned vegan but still need your daily dose of Starbucks in the morning? Don’t worry – there are many options that are either vegan or can be made vegan with a few swaps.

As long as the following hot chocolates are being ordered with absolutely no whipped cream and non-dairy milk, they are vegan. So make sure to order the following options with non-dairy milk:

  • Cinnamon dolce cream
  • Classic hot chocolate
  • Hazelnut hot chocolate 
  • Salted caramel hot chocolate
  • Toffee coconut hot chocolate
  • Hot chocolate s’mores
  • Apple juice (steamed) 
  • Caramel mocha salted 
  • Toffee nut latte
  • Butterbeer latte
  • Hazelnut mocha coconut macchiato
  • Blonde vanilla bean coconut latte
  • Tea latte (London fog) 
  • Coconut coffee cake latte 
  • Samoa cookie latte 
  • Peppermint Mocha 

Vegan Iced Drinks

  • Iced chocolate almond milk shook espresso
  • Iced shaken espresso
  • Ombre iced coffee (with your choice of non-dairy milk)
  • Apple tart hazelnut frappuccino 
  • Cocoa cluster frappuccino caramel 
  • Matcha lemonade 
  • Matcha frappuccino 
  • Iced matcha green tea latte
  • S’mores frappuccino

Best Vegan Options (In Terms Of Drinks)

  • Americano 

This drink is made with a minimum of two ingredients: hot water and espresso. It has a strong flavor of coffee that vegans can enjoy.

  • Strawberry Lemonade (blended)

This drink is the best for all those vegans looking out for fruity-flavored drinks since it’s made with strawberry puree and lemonade.

  • Caffe latte

Are you looking for a classic vegan latte? Get this drink with coconut or almond milk. 

  • Golden ginger drink

This refreshing vegan drink is made with fresh pineapples, ginger, and a hint of turmeric flavor. 

  • Iced pineapple matcha

In the mood for a tropical Starbucks drink? Get your hands on iced pineapple matcha made with coconut milk, ginger, green tea, and pineapples. 

  • Pink drink

Other than the fact that it’s super cute looking, this is a vegan drink made with the right amount of coconut milk, acai, and passion fruit.

Matcha Powder

We want to clear the confusion about matcha powder for people who are wondering if it’s vegan. It is not certified vegan, but at the same time, this powder does not include any animal-derived products, and it is made with green tea (Japanese) and sugar. So there’s nothing to worry about!

Drinks to Avoid

There are a few drinks at Starbucks that are neither vegan nor can be made vegan:

  • Altogether avoid anything that has pumpkin spice.
  • Say no to anything that has white mocha. 
  • Say no to anything that has hints of caramel brulee.
  • Chai lattes are also not vegan, but if you’re going with Teavana brewed tea, it’s fine since it’s vegan.

Vegan Food at Starbucks

The good thing about vegan food at Starbucks is that it’s not that expensive! Here are your options:

  • The box of avocado protein 
  • Bagels that are plain, multigrain, or sprouted grain
  • A bowl of vegetable protein with brown rice 
  • Classic oatmeal/hearty blueberry

The oatmeal is not certified vegan, but it’s undoubtedly not made with any animal-derived products. Order it with soy, almond, or coconut milk. You can also have it with hot water instead of dairy milk.


Snacks are something people enjoy when they’re not looking for a proper meal. They are a go-to option for people looking for low-calorie intake.

If you’re looking for vegan snacks, get your hands on the following items:

  • Dried fruits
  • Fruit bars
  • Fruit salad
  • Nuts (mixed)
  • Avocado spread
  • Justin’s hazelnut butter
  • Cauliflower tabbouleh
  • Bissinger’s dark chocolate (75%)
  • Sticky rice chips
  • Vegan super berry acai mercato

Wrapping Up

Over the last few years, Starbucks has evolved very impressively. It has provided vegans with many options that are dairy-free and vegan-friendly. It’s just that you have to be a bit careful while ordering and very specific about the toppings you want.