Are Auntie Anne's Pretzels Vegan

Are Auntie Anne’s Pretzels Vegan? Can Vegans Eat Auntie Anne’s Pretzels?

Answer: Yes. There’s a wide range of options when it comes to vegan pretzels at Auntie Anne’s.

Yes

If you love pretzels, you can’t go wrong with Auntie Anne’s. They make some of the best pretzels, which are very popular. But are they vegan friendly? That is the question that is on every vegan’s mind.

So to set things straight,  However, some controversies lead others to believe that they may have some non-vegan elements. So it isn’t easy to conclude whether pretzels are vegan or non-vegan. 

How Are Pretzels Made?

Pretzels are generally made from a recipe flour, oil, salt, and sugar. They are pounded into a dough and then shaped into the traditional pretzel before they are baked. It is a simple recipe. 

In factories, it is processed in a machine that churns and mixes all the ingredients. And when it comes out of the device, each chunk is fed to a guillotine that chops them into different sizes. These chunks are then twisted in the shape of a traditional pretzel by a machine. 

However, sometimes bakers use butter or eggs as some of the ingredients. So this is where it becomes a problem for vegans. But generally, they are not used.

Why Auntie Anne’s Pretzels Are Considered Vegan?

On a technical level, pretzels qualify as vegan. The process of making them and the primary ingredients used do not have any animal-related products. And because it is a simple recipe, there is no need to use artificial colors and sweeteners. Therefore, all these factors point to the fact that pretzels are vegan-friendly.

Why Some Of Auntie Anne’s Pretzels Are Considered Non-Vegan?

Even though pretzels qualify as vegan snacks, some concerns and issues make some of them non-vegan. And although the factors may seem subtle, strict vegans take things seriously. Some companies often use different types of fats to add to the taste of the pretzel. Additionally, animal ingredients are gently brushed on the dough to intensify the greasy and shiny brown texture when baking. And animal ingredients are not a welcome sign for vegans.

Three ingredients make some vegans believe that pretzels are not vegan. The first one is the use of an egg. Many pretzel bakers use eggs to wash the outer dough before putting them in the oven, which helps achieve that peculiar sheen on a pretzel. But an egg is a non-vegan product.

The second issue with vegans when it comes to non-vegan pretzel is the use of butter. You know that butter is not a vegan product because it is a dairy product. And bakers use it in the same way as using eggs before baking a pretzel. But the dairy product in any form is a big no for vegans.

And finally, the third non-vegan element is the use of another dairy product in the form of milk. Many bakers use milk as an ingredient in soft pretzels, which is why vegans consider them non-vegan.

However, one of the best things about Auntie Anne’s is that they give you an option to choose the pretzels with and without dairy products as an ingredient. So it eliminates the possibility of you accidentally picking a non-vegan pretzel.

Vegan Auntie Anne’s Pretzels 

Auntie Anne’s have a wide range of options when it comes to vegan pretzels. And you can take a quick bite anywhere if you know which ones are vegan. So to help you out, here are some of the vegan pretzels.

Original Pretzels

The Original Pretzels by Auntie Anne’s are a vegan-friendly snack. It stays true to its taste and aesthetics, and it also clearly mentions whether any butter, oil, or animal products are part of the product. But you don’t need to worry because the Original Pretzels do not have such ingredients.

Sweet Almond Pretzel 

This one is a delight for almond lovers. Almond is a nutritious food, and most vegans consume it as a staple. And you can’t go wrong with Auntie Anne’s Sweet Almond Pretzel. They taste sweet and salty, and the freshly baked pretzels are sprinkled with almond topping. 

The sweet almond pretzels are a delight. When you bite into it, the almond crust gives it a crunchy texture, and it combines well with a caramel dip. And rest assured, it is a pure vegan product with no additional non-vegan elements.

Cinnamon Sugar Pretzel

The Cinnamon Sugar pretzel by Auntie Anne’s is another vegan-friendly pretzel for you to try. These pretzels are sprinkled with cinnamon and sweet sugar to give them a flavor you cannot resist. And all the ingredients used are plant-based products so that you can consume them safely. You can try them with a sweet glaze dip to spice things up.

Jalapeno Pretzel 

The Jalapeno Pretzels by Auntie Anne’s offer a different flavor than the traditional pretzels, and they come with a top filled with jalapeno slices and look exotic. You can enjoy them with some fresh lemon juice.  

Raisin Pretzel

If you love dry fruits, the Raisin Pretzel by Auntie Anne’s is the one to try. The raisin and dough combination works well and gives you a sweet organic flavor. All the ingredients used are vegan-friendly, so the raisin pretzel is another option for you. 

How To Order Vegan Pretzels At Auntie Anne’s?

Auntie Anne’s often use butter or cheese as one of the ingredients on their pretzels. Nonetheless, the vegan options are still available. So the next time you visit the store, order these five types of pretzels:

  • Original Pretzel 
  • Sweet Almond Pretzel 
  • Cinnamon Sugar Pretzel 
  • Jalapeno Pretzel 
  • Raisin Pretzel 

Are Pretzels Healthy?

Pretzels are considered healthy snacks, but they also have a downside when it comes to health issues. But generally, they are nutritious because they contain essential nutrients like carbs, fiber, sodium, vitamin B, protein, fat, and calories. 

The amount of nutritional values also depends on the type of pretzel. For example, a wheat-based dough pretzel will have more essential nutrient values, etc. So every time you grab a pretzel for a snack, it supplements you with these health benefits. Nutrients like fiber help improve the digestive system, and carbs are excellent sources of energy.

Nonetheless, pretzels also have a downside because of the ingredients used. And more specifically, salt is an essential component of pretzels, and it is generously used. High salt consumption is not a healthy diet because it causes blood pressure problems. 

The best way to ensure that consuming pretzels are healthy is not to exceed the limits of consumption. That way, you can keep a check on the adverse health effects. 

Vegan Alternatives For Auntie Anne’s Pretzels 

Auntie Anne’s pretzels are a delightful treat, but there are also other alternatives you can try. If you want vegan options for your pretzels, here are some of them for you:

Rold Gold Pretzels

The original pretzel by Rold Gold is a great alternative. It is a purely vegan-based product, and they do not use any dairy products as well. The product comes in a pack of tiny shaped pretzels without compromising the original taste. These pretzels are a favorite amongst vegans because they can carry them safely anywhere and enjoy them with their favorite dip and drink.

Snack Factory Pretzels 

The original pretzel by Snack Factory is another excellent alternative for vegans. They also come in a packet, and they are salted crispy little pretzels. And it contains only the primary ingredients like salt, flour, and sugar, so there are no non-vegan elements. 

The original pretzel by Snack Factory is a fun-filled pack of pretzels that you can enjoy at a party or any casual activity. 

Super Pretzel 

The soft pretzel by Super Pretzel is another vegan-friendly pretzel. They are pre-baked pretzels on a packet and made from wholesome vegan ingredients. The ingredients are wheat flour, barley flour, and the traditional primary ingredients. So they are all vegan-based products and safe to consume.

Homemade Pretzels

If you still want to take precautions as a vegan, the best option is to make your pretzels at home. That way, you can use only vegan products and avoid any dairy or animal-based ingredients. 

The best thing about making your pretzels is that you can choose the type of flour you want to use. And different flours have different nutritional values so depending on how nutritious your pretzel, you can select anything from white flour to barley or wheat flour. 

It also gives you the freedom to experiment with your favorite flavors or dry fruits and nuts. And depending on how you like your pretzels, you can either bake them soft or hard and crispy.

Conclusion 

It is easy to get lost in the debate whether Auntie Anne’s pretzels are vegan or non-vegan. And compared to other cases, the controversies surrounding pretzels as a non-vegan product are subtle. That is why most people assume that pretzels are vegan, baring a few types that use egg and dairy products in minute amounts. 

Similar Posts