S’Mores Oreos don’t contain any animal-derived ingredients, no milk, no dairy, and are therefore vegan-friendly.
What was one of your favorite snacks as a kid? Oreos, right? Ah, these are just so tasty and very kid-friendly. You know it!
Fortunately, Oreos, particularly S’Mores Oreos are made without animal by-products, which means they’re vegan and animal-friendly. Their key ingredients include Wheat Flour, Cocoa Powder, and Vegetable Oil, which are all plant-based.
If you’re one of the hungry vegans that are on the lookout for healthy, tasty, and vegan-friendly snacks, look no further. In this article, we will find out more about S’Mores Oreos, and other vegan snacks for you!
Oreos, The World’s Favorite Cookies
Well, it’s not just S’Mores Oreos that are our favorite cookies. We’re talking about the 100+ years old cookies that have been here since the birth of our forefathers. How cool is that?
Nabisco, the creators of these kid-favorite cookies… Wait! Did I say kid-favorite? Well, yes somehow, but I agree with everyone’s favorite cookies instead.
Anyway, Oreos have been around since 1912 when National Biscuit Company, also known as Nabisco created these cookies at its Chelsea factory in New York City. The factory’s address is now called “Oreo Way.”
The name Oreo was trademarked later in March 1912. But it was to imitate the Hydrox cookie, which was first introduced in 1908.
Some theories suggest that the name Oreo was derived from the Greek word “ωραίος“, written as Oreos meaning “attractive or nice.” Another theory says that it’s from the French word “or,” which means “gold.”
Oreos have been distributed throughout the world by many different partners, including Kraft, McDonald’s, Cadbury India, KFC, and more.
The Oreo Boycott
Mondelez International, the parent company of Nabisco announced in 2015 that they were cost-cutting and would lay off their workers at their Philadelphia and Chicago factories. About 350 employees were laid off in their Philadelphia factory when they decided to move their production to Mexico.
Their Philadelphia factory was already 60-year-old, with their Chicago factory that was opened in the 1950s employing more than 4,000 workers. The cost-cutting that led to laying off their workers was criticized by many different organizations, including the U.S. government.
Many of these organizations and public figures have promised to never eat Oreos again resulting in the Oreo Boycott in the U.S. But it’s not just the Oreos that were being under fire, but also all other Mondelez and Nabisco products.
In 2016, Oreo production has been stopped in Chicago.
S’Mores Oreos Are Vegan-Friendly
Oreos have many different varieties, including S’Mores Oreos, which are fortunately vegan-friendly.
S’Mores Oreos provide delicious flavors of graham, marshmallow, and chocolate creme layers that we all are living for. All sweet-toothed Oreo fans were on cloud nine when S’Mores Oreos went on sale again in 2019 after four years of hiatus.
Let’s check more of S’Mores Oreos.
- Wheat Flour
- Vegetable Oil
- Cocoa Powder
- Fructose Syrup
- Raising Agents (500, 503)
- Emulsifier (Soy Lecithin)
- Antioxidant (319)
If you notice. all ingredients don’t involve any animal by-products. However, if you’re one of those who are sensitive about the process of making sugar, you might be in question.
It’s worth noting that refining sugar will have to undergo a process that uses bone char. This is produced through charring animal bones that are used to remove the color from raw cane sugar. Brown, white, and powdered sugar are classified as refined sugar that is sourced from sugarcane and beets.
But not all sugar is non-vegan. There are many companies that produce sugar without using bone char, including Trader Joe’s, Woodstock Farms, and In The Raw, among others. So, if you were to buy sugar, make sure to check the packaging to see if it’s organic, raw, and vegan-friendly.
PETA has assured that all sugar products that are certified by the Department of Agriculture as organic or unrefined, are all vegan-friendly.
Vegan Oreo Flavors
But it’s not just S’Mores Oreos that are vegan-friendly. Nabisco also produces other flavors that are suitable for vegans as they don’t contain milk and dairy.
On your next trip to the grocery, you can have these Oreo flavors without a doubt, especially since they’re all vegan-friendly.
- Carrot Cake Cookie
- Love Oreo
- Game of Thrones-themed Oreo Cookies
- Kettle Corn
- Cherry Cola
- Pina Colada
- Dark Chocolate
- Chocolate Hazelnut
- Java Chip
- Birthday Cake
- Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie
- Peanut Butter
- Chocolate Marshmallow
- Caramel Coconut
Top-Rated Vegan Cookies
Apart from Oreos, there are also other cookie brands that are as delicious as Oreos and are also vegan-friendly. They are available in your local grocer or supermarket, or you can also order them online on Amazon.
Check these vegan-friendly cookie brands around.
- Back To Nature Cookies
- Made Good Soft-Baked Cookies
- Cybele’s Raisin Cookies
- Enjoy Life Chocolate Chip Cookies
- Partake Chocolate Chip Cookies
- Alyssa’s Vegan Cookies
- Steve and Andy’s Oatmeal Coconut Cookies
- Hydrox Cookies
- Trader Joe’s Snickerdoodles
- Tate’s Bake Shop Vegan Cookies
- Pascha Organic Vegan White Chocolate Chip
There are still a lot of vegan cookie brands to get from the shelves that are both healthy and delicious. You just have to check the packaging to ensure that they’re vegan-friendly.
Are S’Mores Oreos Healthy?
I hate to say it, but Oreos, particularly S’Mores Oreos are loaded with calories. The culprit? It’s the high-fructose corn syrup that’s included in the ingredients.
Let me show you the figures when you eat S’Mores Oreos, which have 2 layers of marshmallow and chocolate creme filling.
- Calories: 140
- Total Fat: 7 g
- Cholesterol: 0 mg
- Sodium: 70 mg
- Total Carbs: 21 g
- Protein: 0.5 g
As small as S’Mores Oreos, you’re already ingesting 140 calories. How much more if you eat another pack? That would be even harder to burn the calories.
It’s worth noting that excessive calorie intake can lead to weight gain and obesity. The USDA recommends limiting your calorie intake to 2,000 a day to keep things healthy.
How To Choose Healthy Cookies
As vegans, we are not just here to find delicious food. We’re also here to eat healthy without sacrificing our bodies and our animal friends.
Cookies are everyone’s go-to snacks. Wherever you may go, you can take them with you. But how do you determine whether or not you’re eating healthy cookies?
Calories, for instance, are crucial to your health, especially when we’re trying to achieve that summer-bod. I’m sure you can relate to this too.
So, here are some pointers on how to choose healthy cookies. Healthy means low calories, sodium, and fat with more vitamins and minerals.
- Bake your own cookies. Why? Because you get to choose the ingredients without the need to rely on those store-bought and ready-to-eat cookies. Most of them are loaded with calories, sugar, and sodium, which make them unhealthy for everyone. When you bake, choose healthy ingredients.
- Use whole wheat flour when you bake your cookies at home. It has less sugar compared to white flour, plus it’s also packed with fiber and vitamins like Folate and Vitamin B3.
- Use an egg replacer such as mashed bananas, applesauce, ground flaxseeds, or chia seeds. These are healthier and animal-friendly.
- Use unsweetened applesauce with no added sugar instead of oil. Its flavor does pretty well in cookies.
- Use dairy-free yogurt, coconut oil, coconut butter, applesauce, or nut butter as a replacement for the regular, non-vegan butter. These will save you from more calories and fat.
- Choose oatmeal raisin cookies. Why? Because both oatmeal and raisin have great amounts of fiber that help proper digestion and keep you full. This means that you don’t have to eat more cookies if you already have oatmeal raisin cookies as they’re already loaded with fiber.
- Oatmeal is one of the healthiest grains you could ever have. It’s loaded with fiber, vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants. It helps you with weight loss, controls blood sugar levels, and reduces the risk of strokes and heart diseases. And it’s gluten-free!
- Raisins are packed with fiber that helps lower LDL Cholesterol in your body. They’re also a good source of potassium, which keeps the bones healthy. Also, they’re good for your eyes and are rich in antioxidants that work in preventing types of cancer.
- Check the packaging ALL THE TIME. That’s right. Always check the packaging whenever you’re buying cookies. If you were to get one, opt for the brands that produce cookies with lower calories, sugar, sodium, and very little to zero trans fat. If you get to choose these types of cookies at the supermarket, you’re in luck!
S’Mores Oreos don’t contain any animal by-products, or milk, dairy, or eggs, which makes them suitable for vegans. However, one service is already packed with calories thanks to high-fructose corn syrup we may have a hard time burning those calories.
But there are also a lot of vegan flavors to choose from which I listed above. I also have a detailed guide about vegan cookies that Back To Nature produces, which you can see in this article.