Is Kettle Corn Vegan? Can Vegans Eat Kettle Corn?

Is Kettle Corn Vegan

Note: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Answer: Yes. The traditional kettle corn is 100% vegan, but you need to keep an eye on some modern flavors that might include animal-based ingredients. 

Yes

A popular snack in America, kettle corn is a variation of popcorn that is predominantly sweet, although it has a hint of a salty taste. It was introduced in the US in the 16th century, and the traditional ingredients used to make the snack include salt, oil, and sugar. 

The corn derives its name from the huge copper kettles where it was traditionally made. To stir the ingredients together with the corn, the pioneers used big wooden paddles. 

While the most occasions in which kettle corn was consumed back in the days were festivals, many people these days consider it an anytime treat. 

You can enjoy the snack at home, anytime you want, and for the fans of home-cooked dishes, preparing kettle corn consumes less time, while the process is pretty simple. More on that later in this post. 

If you’re far from home, kettle corn is available in the US, and you can find it pre-popped or microwave-ready in virtually all snack bars, movie theaters as well as supermarkets. 

However, for everyone concerned about saving animal lives or if you’re just curious about vegan diets, there’s a need to be careful with what to choose if you go the buying route. These days, manufacturers are adding more and questionable ingredients to create different flavors of the old snack. 

That makes store-produced kettle corn worrisome for vegans, and this post will address it. But before that, isn’t kettle corn just like your regular popcorn? 

How Kettle Corn Differs From Other Popcorn 

While kettle corn is rightfully considered popcorn by many, two specific factors distinguish it from other types. 

Flavor 

Regular popcorn is known for its salty taste, although there are other flavors such as cinnamon, barbecue, and caramel. On the contrary, kettle corn is mainly sweet.

Nutritional Profile 

Comparing the nutritional value for kettle corn and regular popcorn is hard, and it may go down to the mode of preparation. However, regular popcorn edges kettle corn as is double richer in antioxidants than kettle corn. 

Why Kettle Corn Is Vegan

We consider a food vegan-friendly when it contains no animal product or animal by-products too. That is the case with the traditional kettle corn, which uses only four ingredients, including kernels, oil, salt, and sugar. 

While, understandably, the vegan status of kernels and salt is undebatable, there are questions to be asked about the nature of oil and sugar used to make kettle corn.

Oil

The production of some oils may involve animal cruelty, one practice that is against vegan standards. Palm oil is an example of such controversial oils as people say its production harms rainforests where animals, notably orangutans, live. 

The good news is most kettle corn brands use vegetable cooking oils such as sunflower oils. But still, to be on the safe side, read the label of your packet for confirmation before ordering or purchasing. 

What’s more, to enhance the flavor of kettle corn, some varieties also tend to use butter, which comes from animals, instead of oil. That disqualifies such popcorn from vegan diets, but you can achieve a similar taste if you choose to prepare your kettle corn using coconut oil, which is vegan. And as a bonus, your homemade treat will be healthy as coconut oil has a lot of nutritional benefits, unlike butter. Better deal, while at the same time you save animals from exploitation. 

Sugar 

Both white and brown sugar create controversy among the majority of vegans.

Brown sugar might not use bone char in its production. But while some modern varieties of kettle corn use brown sugar, vegans can rejoice since the old-fashioned flavor, which is the most popular, is sweetened with cane sugar only, a 100% plant-based ingredient. 

Best Vegan Kettle Corn Brands

Preparing kettle corn at home is a sure way of ensuring you have the best vegan kettle corn brand. Plus, with the homemade brand, you get the luxury of enjoying the snack while warm. 

And the deal doesn’t get any better when making the snack is super easy. The process consumes less of your time, with the difference between the start and snacking being only five minutes. 

Remember to use fresh popcorn kernels with more moisture inside that aids in popping. 

For storage purposes, an airtight container will ensure your snack stays fresh for about three days, but with its incredible taste, I bet it won’t. 

For shoppers, you will need to be cautious when picking your kettle corn box. For some brands, it’s difficult to tell the type of sugar they use. You can, however, trust the following brands. 

Angie’s BOOMCHICKAPOP

Angie’s BOOMCHICKAPOP is known for balancing salt and sugar in their popcorn to ensure your snack is not too sweet or salty. Healthwise, their products are gluten-free and non-GMO. 

There are two vegan flavors from this brand: Sweet & Salty Kettle Corn Popcorn and Light Kettle Corn Popcorn

Although the two flavors differ slightly, they use the same ingredients, sunflower oil, and sea salt. And the sweetest part for vegans? They are sweetened with cane sugar, which is 100% plant-based.

Also, Angie’s BOOMCHICKAPOP has one more flavor, Dark Chocolaty Sea Salt. This flavor uses similar ingredients as its counterparts, but it contains milk and soy as extras. But since the brand fails to specify the source of such ambiguous components, vegans must ask some questions. 

Popcorn Indiana

Popcorn Indiana has a couple of kettle corn flavors, although the majority are not welcomed in vegan foods as they contain real sugar whose vegan status is uncertain.

You can, however, go for Kettlecorn Swt/Slty. It has similar ingredients as Angie’s BOOMCHICKAPOP, although it sometimes uses plant-based canola oil instead of sunflower oil.

Popcornopolis

Popcornopolis makes Kettle Flavor, a super delicious treat worth trying. Contrary to many brands that make vegan kettle corn, Popcornopolis uses pure coconut oil. Coconut oil comes from coconut fruit, and the process is free from animal contact. 

There are no preservatives in this flavor, while all ingredients are gluten-free and GMO-free. 

Nutrition Facts And Health Benefits Of Kettle Corn 

It may surprise many, but kettle corn is a whole grain food, meaning it packs essential nutrients your body needs.

Rich In Dietary Fiber  

Thanks to the whole grains, kettle corn is rich in dietary fiber, an essential nutrient for a healthy diet. Angie’s BOOMCHICKAPOP Sweet & Salty Kettle Corn, for instance, provides 2g of dietary fiber in a single serving, which is 7% of your daily value.

According to research, this type of fiber can aid in weight loss while also enhancing digestive health.

What’s more, previous studies have linked dietary fiber to a reduced risk of many chronic diseases, including type 2 diabetes and heart-related ailments.

Contains Antioxidants

Kettle corn is an excellent source of polyphenols, very healthful micronutrients for the body. 

A 2012 study found that one serving of kettle corn provides 114mg of polyphenols. With a daily polyphenol recommendation intake of 1500mg, 114mg might sound insignificant, but remember that’s just for one cup, which most people rarely take. And some experts believe you can still reap some benefits with polyphenol intakes of as low as 500mg. 

Some of these health benefits research has linked to polyphenols include improved blood circulation and digestive health. 

Plus, as per studies, polyphenols can reduce the risks of breast cancer and prostate cancer.

Low In Calories

While calories are necessary for the functioning of your body and sustaining life, you risk health complications, including weight gain, when you take in too much of them. 

With kettle corn, however, you are safe. The snack contains about 70 calories in a one-cup serving, which is way too less than the daily recommendation of 2500 for men and 2000 for women.

Also, 70 calories per cup mean you can confidently grab even three cups of this treat without worrying about weight gain. Anyway, that’s what most people do, thanks to the popcorn’s incredible taste.

But There’s A Caveat 

With the said benefits, that’s not to mean kettle corn is the healthiest food, precisely due to the added sugar. To limit added sugar intake in kettle corn, snacking moderately on store-bought versions could be the trick. But at the end of the day, the homemade version is the best as you’re free to use less sugar.