Skip to Content

What Are the Vegan Options at Outback Steakhouse? (Updated Guide)

What Are the Vegan Options at Outback Steakhouse? (Updated Guide)

The Outback Steakhouse is an American-style casual dining restaurant based on an Australian theme. This restaurant has chains in over 23 countries and approx. 1,000 locations. This steakhouse also sells vegan dishes for its vegan customers.

The vegan food of the Outback Steakhouse is limited to salads, fruits, and some sides. However, if you are a vegan and visit this steakhouse, you will surely not leave with an empty stomach.

Vegan Options at Outback Steakhouse

The Outback Steakhouse has limited vegan food options. Since it is a steakhouse and is mostly an animal-based food joint but offers some vegan dishes.

Some people order grilled veggies. However, many are not comfortable with it. They are grilled on the same grill where the animal and seafood are grilled. So, it is better to order steamed veggies and food that may not have the possibility of cross-contamination.

How to Order Vegan Dishes at Outback Steakhouse?

You don’t need to overthink before ordering any vegan dish in an outback steakhouse – the vegan menu is relatively small. Although you prefer steamed veggies, talk to your server or manager before specifying that you only need vegan products.

You should carry a small jar of nutritional yeast or vegan butter. Since vegan seasoning and sauces are limited, you want to add some taste to your food.

The Outback Steakhouse does not have an exclusively vegan menu but offers particular vegetable and vegan product-based dishes. Here are the dishes you can try if you visit Outback:

House Salad (No Cheese and No Croutons)

This is a simple salad. However, this usually comes with animal-based products such as cheese and croutons, so you need to specify them. This salad will include:

  • Napa Cabbage
  • Lettuce
  • Red Onions
  • Tomatoes
  • Cucumbers

To make your salad more interesting and flavorful, you can add some sauce. The restaurant offers three vegan sauces:

  • Mustard Vinaigrette
  • Tangy Tomato
  • Light Balsamic Vinaigrette

You can also consider bringing your small jar of nutritional yeast to this food joint. It will only add more flavor and taste to your bland salad.

Blue Cheese Pecan Chopped Salad (No Cheese)

The salad’s name will make you think this is not a vegan dish. Initially, it is not a vegan salad, but it can be made into one. Ask the server to make it without blue cheese and all other animal-based products.

You can ask for vegetable toppings and vegan sauces offered by the restaurant – mustard vinaigrette, balsamic vinaigrette, and tangy tomato.

As mentioned earlier, you can bring your jar of nutritional yeast to the place and add it to your salad.

Plain Baked Potato (No Cream and Butter)

Outback Steakhouse offers a baked potato dish. However, do not order a baked potato. Instead, ask for a plain baked potato with no cream and butter. Otherwise, a baked potato is made from butter, cheese, cream, bacon, animal-based ingredients, and toppings. 

You can even ask for some vegan toppings if they have any. Also, you can ask them to leave the chives and kosher salt. If you want, you can ask for some vegan dressing. You can even consider bringing your jar of nutritional yeast to add nutty and cheesy flavor to the dish.

Sweet Potato (No Butter)

The sweet potato dish of the Outback contains honey butter, cinnamon, and brown sugar. Even though this dish is fantastic according to the customers, it is not suitable for vegans.

If you want, you can consider keeping the cinnamon and brown sugar but ask them to bring it without the honey butter. You can also bring your vegan butter to the place, but it is not partially possible every time. 

Fresh Seasonal Mixed Vegetables (No Butter)

Outback offers a seasonal mixed veggies dish that is steamed in butter. However, you can ask them to make it without the butter. The dish usually consists of fresh broccoli, carrots, peas, or other seasonal vegetables.

You don’t need to find only these vegetables; it depends on the season and area. However, you can also choose only one type of vegetable if you don’t want other vegetables in your dish.

You can ask them to add vegan topping and seasonings to make your dish tastier. You can also get some vegan seasoning of your own if you want.

Steamed Asparagus (Without Butter and Not Grilled)

Outback Steakhouse offers a grilled asparagus dish, which is not included in the fresh mixed veggies dish. However, it has been noted that the asparagus is grilled on the same grill where other non-vegetarian products are grilled. So, it is better to avoid it.

Some of you might not have a problem with this. However, for the others, you can ask them to instead steam the asparagus without butter. You can ask them to add some vegan seasonings if they have any. You can bring your vegan topping or seasoning product to add.

House Bread

The house bread of this steakhouse is made from all vegan products. It consists of- vegetable oil, sugar, rye flour, dark molasses, all-purpose flour, water, dry yeast, and salt. But some of you might have problems with the sugar because sometimes the sugar is filtered through the bone char.

However, the house bread is served before the main course, and there is no topping or sauce for it. You need to bring your vegan butter or your jar of nutritional yeast.

Fresh Fruits

Outback offers fresh fruits, even though it is a part of their Joey’s or kids’ menu. 

They offer you fresh seasonal fruits. You will mostly find oranges and strawberries in the dish. But you will not always be provided with them; it depends on the season and location too.


Outback Steakhouse has several carbonated and non-carbonated drinks, just like any other place. You will also get options for fresh fruit juices, coffee, and teas.

Here are the options for vegan drinks if you want to order:

  • Dr. Peper
  • Coke Zero
  • Sprite
  • Diet Coke
  • Coke
  • Red Bull
  • Hi-C Fruit Punch
  • Pineapple Juice
  • Hi-C Lemonade
  • 100% Orange Juice
  • 100% Apple Juice
  • Gold Peak Coffee
  • Gold Peak Tea
  • Cranberry Juice

Some outlets in certain regions also offer alcoholic drinks.

Why Aren’t the Fries and Onion Rings Vegan in Outback Steakhouse?

The Outback Steakhouse does not use vegetable oil. Instead, it uses beef lard/tallow. It is used for frying everything that is under the fried menu. Therefore, all these things are not considered vegan. They are not even vegetarian.

Is The Outback Steakhouse’s House Bread Vegan?

The Outback Steakhouse’s house bread may not be considered purely vegan since it is not listed under the official vegan menu. It is better to confirm it with your server or manager. Also, it would be wise to ask them if they have any purely vegan bread to serve you.

Whole-Food Plant-Based Options in Outback Steakhouse

The vegan menu of the Outback Steakhouse is pretty healthy. If you are looking for only whole-food plant-based options in Outback’s menu, then here are the options for it:

  • Sweet Potato (No Butter)
  • Steamed Asparagus (No Butter)
  • Plain Baked Potato (No Butter And Cream)
  • Fresh Seasonal Vegetables
  • Fresh Fruits
  • House Salad (No Cheese And Croutons)
  • Water Or Club Soda
  • 100% Orange Juice (No Sugar)
  • 100% Apple Juice (No Sugar)
  • 100% Pineapple Juice (No Sugar)

If you are on a whole-food plant-based diet, then this menu is best for you.


Outback Steakhouse is not the most desirable place for vegans. 

Above is the full vegan menu of dishes and drinks from Outback Steakhouse. It might be useful for you if you are visiting the steakhouse for the very first time. There may be some dishes that aren’t fully vegan. You need to inform your server or the manager before you order your food so they will take the necessary precautions. 

Even though their vegan menu is small, it is healthy and mostly plant-based. If you are following a whole-food, plant-based diet, then the menu offers you a lot. In any case, it is always better to carry vegan butter and a bottle of nutritional yeast without you.