Ruth Chris Steak House is an excellent place for having meals. But does this place serve vegan-friendly options? Well, we will be discussing just that in this article.
After reading or hearing the name of this food chain, one may assume that there are no vegan or vegetarian options. However, this is not the case.
There are vegan-friendly options available at Ruth Chris. You can order from a variety of options. However, you must be careful while ordering as items require to be modified to make them vegan-friendly.
If you want to know what items are these and how you can make them vegan-friendly, keep reading. We have covered all the vegan options here and those that can be made vegan-friendly after slight changes. So, buckle up and keep reading.
Table of Contents
More About Ruth Chris
The history of Ruth Chris Steak House is quite touching. It was founded by a divorced mother of two – Ruth Fertel, in 1965. She mortgaged her house for $22,000 to buy a small restaurant in New Orleans.
This place was initially known as Chris Steak house, but it was later renamed. The restaurant slowly gained popularity and gained loyal customers. As a result, the first franchise of Ruth Chris Steak house was opened in 1977.
Her legacy continues even today. The restaurant serves dishes that provide you with a traditional steakhouse experience in sophisticated settings.
You will be amazed to know that now this fine dining Steak house is open in about 128 locations in the United States. Moreover, it has 150 restaurants worldwide.
What Does Ruth Chris Serve?
Ruth Chris is spread across different countries and states. Therefore, there is a wide range of food products available throughout this food chain. The taste and feel vary from one state to another.
However, the food items are more or less the same in different outlets. After all, the various food outlets of Ruth Chris are based on a more robust foundation. However, there are slight changes in the menu, or an item will be available in one country and unavailable in another.
The menu is filled with different types of dishes, majorly made from steak. However, there are other categories of food items as well.
They serve seafood, steaks and chops, salads, side dishes, appetizers, soups, and desserts. If you are wondering what a vegan can eat, you can scroll down to read.
Can I Order Anything on the Menu?
Yes, you can order food items from Ruth Chris, but you must note that the options are not 100% vegan-friendly. Therefore, you will have to make changes to the desired food items by omitting the non-vegan ingredient.
You can politely ask to make your meal vegan-friendly while ordering. However, you must remember that Ruth Chris is a non-vegetarian restaurant; animal products are being cooked and tossed in the kitchen. If you are stringent about your veganism, you probably shouldn’t consider eating here.
What Are the Vegan Options?
Given the name and overview of Ruth Chris’s menu, you must wonder if you can eat anything. There are options available, and you can also check the vegetarian menu open on their site for ease. You won’t find everything to be 100 percent vegan on this menu, but you will be able to order your food more efficiently.
There are many alternatives on the menu, and looking for vegan options might be frightening. We are aware of your issue. That is why we have compiled a list of all the vegan options and foods that can be veganized.
Look over the list to make sure you’re not missing anything; we’ve also included a list of meals that can be customized.
Entrées are the dishes served before the main course. However, these dishes themselves are pretty filling. You can eat them with the main course as well; it totally depends on your choice. Ruth Chris offers quite a few dishes in the entrées section.
We have listed down all the dishes that you can order from this section, along with making them vegan-friendly.
Roasted Broccoli Steaks
This mouth-watering dish is prepared from fresh broccoli, red pepper, and red onion. The broccoli is roasted along with the red bell peppers and onion to add flavor. At last, it is topped with a garlic herb crust.
This is 100% vegan, and you can eat it without any regrets. However, we suggest you confirm the ingredients before ordering.
Moreover, the availability of this option varies from place to place.
Ruth’s Vegetarian Trio
This is not a vegan dish because it contains cheese. However, you can ask to omit the cheese.
This dish originally contained tomatoes, blue cheese, stuffed mushrooms, spinach, asparagus, and cheese sauce. It is made by tossing many roasted tomatoes in blue cheese, spinach, asparagus, and stuffed mushrooms. Finally, it is tossed in a green-chile four-cheese sauce.
As you can see, this is a healthy option so that you can eat it without guilt. All you need to do is omit the blue cheese and the cheese sauce to get a vegan-friendly version of it.
Roasted Vegetarian Napoleon
It is also not purely vegan because it contains ricotta cheese. However, you can ask to omit the cheese and enjoy your roasted market-vegetable napoleon with tomato basil sauce.
Market Vegetable Linguini
It is a purely vegan dish; however, its availability varies from one location to the other.
It is made from market vegetables and linguini, which are tossed in a tasty tomato-basil sauce.
You will have a limited option in this section. Check the list to know about the ingredients.
Steak House Salad
Salads here at Ruth Chris are nutritious and tasty. You will be glad to know that this is a purely vegan-friendly option.
It is made from baby lettuce, grapes, tomatoes, and garlic croutons.
Fresh Mozzarella and Kumato Tomato Salad
This is yet another tasty salad from Ruth Chris. The presentation of this salad will take your heart away. However, it is not purely vegan because of the presence of cheese.
You can, however, ask for the vegan version, and they will omit the cheese. This salad is made from fresh and locally sourced tomatoes, fresh basil, balsamic glaze, and extra virgin olive oil.
The overall taste of this salad is quite lovely; therefore, giving it a try won’t be a bad option.
Signature Side Dishes
You have got plenty of options in this category. However, some options need to be modified by omitting one or two ingredients. Check the list to know more about the options!
It contains fresh asparagus, which is grilled just perfectly to give a crispy taste and feel. It is usually topped with hollandaise sauce. You must note that hollandaise sauce is not vegan, and it is traditionally made using butter and eggs.
Therefore, this dish is not purely vegan, but it can be made vegan-friendly by omitting the hollandaise sauce.
It is the simplest and 100 percent vegan-friendly side dish. It is made from fresh broccoli that is carefully washed and steamed.
You can order this side dish without having any second thoughts.
This is another purely vegan side dish available on the menu. The potatoes are traditionally hand-cut and usually served in a paper cone.
Please note that this dish is high in fat.
Pan-Roasted Cremini Mushrooms
It is one of the tastiest and healthiest vegan-friendly side dishes available on the menu. It is made from fresh cremini mushrooms that are carefully roasted with various sauces in the pan.
Sweet Potato Casserole
It is not purely a vegan-friendly option because it contains butter both in the crust and potato mixture. Moreover, it includes eggs in the potato mixture. However, you can ask for the butter and egg-free version.
Other ingredients include mashed sweet potato, sugar, brown sugar, chopped pecans, and flour.
The vegan version might not taste as good as the traditional version, but it is undoubtedly worth giving a try. However, If you are not sure about trying the vegan version of this dish, please don’t.
Ruth Chris is famous because of its exceptional taste. However, its name always leaves vegans in doubt, but not anymore! This article has answers to all the doubts.
Now you know all the vegan-friendly options available at Ruth Chris. Remember that you can always ask the attendant for detailed information about the ingredients and preparations.
You should not hesitate to ask questions about different ingredients and dishes. After all, you are vegan. Take pride in being one!