There are many vegan-friendly marinara sauce ingredients available, but still, many people are curious about if the sauce they see at restaurants and supermarkets is vegan. If you’re one of them, youâ€™re at the right place.
Marinara sauce is an all-time crowd favorite, and so many vegans wonder if they must give up this staple while going vegan for the first time.
Is it vegan? Yes, the traditional marinara is vegan. It is generally prepared using plant oils, tomatoes, onions, garlic, and a few spices. Some varieties use wine, olives, and capers, but they’re all plant-based.
Continue reading to learn more about the marinara sauce, why is it considered vegan, the components to watch out for as well as its health benefits.
Why Is Marinara Sauce Considered Vegan?
Basic Marinara Sauce Ingredients
Marinara sauce basically contains diced tomatoes, tomato sauces, tomato paste, or any other tomato varieties along with ingredients such as garlic, onion, water, salt, sugar, spices like thyme, oregano, basils and olive oil, canola oil, or any other plant oils. All of which are 100% vegan.
Other substances, such as added preservatives, can also be used since they are usually vegan. Citric acid, for example, is a natural organic acid found in plants and fruits. Yeast extract and hydrolyzed soy are also two more vegan ingredients and additives found in marinara sauce.
Non-Vegan Ingredients To Avoid
The ingredients mentioned above don’t imply that all the marinara sauces youâ€™ll encounter are vegan. Some recipes incorporate non-vegan ingredients that you should be aware of.
Many marinara sauces have cheese as a spice. For instance, Walmart’s Great Value brand includes a cheese that has sterilized milk cultured cheese as a component.
Consider the fact that occasionally vegan additives, such as MSG or monosodium glutamate, are used to mimic the flavor of the meat. These chemicals, which are not generated from meat, confer the umami taste attributes of meat.
Umami itself is an amino acid called glutamate which is recognized for boosting aroma that tastes like beef broth. It’s a synthetic compound as it is modified by adding sodium to it. Glutamic acid itself is considered vegan as it is found widely in seaweed. However, many marinara sauces do use actual meat flavors.
Is Marinara Sauce Healthy?
Using tomatoes as its major component, you could even include the sauce as a kind of a vegetable meal. However, you may be wondering if the marinara sauce is a healthy option.
The marinara sauce has a high-calorie content and is rich in salt or sodium, but it is abundant in vitamin B6, vitamin A, and potassium. Here’s an overview of marinara sauce’s nutrition, and some of its health advantages.
Marinara SauceÂ – Nutrition Facts
USDA provided the nutrition facts of a serving of 1/2 cup or 132 g of marinara sauce below.
Marinara Sauce – Health Benefits
As marinara sauces are high in minerals and vitamins, they could provide a range of health advantages. Here’s an outline of how marinara sauces may help you live a healthier lifestyle.
- Cancer Protection
Lycopene, an antioxidant, is present in marinara sauce. Lycopene, like beta-carotene, is a member of the carotenoid family, and it provides red color to tomatoes.
But while the data is encouraging, most health professionals believe that additional study is required before making any health claims.
- Hearth Health Support
According to a study of epidemiological research, consuming tomato goods high in lycopene, such as marinara sauce, may lower the risk of heart disease. Lycopene levels in the blood may also reduce your chance of getting a stroke.
- Makes The Bone Stronger
While calcium is the most abundant mineral in human bones, this is not the sole nutrient required by your body to maintain your bones stronger and healthier. Lycopene and vitamin K also have key functions in bone formation and bone loss prevention.
Vegan Marinara Sauce Brand Options
Here are some marinara sauce products that are all 100% plant-based.
Cucina Antica stays true to history in using the imported Italian tomatoes as well as maintaining the recipe natural and faithful to its roots. It has no chemical preservatives, additional sugars, added water, or paste. Using a minimal amount of components decreases the possibility of the item containing harmful substances.
Barilla Marinara Sauce
Barilla follows the original recipe as well, but they are using tomato puree, a blend of tomato paste and water instead of fresh tomatoes. Though, it is exactly what the majority of marinara brands used.
The formula isn’t quite as “organic” as the prior marinara variety, however, it’s cheaper.
The tomatoes used in Hoboken Farms are harvested and grown in the United States. They are also manufactured in the United States.
Surprisingly, the component label indicates that it is fresh or pure. There have been no fillers. Flavorings that are synthetic. Nothing that might endanger your health or even the animal’s lives.
Marinara Sauces Made In Restaurants
Restaurants can provide their marinara sauce from one of two methods.
They can make their own marinara sauce from scratch or get it from a source or a direct supplier. The kind of marinara sauce you consume is determined by the kind of business.
When you’re at a fast-food restaurant and request pasta or a pizza served with marinara sauce, it will almost certainly be canned sauce. Also, if a diner produces its own marinara sauce, this should typically stick to the classic vegan recipe.
Generally, you don’t have to worry, but you really should always double-check the ingredients when you are dining at a restaurant.
Homemade Vegan Marinara Sauce
Do you know whatâ€™s better than the restaurantâ€™s marinara sauce or the commercial marinara sauces? Itâ€™s your homemade vegan marinara sauce!
Not only that it is way healthier, but also if you have a wonderful recipe which you can apply, there’s also a high possibility you’ll put up with an excellent sauce.
All you need to have is 9 basic ingredients, 1 pot, 30 minutes, and patience.Â
- Plant Oil
- Tomato Paste
- Dried Oregano
- Ground Black Pepper
- Fresh Basil Leaves
How To Cook Marinara Sauce – Step-by-Step Process
- In a large saucepan, add the oil on a medium-high heat then sautÃ© the onion and garlic until golden brown.
- Mix the rest of the ingredients, but keep the basil leaves out. Cook for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, still, on a medium-high heat. Next, cover it and continue to cook for about 10 minutes.
- Stir in the fresh basil leaves, cover, and simmer for about 5 minutes more.
- Take off the heat and then use right away, or combine it for a finer texture.
- Cooking with fresh tomatoes is fine, however you may have to add a bit of water.
- Try experimenting with your favorite vegetables, fresh or dried spices and herbs.
- You may use garlic and onion powder as well if you want to cook faster, but fresh garlic and onion work the best in this dish.
Is Marinara Sauce Gluten-Free?
There are some other labeled gluten-free pasta and tomato sauces to select from, particularly those prepared in specialist gluten-free factories. Most people who are extremely sensitive to gluten generally prefer certified gluten-free goods. But, neither tomato sauce nor pasta sauce is certified gluten-free.
When gluten-free accreditation is necessary to you, you might prefer to prepare your own homemade tomato sauce using Jovial Foods crushed, chopped, or whole tomatoes, that come in jars and are also available at select specialized supermarkets as well as online. The Gluten-Free Certification Organization has verified that Jovial has less than 10 ppm of gluten per jar.
Is Marinara Sauce Dairy-Free?
Marinara sauce is free of dairy. It does not contain milk or any other dairy and milk products and therefore should be suitable for individuals who are allergic to it.
Is Marinara Sauce Good For Keto Diet?
Marinara sauce is prepared from tomatoes, an organic fruit that naturally includes sugar; hence, marinara sauce isn’t really a keto component. Additionally, many commercial marinara sauces have additional sugar, making them sweeter than handmade versions.
Is Marinara Sauce And Spaghetti Sauce The Same Thing?
Well, they can be of the same kind but they are not synonymous. Marinara sauce is just a plain tomato sauce. When we say spaghetti sauce, it is the traditional tomato pasta sauce, which is a smooth tomato sauce with about the same Italian spice but no peels, lumps, or seeds.
So, is marinara sauce vegan? Yup! Most of the marinara sauce, may it be commercial brands or made in your favorite restaurants, are vegan.
However, you should always be cautious of whatever food is in front of you. Donâ€™t forget to check the labels and ingredients!Â