Skip to Content

Is Subway Flatbread Vegan? Can Vegans Eat Subway Flatbread?

Is Subway Flatbread Vegan? Can Vegans Eat Subway Flatbread?

Answer: It depends.

Depends
Is Subway Flatbread Vegan? Can Vegans Eat Subway Flatbread?

There are a few vegan Flatbread options at Subway, but not all its bread is vegan.

Subway has Flatbread Wraps, Artisan Flatbread, and White and Whole Wheat Flatbread options. The spinach, regular, habanero, and tomato basil flatbread wraps are vegan-friendly. Its Artisan Flatbread is also vegan, but the White and Whole Wheat Flatbreads include dairy, which is non-vegan.

It can be challenging to order at Subway when you’re plant-based. There are a few orders to make though. A mouthful of salad, some dressings, and a veggie patty if you’re lucky. But the good news is, it’s not too difficult to get your vegan fix at Subway.

Let’s check more about Subway and the possible ways to do it your way…our vegan way.

Subway, Eat Fresh

Then 17-year-old Fred DeLuca started Subway in Bridgeport, Connecticut in 1965. Peter Buck shelled out for the restaurant, which was originally named Pete’s Super Submarines. Two years later, it was trademarked as Subway and started franchising globally in 1974.

Subway serves fresh ingredients and is typically offering a make your own or pick your own topping in your sandwich. Since its founding, it’s been consistently in the top ranking global businesses. It has over 41,000 locations in more than 100 countries, and all are owned independently.

Subway, in 2011, started making gluten-free brownies and bread. It also lowered its products’ sodium content by 15% in 2011.

Subway Flatbread

Subway, for me, starts with bread. It has a wide range of bread that you can choose from. If you’ve been to Subway, then you know what I’m talking about. If you haven’t, then let’s take time in checking it out.

A general rule of thumb for vegans is to check the ingredients first, but if you’re at Subway, it’s tempting you might forget about being vegan.

Seriously, most of the bread and wraps at Subway are suitable for vegans except those that contain cheese. For instance, Jalapeno Cheese and Parmesan Oregano bread contain dairy and therefore aren’t vegan-friendly.

Look for these items below so you know where to start when you set foot at Subway. These are vegan-friendly flatbread and wraps that you can begin with.

  • White Artisan Italian
  • Artisan Flatbread
  • Hearty Multigrain
  • Sourdough
  • Ciabatta
  • 9-Grain Wheat Bread
  • Hearty Italian Bread
  • Roasted Garlic Bread
  • Spinach Wrap
  • Tomato Basil Wrap
  • Habanero Wrap
  • Wheat Wrap
  • Honey Oat Bread. This is vegan-friendly itself except for the honey topping used on it, which you can choose not to.

Pro Tip: Subway has a Veggie Delight sandwich that you can directly get because it’s suitable for vegans. Since it’s a pick your own restaurant, you will need to find what’s safe to eat.

How To Get Your Vegan Fix At Subway

So, you already have the list of flatbread and wraps to order at Subway.

The toppings, for instance, are important as they make your sandwich taste like, oh well, a sandwich, and look great as a sandwich. Wink!

To help you out, check this list of vegan-friendly fixes that you can have at Subway. Yes, I want to make your life easier!

  • Toppings and Condiments
    • Veggie Patty
    • Guacamole
    • Pepper
    • Oil
    • Oregano
    • Provencal Herbs
    • Red Wine Vinegar
    • Salt
    • Sea Salt & Pepper
    • Subway Herb Garlic Oil
    • Sub Spice
    • Banana Peppers
    • Cucumbers
    • Green Peppers
    • Jalapeños Pepper Slices
    • Pickles
    • Lettuce
    • Olives
    • Onions
    • Spinach
    • Tomatoes
    • Avocado
    • Red Onions
    • Black Pepper
  • Sides
    • Sun Chips
    • Mrs. Vickie’s
    • Lays
    • Apple Slices
    • Applesauce
  • Soup
    • Black Bean Soup
    • Mediterranean Vegetable
  • Sauces and Dressings
    • Yellow Mustard
    • Barbeque Sauce
    • Buffalo Sauce
    • Deli Brown Mustard
    • Mustard Seed Spread
    • Oil and Vinegar
    • Subway Vinaigrette
    • Sweet Onion Sauce
    • Fat-Free Italian Dressing
    • Sweet Onion Teriyaki Sauce
    • Creamy Italian
    • Fire-roasted Tomato Sauce
    • Giardiniera
    • Golden Italian
    • Sweet Chili Sauce
    • Hot Pepper Relish
    • Ketchup
  • Extras
    • Smashed Avocado
    • Sliced Avocado

Pro Tip: Subway, depending on location, also offers Beyond Meatballs as well as Beyond Meatballs Marinara sub. The location with Beyond Meatballs also uses vegan cheese. You can skip the dessert at Subway, as the cookies contain dairy.

What Is Flatbread?

Flatbread is traditionally made with water, flour, yogurt, milk, and salt. It can be unleavened or leavened like pita bread and pizza. Most flatbreads are baked in an oven or fried in hot oil, or cooked using a hot pan. Others would even grill it over hot coals.

Its origins are traced back to ancient Egypt and the Indus civilization. At a site in Jordan, charred bread crumbs were found in 2018 that’s dated to 12,000 BC long before the region’s agriculture started. Analysis suggested that these were flatbreads that contain oats, barley, einkorn wheat, and a plant called Bolboschoenus.

The traditional flatbread contains yogurt and milk, which makes it non-vegan. But as modern baking became a thing, bakers have also made different versions of flatbread, including one that’s vegan-friendly.

Types Of Flatbread

Flatbread, in its simplest form, should only contain water, flour, yeast, and salt. But there are other types of flatbread that include dairy or other ingredients that may involve animal byproducts.

Two of the most common bread ingredients that you should watch out for are:

  • Mono And Diglycerides. Although they are often sourced from soybeans, some manufacturers use mono and diglycerides made of animal products. These are a type of fats that act as emulsifiers to retain moisture and improve the product’s texture.
  • Lecithin. Here’s another emulsifier that’s also often derived from soybeans, but sometimes it can also be made from egg yolks.

There are several types of flatbread, but not all of these are vegan.

  • Chepati
  • Focaccia
  • Frybread
  • Lavash
  • Matzah
  • Naan
  • Pita
  • Roti
  • Tortillas

Types Of Bread That Are Naturally Vegan

Bread, at its core, is vegan-friendly as it should only contain those four ingredients that don’t involve animal byproducts. However, other versions of bread also include animal-sourced ingredients

If you’re looking for vegan bread, these are my personal favorite types that are traditionally made with plant-based ingredients.

  • Sourdough
  • Pita
  • Ezekiel
  • Ciabatta
  • Baguette
  • Focaccia
  • Kosher Bread

Make Your Own Vegan Flatbread

If you are into cooking or baking, having a vegan flatbread at home is not too difficult. There are many dishes that go well with flatbread, and if you were to ask me, I’d go for avocado or my favorite guacamole, cucumber, lettuce with a vegan barbecue dressing in my flatbread. Drooling!

Okay, so let’s go try this recipe. Assuming that you have your baking needs at home, this would be really easy for you.

What you need:

  • 1 1/2 tsp. of instant quick action yeast
  • 1 cup and 1 tbsp. or 255 ml of warm water
  • 2 tsp. sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups or 310 g of all-purpose flour or bread flour
  • 1 tsp. fine salt
  • 3 tbsp. or 45 ml olive oil or any vegan cooking oil is fine

What to do:

  • Using a large mixing bowl, add the salt, sugar, and flour. Mix them well.
  • Add the instant yeast mixture and oil. Stir it using a spoon, and some warm water to create a little sticky dough.
  • Keep stirring while adding the water, and start bringing it all together using your hands. You may also use a stand mixer if you prefer it. But hands are fine too. Keep kneading the dough for about three minutes.
  • Remove the dough temporarily using your hand, and put a drop of oil into the bottom of the bowl. Put back the dough and turn it around to ensure the sides have oil.
  • Wet a clean dish towel with warm water, wring it out and cover the bowl with the dough. Leave it there for one hour.
  • Put flour on your work surface, and turn out the dough onto it. Punch the dough to remove any gas bubbles, then form it into a round ball.
  • Cut the dough into six pieces using a knife. Roll each piece into a ball and use a rolling pin to shape it into an oval.
  • Heat a frying pan or skillet, and put each piece on the hot surface. You’ll see some bubbles puff.
  • After three minutes, flip it to the other side, and wait for another three minutes.
  • You may wrap the cooked flatbread in a dish towel or put them in a cooling rack.
  • And you’re done. You have your own flatbread!

Pro Tip: Let the flatbread cool down completely before storing it in a container. You may consume it within three to four days. You can also put it in a freezer, it should last at least three months.

The Takeaway

Some types of Subway Flatbread are vegan-friendly. Others are not. You have to check which one is suitable for you. But we’ve made your life easier now as we have listed the best vegan fix that you can get at Subway.

There are many options at Subway to eat the vegan way. You just have to carefully choose the toppings, sides, or dressings to create your healthy and vegan-friendly sandwich.

Or better yet, make your own vegan flatbread at home. It’s healthier and it’s generally lower in calories, especially since you get to choose the ingredients to use. Just don’t go over 2,000 calories per day, which is the recommended daily intake by the FDA.