Can Vegans Eat Wheat Thins?

Can Vegans Eat Wheat Thins

Note: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Answer: Yes, vegans can eat wheat thins! Most wheat thin flavors are vegan-friendly.

Yes

Want to know if your favorite flavor is vegan or not? The answers are below. Keep reading to find out.

More On Wheat Thins

Nutritional Value of 16 Wheat Thins Original Crackers

Calories140 kcal
Total Fat5 g
Total Carb22 g
Protein2 g

Wheat thins are not only tasty and crunchy, but they are also one of the healthiest food options. They serve as delicious snacks anytime and anywhere. If you’re wondering whether wheat thins are vegan-friendly, you will be glad to know that most of them are okay for vegans to eat.

While most wheat thin flavors contain vegan-friendly ingredients, some are not so forgiving. There are also non-vegan wheat thins to look out for. You should always keep a close check on the ingredients that the product uses, as some are not completely vegan.

The Ingredient To Avoid In Wheat Thins

Although it is a US cracker brand, wheat thins have become so popular that you now see them as a food in itself.

Since the ingredients in most flavors are vegan-friendly, many people see wheat thins as a vegan. But remember that not all wheat thins are vegan.

To determine if a particular flavor is vegan, you should examine the ingredients and avoid the inappropriate ones.

There is a specific ingredient to look out for in wheat thins – natural flavor. This ingredient is neither vegan nor vegetarian. No one knows for sure what this flavor contains. It could even contain animal-products for all we know.

So, make sure you check out the ingredients list before you purchase a particular flavor.

If there is a natural flavor on the component list, you can always contact the company and clear your suspicion.

But, the safest way for a vegan to buy wheat thins is to avoid the ones with the natural flavor ingredient altogether. Aside from that, most of the other ingredients are vegan and beneficial too!

Vegan Wheat Thin Flavors

The good news is that most wheat thin flavors are vegan-friendly. These flavors are not only crispy and tasty, but they are also nutritious, such as the Original Wheat Thin. Peta confirms that Wheat Thins Original flavor is one of the top 20 accidental vegan foods.

Below are some of the best vegan wheat Thinflavors.

  • Original
  • Reduced Fat
  • Zesty Salsa
  • Multigrain
  • Hint of Salt
  • Sundried Tomato and Basil
  • Multigrain Toasted Chips
  • Cracked Paper and Olive Oil

Non-Vegan Wheat Thin Flavors

Some wheat thins contain animal products such as milk, which is not vegan as it comes from animals. Examples are Ranch and Garden Valley Veggie Toasted Chips. Both of these wheat thin flavors use a milk-based natural flavor. So, always try to avoid natural flavorings.

The following flavors are not vegan as it uses animal-based products.

  • Ranch
  • Chili Cheese
  • Smokey BBQ
  • Honey Mustard
  • Garden Valley Veggie Toasted Chips

Health benefits of Wheat Thins

There are several reasons why wheat thins are a healthy and popular food choice. For instance, most of them are whole grain, which is good for you both in the long and short run.

Another beneficial thing about wheat thins is that it has a comparatively rich fiber content. Let’s see the several benefits of wheat thins below.

  • Wheat thins have a high amount of fiber compared to other crackers.
  • The high fiber amount helps in slowing down the breakdown of carbs.
  • It may help in stabilizing and reducing your blood sugar level
  • Reduced blood sugar level means your stomach will feel stay full for a longer time.
  • It also provides more energy to last you all through the day.

No matter what time of the day, wheat thins are ideal and healthy choices for a snack.

If you are a vegan, there is no harm in enjoying the crispy and crunchy taste of wholesomeness. As long as you keep an eye on the ingredients list and avoid non-vegan ones, you should be fine.

Even if a certain flavor is not vegan, there are many other tasty vegan choices to pick from. At the end of the day, we all love what is tasty, healthy, and satisfying.