Skip to Content

What Are The Vegan Options At Jack In the Box? (Updated Guide)

What Are The Vegan Options At Jack In the Box? (Updated Guide)

Jack In The Box is an American restaurant chain serving fast food, mainly on the West Coast of the US. It is well known for its delicious hamburgers, salads, and sandwiches. Earlier, the menu focused primarily on hamburgers. However, after a few years, it was made diverse by including finger foods, sandwiches, and the like. With that progression in the menu, there weren’t many vegan options. Especially since they introduced their famous chicken sandwiches, vegan options on the menu were few.

Jack In The Box has specialized in various non-veg items. The menu varies, and even though the franchise is mainly meat-based, there is a decent variety of vegan options available. In the breakfast section, almost all the food items are not vegan friendly. The majority of the hamburgers come with meat and bacon. There aren’t any vegan burgers on the menu but ordering them with veggies inside is a suitable option. 

Veganism is gaining popularity all around the world. With that in mind, plant-based food is very nutritious and healthy. Most of the time, it is rich in various vitamins and nutrients as compared to meat. 

Even though meat does have its advantages towards health, animal-free food or any product is widely encouraged these days. Moreover, most restaurants, even in the US, have come up with a variety of vegan options on their menu.

There are a few restaurants in the US that are very popular and completely vegan. Many top vegan restaurants are in Washington DC, San Francisco, New York, and many more. Read on to find out more about the vegan options at Jack In The Box

Vegan Options At Jack In The Box

Side Salad With Low-Fat Balsamic Vinaigrette

This salad is something that vegans can enjoy without any second thoughts. The salad dressings can vary, but the one with low-fat Balsamic Vinaigrette has no dairy products and is completely animal-free. Since most individuals mistake side salads as a vegan option, it is important to specify the dressings being used. This is the only vegan dressing available at Jack In The Box, but it does include lettuce, grape tomatoes, carrots, and cucumbers. 


There are a lot of excellent options that can be easily mixed with various other sides. Jack In The Box is the place for the best-fried potatoes. Starting from potato wedges, seasoned curly fries, hash browns to French fries, all of them are completely vegan friendly. 

A majority of vegan options at Jack In The Box are snacks. Since it is a fast-food chain restaurant, snacks are the most popular. This makes it easier even for vegans to choose a meal filled with sides and snacks. 

They have been all confirmed by PETA to be animal-free. Apple Slices without the caramel can also be a great option. To accompany the sides, there are many vegan sauces and condiments. These sauces go well with sides like potato wedges, curly fries, and veg sandwiches as well. Some of the sauces and dips are:

  • Mustard
  • Ketchup
  • Hot/Regular Taco Sauce
  • Soy Sauce
  • Sweet N’ Sour Dipping Sauce 
  • Fire Roasted Salsa

Other sauces do have some animal products in them. For instance, the Barbeque Dipping Sauce and Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce both contain eggs. 

Jack’s Teriyaki Bowl

This Jack’s Teriyaki Bowl comes with chicken, but it can be made vegan by removing the chicken. Along with extra veggies, the bowl can come with rice and teriyaki sauce, all of which are vegan. 

The famous taco shells are also vegan. Instead of having fillings with meat and cheese, adding veggies can be the best option.


Jack In The Box has a variety of vegan-friendly drinks. Even though they do not have a specialty in vegan-friendly beverages, there are many options. Juices, including Mango, Rasberry, and Peach Teas, are all vegan-friendly. They also have many sodas, and some of the flavors are as follows:

  • Barq’s Root Beer
  • Coca-Cola
  • Dr. Pepper
  • Gold Peak Classic Blend Tea
  • Mello Yello
  • Fanta
  • Jumpin’ Jack’s Splash (Regular/Diet)
  • Minute Maid 100% Apple Juice
  • Powerade Mountain Blast
  • Sprite

Caramel, mocha, and iced coffee are all milk-based. Getting a tea or any fountain drink is an excellent vegan option for a beverage. In terms of shakes and desserts, almost all the shakes contain eggs in them. Hence, sodas and other drinks are ideal. 


Since there aren’t any options for vegan-friendly burgers at Jack In The Box, ordering vegetables they can serve in a bun is the only option. They might include some vegetables like tomatoes, lettuce, and the Teriyaki Bowl veggies as well.

Asking if the restaurant is up for customized menus will be a lot more helpful while ordering buns with vegetables. Since some chains only provide chicken burger, the customized menu options won’t be as easy to acquire. 

According to various sources, Jack In The Box had been testing Vegan Chicken Sandwich in selected locations. That was officially named “Jack’s Unchicken.” It was available in the US, California, and Reno, NV. It was available as both spicy and regular. It was said to be the best without mayo. Having checked the success of these trials, the franchise might come up with more vegan options, starting with the sandwich. 

Even with customized menus, burgers are being served with many veggies. The fillings are of varieties, but sometimes they add veggies on their own choice. It could include lettuce, tomatoes, and the like. 

Vegans should avoid a few items from the menu. Even onion rings, for that matter, should be avoided. Dessert and even some drinks are not vegan-friendly. They are vegetarian but not vegan. Desserts and beverages contain either milk or eggs. Getting healthy plant-based food is also quite tricky at Jack In The Box. Almost all the food items that are considered vegan are processed and fried. Even the snacks are not plant-based. Going for a salad is the best option, especially customized ones.

As mentioned earlier, many restaurants in the US provide complete vegan items on their menus. Crossroads Kitchen in Los Angeles is a very famous vegan restaurant. They mainly serve small seasonal Mediterranean dishes. 

Washington, DC also has a lot of new restaurants with a variety of vegan options. Fancy Radish and Elizabeth’s Gone Raw are some of the best vegan restaurants there. The best dairy-free fondue and BLT sandwiches are served there. 

Summing Up

That’s all Jack In The Box offers for vegans. Moreover, ordering snacks, a Teriyaki Bowl, and a salad will make a very good meal. Putting it altogether won’t be that hard, and it is completely worth it. The rest of the items on the menu are not completely vegan, including churros.