Are Starbucks Bagels Vegan? Can Vegans Eat Starbucks Bagels?

Are Starbucks Bagels Vegan

Note: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Answer: It depends. Except for Jack Daniel’s Tennessee Honey and some Ready-To-Drink malted produces, Jack Daniel’s is safe for vegans.

Depends

Bagels are made up of wheat flour without bran or germ. Bagels made in the same old traditional way contain yeast leavening, water, salt, sweetening, and sometimes shortening of vegetables. All of these ingredients are not animal-driven. Thus we can say that bagels are vegan.

Some bagels are not vegan because they contain ingredients like eggs, honey, milk, L cysteine, or cheese. You have to watch out for what kind of bagel you are having. As long as you have bagels that do not contain any animal-driven product, they are considered vegan.

There are so many brands and stores that provide people with 100% vegan bagels. Talking about Starbucks, which is one of the most famous coffee house chains out there, asks whether or not they have vegan bagels. And the answer is YES. Starbucks does have vegan bagels on its menu in different locations around the world. 

Vegan Bagels At Starbucks 

Want to have 100% vegan bagels without having any stress about whether or not do they contain animal-driven products? We got you. Here’s a shortlist of all the certified vegan bagels that are available at Starbucks.

Sprouted Grain

The list of vegan bagels at Starbucks includes sprouted grain bagels. These bagels follow the traditional texture of bagels. The aged dough bagel contains wholesome sprouted rye and wheat. Moreover, to give it a more beautiful look and taste, it is garnished with golden and brown flax, sunflower seeds, and oats. Here are all the ingredients it is made up of:

Ingredients: wheat flour, rye flour, sugar, yeast, water, salt, vegetable oil (can be any either canola or soya bean), calcium propionate

Plain Bagels

Another vegan bagel Starbucks has in store are plain bagels. If you are looking for classic soft vegan bagels, you should go for these since they are soft, thick, and chewy. It’s a New York-styled bagel. And it depends on how you want to have it – either toasted or not. Here’s a list of its ingredients:

Ingredients: enriched wheat flour, salt, sugar, rye flour, water, vegetable oil (canola or soya bean), yeast, preservative (calcium propionate)

Cinnamon Raisins

Cinnamon raisin bagels are another kind of vegan bagels that Starbucks has on its menu. These are boiled bagels in New York style. They are made with raisins and cinnamon mixed in the dough. Here’s a list of ingredients they are made up of:

Ingredients: niacin, malted barley flour, reduced iron, wheat flour, riboflavin, thiamine mononitrate, folic acid, raisins, water, sugar, salt, wheat gluten, cinnamon, yeast, guar gum, vinegar, ascorbic acid, sunflower oil, monoglycerides, and enzymes.

Everything Bagels 

There’s been a new subtraction to make these vegan bagels possible. The removal of cheese Starbucks has made its ‘Everything Bagels’ vegan-friendly, which were earlier non-vegan because of the additional cheese added. 

Other Vegan Food Options At Starbucks 

We’re sure many of you vegans often wonder about the different vegan options at Starbucks. To answer your queries and lighten your burden, we did our research. Here is the list of all the vegan options available at Starbucks. These options are either plant-based or certified vegan.

Vegan Drinks

As claimed by Starbucks, it does not provide certified vegan drinks.

Although, they do have quite a variety of plant-based beverages. Some of them are listed below: 

  1. Hot brewed coffee
  2. Cold brew
  3. Iced coffee
  4. Cappuccino beverages made with almond, soy, or coconut milk (ask them not to add whipped cream on the top as it is not vegan-friendly). 
  5. Unflavoured latte

Ingredients for most of the beverages and food served at Starbucks are available on their official website.

A year or two ago, Starbucks revealed that they were planning to remove dairy cheese from their ‘Everything Bagels’ to make them vegan-friendly. They kept their promise, and this change was made recently. They removed the cheese from their ‘Everything Bagels,’ and now it’s completely vegan-friendly. They also revealed that blueberries with dairy-free parfaits are just on the way and will soon be added to the menu of major locations worldwide. 

Limited Edition

  • Protein blended cold brew – cacao
  • Protein blended cold brew – almond

Each of them is less than 270 calories, and they are strictly plant-based. They can be easily customized since they provide you with many options to make the protein blended cold brew on your demands. The option could be adding in a banana, or some other fruit preferred. You can also add a decaf shot of espresso in place of cold brew. 

  • Pink drink

The creamy coconut milk is combined with the goodness of strawberry acai refresher. It’s a perfect beverage for summers and springs. Plus, it’s a very fruity drink. 

  • Violet drink

This drink is a holy grail for summers. It is made with tart hibiscus, blackberries, and creamy coconut ice and milk.

  • Ombre pink drink

The ombre pink drink is a combination of Starbucks’ refresher, Starbucks’ light cool lime, a splash of Teavana Shaken iced passion tango tea, and creamy coconut milk.

  • Matcha lemonade

The Teavana matcha green tea (finely ground) is combined with lemonade crisp, and then it is shaken up with the ice. 

Certified Vegan Snacks 

Here’s the list of all the certified vegan snacks options served at Starbucks:

1. Macadamia oat cookie

2. That’s it bar Apple and mango 

3. That’s it bar Apple and blueberry

Veggie Protein Bowl And Certified Vegan Lentils

Starbucks also provides its consumers with fresh veggies, a protein bowl, and some certified vegan lentils.

Roasted tomatoes, butternut squash, and hearty lentils are served with lemon tahini dressing over brown rice. The dish is then topped with sunflower seeds (crunchy, making it certified vegan with no animal-driven products involved.

Non-Vegan Ingredients To Look Out For In Bagels 

Can vegans eat bagels and bread? Yes, for sure. Since most bread and bagel products are made with just water, flour, salt, and yeast, it makes these products safe for vegans.

Sometimes you may also see ingredients like ascorbic acid or guar gum which are added to help with adding nutrients and thickening, as well as some of the other processed ingredients that anyway are still vegan (but not always necessarily healthy)

But before you get your hands on bagels or bread, make sure to look out for the non-vegan ingredients given below:

1. Lard or butter

2. Egg whites, egg or egg wash

3. Milk powder or milk

4. Casein

5. Honey

6. Sodium caseinate

7. Whey

8. Caseinate

9. Diglycerides and mono-glycerides 

10. DATEM (diacetyl tartaric ester of mono-glyceride) 

11. Lecithin

All of the ingredients mentioned above can be plant-based, but they are not necessarily animal-derived. So, if possible, it’s best to avoid them. You can also avoid flours that are bleached with bone char (charred animal bones)

To Sum Up 

There was a time when Starbucks was a tough spot for vegans, but now Starbucks is continuously introducing new varieties of vegan options. They have upgraded their menu and have added a lot of new vegan varieties. Their bagels are mostly vegan. As long as they are made with a traditional recipe and do not include any animal-derived products, you can have them.

But obviously, you still have to look out for all the ingredients. Apart from bagels, Starbucks has many other certified vegan food options that you can have without fear. So, if you don’t want to doubt, make sure to always buy bagels from stores that provide certified vegan bagels. 

If you are craving some yummy vegan bagels, you know where to go and what exactly to buy. Also, keep in mind to look out for the non-vegan ingredients that are sometimes in bagels.