Skip to Content

What Are the Vegan Options at Cracker Barrel? (Updated Guide)

What Are the Vegan Options at Cracker Barrel? (Updated Guide)

Cracker Barrel is an American chain. It sports a Southern country theme and has been open since the year 1969. 

Cracker Barrel isn’t abundant when it comes to vegan meals. They don’t label the vegan ones, either. But, on researching the ingredients they use, some dishes did prove to be vegan. These are fresh steamed broccoli, plain baked potato, plain baked, and sweet potato. Toasted bread, oatmeal with water, and certain beverages are also there.

So, if you’re vegan, and looking for vegan options at Cracker Barrel, don’t miss out on the following opportunities: 

Fresh Steamed Broccoli

Although Cracker Barrel has a few vegetable side choices on its menu, this option was 100 % vegan. Also, make sure you double-check they don’t add butter or lard to the broccoli. On the Cracker Barrel site, all their vegetable sides were dairy-free. With the fresh steamed broccoli, it says 0mg cholesterol on the website.

Baked or Sweet Potato – Plain

Cracker Barrel has an option of serving baked and sweet potato, plain. Potatoes can be a tasty and filling snack. They will keep you satisfied and avoid hunger pangs. So, if you are looking for vegan options at Cracker Barrel, don’t mind a snack, but want to feel full, you know your options. 

Baked Potato

They can serve it with sour cream and butter generally. 

Baked Sweet Potato

They can serve it with cinnamon, brown sugar, and butter. You need to request the potatoes without butter, lard, or sour cream. 

Toast or English Muffin – Plain

Cracker Barrel serves different toasts, such as multigrain and white bread toast. They also serve sourdough bread and English muffins. The critical point again is to ensure that they don’t add any butter. You can add some jam or peanut butter to your bread. You could also bring Vegan butter along with you so you can enjoy the butter. 

Fruit Sides

The following fruit sides are definite vegan options at Cracker Barrel:

  • Applesauce 
  • Fresh apple slices 
  • Fresh seasonal fruit 

The following side looks vegan: 


Cracker Barrel offers “Mixed Green Side Salad.” This is a typical kind of salad many restaurants provide. The website says it has 0mg cholesterol and is dairy-free. In this case, also, you will have to mention that you need your salad without cheese and croutons. 

Grits and Oatmeal With Water

They can make grits and oatmeal using water or milk. If they make it with water, you have another vegan option. The menu specifies “dairy-free” for the Cracker Barrel grits. But you still need to ask if there will be a lard added. 

The menu mentions that oatmeal has milk. You can always request them to make the oatmeal with water. You can even carry vegan milk with you if you wish to. 

Syrups, Sauces, and Dressing

 These are the vegan options at Cracker Barrel for sauces. You can use them as dips for the main dishes: 

 The following are the vegan options at Cracker Barrel for syrups: 

  • Blueberry syrup 
  • Sugar-free syrup 
  • Low-sugar fruit spread 
  • 100 % pure natural syrup 

Vegan Salad Dressings

  • Fat-free Italian dressing 
  • Balsamic herb vinaigrette 

Vegan Beverages

The following are the vegan options at Cracker Barrel for beverages:

  •  Coffee 
  •  Apple fruit juice 
  •  Orange fruit juice 
  •  Grapefruit juice 
  •  Tomato juice 
  •  Apple cider 
  •  Hot tea 
  •  Ice tea 
  •  Lemonade 
  •  Stewart’s soda 
  •  Coca-Cola soda 
  •  Blue sky soda 

Whole Foods Vegan Options at Cracker Barrel

You might be vegan and not want to consume processed foods. Here is a well-curated list of vegan options at Cracker Barrel you can consume:

  • Baked potato – plain 
  • Baked sweet potato – plain 
  • Fresh steamed broccoli 
  • Fresh seasonal fruits 
  • Fresh-cut apple slices 
  • Applesauce 

Whole Foods That May Be Vegan:

The following foods have a high probability of being vegan. But, it is better if confirmed with the chef before you consume them: 

  • Grits when made using water. 
  • Oatmeal when made using water 
  • Pinto beans 
  • Sweet and whole baby carrots 
  • Whole kernel corn 
  • Country green beans 
  • Boiled cabbage (On Sundays and Wednesdays) 
  • Lima beans (On Tuesdays, Fridays, and Saturdays) 

Are Cracker Barrel Hash Brown Potatoes Vegan?

The hash brown casserole at Cracker Barrel is unfortunately not vegan. When you are searching for vegan options at Cracker Barrel, you may get carried away. You may think that some foods are vegan. The menu that specifies allergens has mentioned that the hash browns contain milk. If you still want to give it a go, you can always ask the chef for clarity. 

PETA and Cracker Barrel

People For The Ethical Treatment Of Animals (PETA) is an organization based in the United States of America. They stand for the rights and welfare of animals. PETA has many supporters worldwide and strives to create a more cruelty-free world.

PETA said that many restaurants and cafes had stepped foot in the right direction. They have taken steps to prevent the abuse of animals. They have acted on policies that support using pig meat that is crate-free.

The restaurant chains that have implemented this are Safeway, Burger King, as well as Hardee’s. Many restaurants that had non-vegetarian options are increasing vegan and vegetarian options.

According to reports, PETA has bought 120 shares of stock from Cracker Barrel. PETA plans to use this opportunity as a stockholder. They plan to create a more cruelty-free environment within Cracker Barrel. They hope that this move will make more vegan options at Cracker Barrel. 

Why Should Cracker Barrel Include More Vegan Options in Their Menu?

The world is becoming more friendly towards the environment. Customers realize the impact animals play in maintaining balance in the ecosystem. Customers care about animals and their welfare. If Cracker Barrel doesn’t abide by animal welfare reforms, the shareholders will suffer. Going vegan has great benefits for you as well as for the planet. 

Restaurants like McDonald’s are opening vegetarian-only restaurants in India. This kind of shift is enormous, as we knew Mcdonald’s only for its hamburgers. As per reports from September 2020, the number of vegans in the world is 78 million approximately. 

Only within the United States, there are as many as 9.6 million Americans who are vegan. There was a 300% rise in the vegan population. 

Summing Up

The vegan options at Cracker Barrel are not abundant. Let us hope PETA continues to encourage restaurants to increase vegan options.

This will create a positive impact. There are several restaurants in the United States that have a lot of vegan options on their menu. Many more places have now included vegan options for their customers. Examples are Eateries such as Burger King, IHOP, Denny’s, Wendy’s, Baskin Robbins, and Starbucks. 

For now, you can always hop into Cracker Barrel and enjoy all the existing vegan options!